Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-11-2001, 01:59 AM
zedhed's Avatar
zedhed zedhed is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Posts: 3,906
Default old records transfer

my grandfather has asked me to put his old 78 records onto cd for him.I haven't done this before so any help on eq-ing out the noise etc. would be greatly appreciated.
Also, would the output level from a 78 phono player need to be adjusted to get the signal into pro tools?
If anyone has done this type of work before could help me with any hints, it would make me very [img]images/icons/grin.gif[/img] cheers
__________________
Too much blood in my drugstream

Gigabyte X99 SOC Force Mobo Bios vF6d
Intel Core i7 5930k socket 2011 v3 @ 3.50GHz
32GB DDR4 Crucial RAM
System: Samsung M.2NVME SSD 960 Evo
Record: Samsung M.2NVME SSD 960 Evo
Samples: Samsung SATAlll SSD 840 Pro
Storage: 2x Samsung SATAlll SSD 840 Pro
EVGA GeForce GTX 750 Graphics
PT 11HD (v11.2.1) Omni s/pdif w Eleven Rack
HD 96I/O
Win 8.1 Pro
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-11-2001, 03:25 AM
gerax gerax is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Modena, Italy
Posts: 1,615
Default Re: old records transfer

Hi

Be carefull in this operation: if you go straight from the record player to 001, you re going to get a strange result, as record players have a particularly EQed output (called RIA) for technical reasons; the best approach (the one that worked for me)is to hook up the record player to a standard good quality Hi Fi power amp, and take the line out (or record output, whatever they call it) most power amps have; this way you get the compensated signal, since power amps are fitted with the right compensation circuit to accomodate record players. Then go straight to the 001, with short quality cables (maybe you'll need to make them as pw amps has pin connectors, while 001 has balanced TRS jacks, if you have trouble wiring them drop me a line). If you want you can go with a 24 bit session within PT, but it's not worth it if the record is really damaged; don't bother to go at 48KHz, as vinil records don't have any very high frequency information, to me it's a waste of disk space, 44.1KHz works fine for old records; once you have it in the digital domain you can take out some noise with the DINR plugin in PT (be carefull, it can be dangerous if overdone, as it can create strange artifacts and take out some signal too), or you can use the Waves restoration Bulndle, which also has a click and crackle reduction algorithm, or you can go with Sound Forge and use the many DX plugins dedicated to audio restoration (Sound Forge own NR reduction and Click and Crackle removal, Steinberg NR, Sek'd ecc..) or last you can use a dedicated software like Diamond Cut.

If you have any questions let me know

Hope this helps, good luck.

Lorenzo
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-11-2001, 04:52 AM
zedhed's Avatar
zedhed zedhed is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Posts: 3,906
Default Re: old records transfer

hey thanks for the tips Lorenzo, I'll give it a try.
__________________
Too much blood in my drugstream

Gigabyte X99 SOC Force Mobo Bios vF6d
Intel Core i7 5930k socket 2011 v3 @ 3.50GHz
32GB DDR4 Crucial RAM
System: Samsung M.2NVME SSD 960 Evo
Record: Samsung M.2NVME SSD 960 Evo
Samples: Samsung SATAlll SSD 840 Pro
Storage: 2x Samsung SATAlll SSD 840 Pro
EVGA GeForce GTX 750 Graphics
PT 11HD (v11.2.1) Omni s/pdif w Eleven Rack
HD 96I/O
Win 8.1 Pro
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
File transfer settings Mac transfer to Windows ? End Over End Windows 8 06-27-2011 07:32 PM
What Does This Mean....Hot Levels Hit Records... tomhartman Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 28 10-16-2004 04:11 AM
Anyone doing records at 96k? OD Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 9 08-30-2003 12:06 PM
who records metal? jamlaw 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 19 03-11-2002 11:59 AM
Track Transfer won't transfer (time code problem) apetrocelli Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 4 10-17-2000 02:49 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:20 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com