Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Live Sound > VENUE Live Sound Systems

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-13-2015, 10:19 AM
stelleto16 stelleto16 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 5
Default Starting a freshy!

Starting a brand new show file with a band going on IEMs for the very first time.
Would anyone recommend starting with the 48 channel monitor demo show that is in the default filling? Make show mods off that as I go and save as from there...?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-13-2015, 11:59 AM
Brent Lind Brent Lind is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Lawrence, KS
Posts: 233
Default Re: Starting a freshy!

Just a personal preference, but I prefer starting from scratch, it's good practice and it helps avoid surprises. I like to do "clear console" and go from there. Multi-select is your friend, makes config fast and easy.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-13-2015, 02:49 PM
Kristo Kotkas's Avatar
Kristo Kotkas Kristo Kotkas is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Tallinn, Estonia
Posts: 598
Default Re: Starting a freshy!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Brent Lind View Post
Just a personal preference, but I prefer starting from scratch, it's good practice and it helps avoid surprises. I like to do "clear console" and go from there. Multi-select is your friend, makes config fast and easy.
Me in the other hand absolutely hate starting from a scratch. There is so many little things you can configure to make the desk your own, starting from scratch would be like a nightmare for me Because of that, I try to constantly improve a personal file that would fit as many of my typical but different scenarios as possible. I have found it to be quite possible to dive into a completely new situation and be up and running in just couple of minutes if I have my show file prepared - 99% kick is a kick, snare is a snare, lead vocals always work great with the same chain of plugins and FX rack is great to have already filled with what I know sounds decent. Not to mention the Function key assignments for Tap delay to Pro Tools control, Events to trigger Flip To Faders, ect, ect. Since I love to work with certain mics I have a Snapshot stored for Preamp settings so that when I re-patch the stage inputs to match my *default* show file even the gains are pretty much where I would like to have them :) And in-ear mixes. I label them Drummer mix, Bassist mix etc, where they have accordingly a little bit of more "me" in there, that way, I'm happy to say, even in-ear mixes have a reasonable balance from scratch.

To the OP, check the Avid default files and see if they suite your needs. I must admit I have never loaded the default show files myself... And don't forget you can create your own basic setup files on a standalone software as well.. even labeling the inputs can save you a bunch of valuable minutes
__________________
VENUE FAQ & download links, useful
AVID VENUE ILok driver download
VENUE Plugin DSP usage

My AVID:
  • Room A > HD4Accel PCI-CustoMac / 192D / PTHD10 / 2 x Artist Mix / Artist Control
  • Room B > HD3Accel PCI-CustoMac / 192D / PTHD10 / 2 x Artist Mix
  • Big Live > VENUE Profile 48/24 + 2nd Snake card, IOx, FWx, HDx, PQ Rack, 8 x PQ Controllers
  • Small Live > S3L-32 + Mac Mini - two systems - combined one 64/32 FOH / Mon setup
  • On stage > Pro Tools on laptop with variety of M-Audio boxes
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-13-2015, 03:10 PM
Brent Lind Brent Lind is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Lawrence, KS
Posts: 233
Default Re: Starting a freshy!

To clarify, the approach I described assumes you are in a non-time sensitive situation, starting offline or in shop prep room. If I have to throw and go I always come prepared. Kristo's advice is extremely good if you are diving in at a festival or something, but if you are designing a tour system, you should be spending plenty of time prepping your file, in which case I prefer to start from zero, but there are many ways to skin a cat. If you have certain workflow items you always use, you could always design your own basic template, but my personal preference is always a fresh start, I just feel it helps me find new workflows and think twice before relying on the same techniques for every gig. Again, that's just me, you'll have to find what works best for you. Best of luck!
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-13-2015, 04:44 PM
LanceK LanceK is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 226
Default Re: Starting a freshy!

Hey Brent, I think you should make a couple of monitor templates for Avid to include!!!!
__________________
System Details: Macbook Pro 17"
OS 10.7.5
PT 10.0
8 gig ram
FW Drives (Multiple)
eSATA Drives (Multiple)

lance.crive@bigpond.com
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-13-2015, 04:57 PM
Brent Lind Brent Lind is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Lawrence, KS
Posts: 233
Default Re: Starting a freshy!

And give away my best kept tricks?

JK, maybe I'll post one here in a couple days. Gotta get through Red Rocks first
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 08-13-2015, 05:36 PM
LanceK LanceK is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 226
Default Re: Starting a freshy!

lol !!!!! But you have so many great secrets when it comes to monitors :)
__________________
System Details: Macbook Pro 17"
OS 10.7.5
PT 10.0
8 gig ram
FW Drives (Multiple)
eSATA Drives (Multiple)

lance.crive@bigpond.com
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 08-13-2015, 06:58 PM
stelleto16 stelleto16 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 5
Default Re: Starting a freshy!

I don't believe I am quite as deeply versed in this console as you guys are.
That is why I mention the generic demo template. I've viewed in the offline software and it explains in the notes the general set up. Again, gives a pretty sensible jump on things. We do have a few rehearsal days so I am planning to tweak to my liking as best as possible. In the meantime, labeling inputs/outputs offline to get a jump on things.
Thanks for the replies!
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 08-13-2015, 07:04 PM
Brent Lind Brent Lind is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Lawrence, KS
Posts: 233
Default Re: Starting a freshy!

In that case, I say go for it, it should help get you started. Spend plenty of time playing around in the offline editor, it will be a big help getting set up
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 08-14-2015, 02:25 PM
stelleto16 stelleto16 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 5
Default Re: Starting a freshy!

Thanks Brent!
Hope Red Rocks is a blast.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
It'll be just like starting over.... L-Dogg macOS 9 10-14-2014 08:03 PM
Delay between PT starting and BFD starting Baritonealone 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 10-01-2008 04:58 PM
002 Not Starting Up dwdrmmr13 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 11-18-2007 12:43 PM
Starting out... scottedog 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 05-07-2003 07:49 AM
Starting Over...Please help! The Mighty Burner 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 12-02-2002 03:05 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:14 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com