Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > ProControl, Control|24, Command|8

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-23-2011, 02:24 AM
Jon Webber 117 Jon Webber 117 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: London UK
Posts: 4
Default Command 8 PT11

I have heard a rumour that PT11, currently in development, will not support Command 8? Is this correct Avid? I have just bought one - shall I return it and go back to my old Mackie Universal Controller?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-23-2011, 03:04 AM
Dism Dism is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 6,154
Default Re: Command 8 PT11

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jon Webber 117 View Post
I have heard a rumour that PT11, currently in development, will not support Command 8? Is this correct Avid? I have just bought one - shall I return it and go back to my old Mackie Universal Controller?
The next major upgrade will not support the command 8.
__________________

D
a n t h e I n c r e d i b l e S o u n d M a n

"Svetlana" v1 - 4.2GHz i7, 16GB RAM, OSX 10.7.4
Liquid Saffire 56 - PT10.2 - BFD2, VCC, Duende Native, Play 3.0

_C U R R E N T-D V E R B-S C O R E:515
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-24-2011, 06:39 AM
SKI SKI is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Richmond, VA
Posts: 1,153
Default Re: Command 8 PT11

Makes a lot of sense because they need some way to make the Artist Series sell to the users of the smaller PT setups.

Just looks like Avid is trying to distinguish themselves once again with more pro-like offerings.
It seems that since they want to continue to be considered the standard they are going back to a structure that is more like the old company structure.

The non-hardware version of PT would be the safety net that would still offer a lower cost solution for those not wanting to invest heavily into Avid products.

Interestingly enough the non-hardware PT will probably work out much better than the crippled LE versions did.
__________________
URBAN MUSIC-
(Hip Hop and R&B)
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-25-2011, 02:49 AM
jorg jorg is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: London
Posts: 91
Default Re: Command 8 PT11

I think it's a horrible move from Avid.
No other company drops support for their hardware this aggressively in order to force sales of newer products.

I'm actually worried now about buying an Avid artist series because they obviously will drop support for the, eventually as well.
I think a Mackie Control Universal is the safer bet.
__________________
Mac Pro Nehalem 8 core 8 GB Ram
OS: 10.6.8
Pro Tools 10.0.1
RME Multiface II with Focusrite Octopre mkII
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-25-2011, 10:40 AM
SKI SKI is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Richmond, VA
Posts: 1,153
Default Re: Command 8 PT11

Not really.
Digidesign dropped support for many third party devices in the past, there is nothing that makes the HUI protocol safe from this.

The Artist stuff is not flying off the shelves and there was a lot invested in acquiring it so they have to make business related decisions to cover this.

When dealing with companies like Avid and Apple you learn that obsolesce is a normal business practice to a certain degree.
__________________
URBAN MUSIC-
(Hip Hop and R&B)
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-25-2011, 12:55 PM
Dism Dism is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 6,154
Default Re: Command 8 PT11

Quote:
Originally Posted by jorg View Post
I think it's a horrible move from Avid.
No other company drops support for their hardware this aggressively in order to force sales of newer products.

I'm actually worried now about buying an Avid artist series because they obviously will drop support for the, eventually as well.
I think a Mackie Control Universal is the safer bet.
This agressively??

Apple obsolescense is around 3 years. Most Avid stuff going extinct after nearly a decade.
__________________

D
a n t h e I n c r e d i b l e S o u n d M a n

"Svetlana" v1 - 4.2GHz i7, 16GB RAM, OSX 10.7.4
Liquid Saffire 56 - PT10.2 - BFD2, VCC, Duende Native, Play 3.0

_C U R R E N T-D V E R B-S C O R E:515
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 11-05-2011, 02:41 AM
chipss36 chipss36 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Church Point la
Posts: 65
Default Re: Command 8 PT11

well thats it, just got the command 8 and now see this, this will be my last pt upgrade, off to another daw, last time you get to burn me evil empire...
the command 8 is a much better build than artist, and instead of building artist better, with IMO is cheep plastic junk from china you charge way to much for....just end support for something thats built well, and works well....

it is official, avid is worse at corporate greed than digi ever was...unreal..
see how this works out for you long term...your days are numbered..
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 11-06-2011, 07:51 PM
Ray Lyon Ray Lyon is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Waynesville, NC
Posts: 725
Default Re: Command 8 PT11

Why would Avid ditch the Command 8? It's a simple MIDI device! What about PT 11 would make it impossible for it to be included?
__________________
Ray Lyon
www.raylyon.com

• Mac Pro 5,1 flashed 2009 model 4,1
• 12-core 2.93ghz "Westmere", 64 GB RAM
• OS 10.13.6 High Sierra, PT 2019.5
• One plug-in too many, but I really like FabFilter Pro-Q 3
• Avid HDX, Revive Audio modded Avid 192 I/O
• Avid MIDI I/O, Avid Command|8
• 256GB SSD, (2) 2TB ext. drive
• NVIDIA GeForce GTX 960 2048 MB
• Samsung 34" SE790C display (3440x1440), Acer 23" A231H Display
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 11-06-2011, 07:56 PM
philip888's Avatar
philip888 philip888 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Tennessee
Posts: 1,947
Default Re: Command 8 PT11

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ray Lyon View Post
Why would Avid ditch the Command 8? It's a simple MIDI device! What about PT 11 would make it impossible for it to be included?
Euphonix.
__________________
Gigabyte EX58A-UD3R BIOS FH, Intel Core i7 CPU 980X, 24GB Mushkin Enhanced Blackline DDR3 1600Mhz PC3-12800, NVIDIA GeForce GTX 560, Windows 10 Pro 64 Bit, Pro Tools 12.4 Antelope Orion 32
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 11-06-2011, 08:09 PM
Ray Lyon Ray Lyon is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Waynesville, NC
Posts: 725
Default Re: Command 8 PT11

Quote:
Originally Posted by philip888 View Post
Euphonix.
Care to elaborate? It would not make sense to alienate prior users so that PT is only compatible with one thing...
__________________
Ray Lyon
www.raylyon.com

• Mac Pro 5,1 flashed 2009 model 4,1
• 12-core 2.93ghz "Westmere", 64 GB RAM
• OS 10.13.6 High Sierra, PT 2019.5
• One plug-in too many, but I really like FabFilter Pro-Q 3
• Avid HDX, Revive Audio modded Avid 192 I/O
• Avid MIDI I/O, Avid Command|8
• 256GB SSD, (2) 2TB ext. drive
• NVIDIA GeForce GTX 960 2048 MB
• Samsung 34" SE790C display (3440x1440), Acer 23" A231H Display
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
PT11 to PT11 HD Native upgrade without hardware? kirkbross Pro Tools 11 2 11-04-2013 03:10 PM
PT11 Doesn't Recognise D-Command davemurphy ICON & C|24 5 07-20-2013 08:50 AM
Plug-in mapping on D-Command w PT11 ?? SOUNDDECISION ICON & C|24 4 07-06-2013 01:09 PM
Plug-in mapping on D-command w/ PT11 SOUNDDECISION Pro Tools 11 0 07-05-2013 07:24 AM
Command 8 and PT11 - untested? AlainZagar Pro Tools 11 3 04-25-2013 08:12 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:18 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com