Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools M-Powered (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-23-2010, 12:09 AM
justus1900 justus1900 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Montgomery, IL
Posts: 758
Default White Noise Remains on PT 8.0.3cs2

Had the White Noise Problem on Pro Tools 8.0.3 was advised to go to Pro Tools 8.0.3cs2 to correct the White Noise Problem but the problem is still there. If I try and do a punch in on any wav. audio track I can record the track one sometimes two times, but after that the White Noise problem start as soon as PT goes into record. I figured out that if I close the song session hit save and without totally closing my Pro Tools session I can reload the song and the problem goes away for another one or two records and then its starts back up. This made for a very long session today cutting guitar tracks on my new song. Any input on how to correct this White Noise problem would be great, Thank you
__________________
Producer/Engineer/Musician
RIAA Platinum Sales Award: Lisa Stansfield "Affection"

Main:
Model: Dell Precision T1500 Minitower
OS: Windows 10 SP1
CPU: Intel® Core™ i7-860 (2.8GHz,8MB)*
Memory: 32GB (4 X 8GB)
SATA Internal OS 480GB SSD, Record 480GB SSD, 1TB and 750GB External Glyph GT 050Q 500GB HD
AVID Digi 003 Console x 2
AVID Pro Tools 2019.12
JBL LSR4328P Studio Monitors
Yamaha HS50M Studio Monitors

Portable:
Model: Acer Aspire E5-575
OS: Windows 10 Home 64 Bit SP1
CPU: Intel® Core™ i5-6200U
Memory: 16GB
SanDisk 256GB SSD, 480GB SSD
AVID: Fast Track C400
Pro Tools 12.5.0
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-23-2010, 02:42 PM
scenicrecords scenicrecords is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 177
Default Re: White Noise Remains on PT 8.0.3cs2

On 8.0.1cs1 I was having the same problem with QuckPunch, and only when recording with QuickPunch. Check if you have Dynamic Transport enabled. I found that if I disable Dynamic Transport, for some reason, the white noise and errors went away.
__________________
Dell Studio 1555 Laptop, Intel Core Duo T6600 2.2GHz, 4GB RAM
Windows 7 64-bit
Pro Tools M-Powered 8.0.4cs2
M-Audio Firewire 410 via Digi-Qualified SIIG FireWire 2-Port ExpressCard {NN-EC2012-S1}
Glyph 050Q 500GB via eSATA
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-23-2010, 02:50 PM
necjamc necjamc is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: RI
Posts: 2,667
Default Re: White Noise Remains on PT 8.0.3cs2

I hate to ask, but have you trashed your pref etc.?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-23-2010, 03:01 PM
justus1900 justus1900 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Montgomery, IL
Posts: 758
Default Re: White Noise Remains on PT 8.0.3cs2

Dynamic Transport is not enabled. Dynamic Transport is disabled but the White Noise on Punch in is still happening. Reading the forum it seems the White Noise problem happens on 8.0.1, 8.0.1cs1 and 8.0.3cs2. Anyone with a Fix for this (AVID?) Please let me know, Thank you
__________________
Producer/Engineer/Musician
RIAA Platinum Sales Award: Lisa Stansfield "Affection"

Main:
Model: Dell Precision T1500 Minitower
OS: Windows 10 SP1
CPU: Intel® Core™ i7-860 (2.8GHz,8MB)*
Memory: 32GB (4 X 8GB)
SATA Internal OS 480GB SSD, Record 480GB SSD, 1TB and 750GB External Glyph GT 050Q 500GB HD
AVID Digi 003 Console x 2
AVID Pro Tools 2019.12
JBL LSR4328P Studio Monitors
Yamaha HS50M Studio Monitors

Portable:
Model: Acer Aspire E5-575
OS: Windows 10 Home 64 Bit SP1
CPU: Intel® Core™ i5-6200U
Memory: 16GB
SanDisk 256GB SSD, 480GB SSD
AVID: Fast Track C400
Pro Tools 12.5.0
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-23-2010, 03:05 PM
necjamc necjamc is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: RI
Posts: 2,667
Default Re: White Noise Remains on PT 8.0.3cs2

Quote:
Originally Posted by justus1900 View Post
Dynamic Transport is not enabled. Dynamic Transport is disabled but the White Noise on Punch in is still happening. Reading the forum it seems the White Noise problem happens on 8.0.1, 8.0.1cs1 and 8.0.3cs2. Anyone with a Fix for this (AVID?) Please let me know, Thank you
Actually the 8.0.3 cs 1 had the white noise, but up till now CS2 has supposed to fix it. Which it did on my end. If you trashed your databases and Pref. then check if your Hard drive is fragmented.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 05-23-2010, 03:22 PM
justus1900 justus1900 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Montgomery, IL
Posts: 758
Default Re: White Noise Remains on PT 8.0.3cs2

Quote:
Originally Posted by necjamc View Post
Actually the 8.0.3 cs 1 had the white noise, but up till now CS2 has supposed to fix it. Which it did on my end. If you trashed your databases and Pref. then check if your Hard drive is fragmented.
I do a Hard Drive Defrag once a week and my record HD is only that a SATA drive that I record my songs to. With that said. I keep hearing about Trashing Folders (Database, DAE, Pref.) Folders which I have not done because IM way to scared if I do any one of those things It's not only going to make my system unstable but make my system do the Lock up when you try to play back thing. I did a Thread asking for a detail explanation on why you Quote: Trash these folders and what does it do and why does it fix things but it was never fully explaned so I didnt do it. Maybe I will do a full backup of my system and then try trashing those folders because right now with out knowing why or what IM really scared to go into my C: drive and mess with anything when besides the White Noise which I have a work around my system is totally stable doing everything but punch-ins.
__________________
Producer/Engineer/Musician
RIAA Platinum Sales Award: Lisa Stansfield "Affection"

Main:
Model: Dell Precision T1500 Minitower
OS: Windows 10 SP1
CPU: Intel® Core™ i7-860 (2.8GHz,8MB)*
Memory: 32GB (4 X 8GB)
SATA Internal OS 480GB SSD, Record 480GB SSD, 1TB and 750GB External Glyph GT 050Q 500GB HD
AVID Digi 003 Console x 2
AVID Pro Tools 2019.12
JBL LSR4328P Studio Monitors
Yamaha HS50M Studio Monitors

Portable:
Model: Acer Aspire E5-575
OS: Windows 10 Home 64 Bit SP1
CPU: Intel® Core™ i5-6200U
Memory: 16GB
SanDisk 256GB SSD, 480GB SSD
AVID: Fast Track C400
Pro Tools 12.5.0
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 05-23-2010, 03:25 PM
necjamc necjamc is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: RI
Posts: 2,667
Default Re: White Noise Remains on PT 8.0.3cs2

Quote:
Originally Posted by justus1900 View Post
I do a Hard Drive Defrag once a week and my record HD is only that a SATA drive that I record my songs to. With that said. I keep hearing about Trashing Folders (Database, DAE, Pref.) Folders which I have not done because IM way to scared if I do any one of those things It's not only going to make my system unstable but make my system do the Lock up when you try to play back thing. I did a Thread asking for a detail explanation on why you Quote: Trash these folders and what does it do and why does it fix things but it was never fully explaned so I didnt do it. Maybe I will do a full backup of my system and then try trashing those folders because right now with out knowing why or what IM really scared to go into my C: drive and mess with anything when besides the White Noise which I have a work around my system is totally stable doing everything but punch-ins.
Quote:
Delete DAE and Pro Tools preference files

- See below for a utility that will do this for you automatically!

Start Menu > My Computer > Local Disk(C:) or correct hard drive (click "show the contents of this drive" if the files aren't displayed) > Program Files > Common Files > Digidesign > DAE > Right-click on the DAE Prefs folder and delete.
Start Menu > My Computer > Local Disk(C:) > Documents and Settings > "Your user folder" > Application Data > Right-click on the Digidesign folder and delete. (If the Application Data folder is not showing: Tools Menu > Folder Options > View Tab > Select "Show Hidden Files and Folders" > Click Apply and OK.)

- Delete the Digidesign Databases folders for all hard drives

This step can be useful when receiving random 'assertion' or 'neoaccess' errors, especially when recording or saving.

Start Menu > My Computer > Local Disk (C:) > Digidesign Databases > Right-click on the Digidesign Databases folder and delete. Repeat for all hard drives.
Start menu > My Computer > Local Disk (C:) > Program Files > Digidesign > Pro Tools > Databases > Right-click on the Volumes folder and delete.
On 8.0.3 there is only 1 Database file on 1 drive. Instead of all of them.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 05-23-2010, 03:38 PM
justus1900 justus1900 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Montgomery, IL
Posts: 758
Default Re: White Noise Remains on PT 8.0.3cs2

Necjamc Thank you for the information, I went into the C; Drive and found the DAE Pref. Folder but IM just way to scared to delete it. I dont want to have a "What was I thinking" Moment. So if this is the Fix for this problem I will just live with it and use my work around. IM having fun right now Mixing my new song and I dont want to be sitting wondering why did I do that and cursing at myself if my system goes unstable, but Thank you
__________________
Producer/Engineer/Musician
RIAA Platinum Sales Award: Lisa Stansfield "Affection"

Main:
Model: Dell Precision T1500 Minitower
OS: Windows 10 SP1
CPU: Intel® Core™ i7-860 (2.8GHz,8MB)*
Memory: 32GB (4 X 8GB)
SATA Internal OS 480GB SSD, Record 480GB SSD, 1TB and 750GB External Glyph GT 050Q 500GB HD
AVID Digi 003 Console x 2
AVID Pro Tools 2019.12
JBL LSR4328P Studio Monitors
Yamaha HS50M Studio Monitors

Portable:
Model: Acer Aspire E5-575
OS: Windows 10 Home 64 Bit SP1
CPU: Intel® Core™ i5-6200U
Memory: 16GB
SanDisk 256GB SSD, 480GB SSD
AVID: Fast Track C400
Pro Tools 12.5.0
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 05-23-2010, 03:41 PM
necjamc necjamc is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: RI
Posts: 2,667
Default Re: White Noise Remains on PT 8.0.3cs2

Quote:
Originally Posted by justus1900 View Post
Necjamc Thank you for the information, I went into the C; Drive and found the DAE Pref. Folder but IM just way to scared to delete it. I dont want to have a "What was I thinking" Moment. So if this is the Fix for this problem I will just live with it and use my work around. IM having fun right now Mixing my new song and I dont want to be sitting wondering why did I do that and cursing at myself if my system goes unstable, but Thank you
I do it all the time. But think of it this way. Delete 1 and open PT. Then if your having a problem, undelete it from the trash. You'll see that they get recreated when you restart PT.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 05-23-2010, 04:01 PM
tomhartman tomhartman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: boca raton, FL USA
Posts: 1,659
Default Re: White Noise Remains on PT 8.0.3cs2

I think the white noise is an Apple thing.

Logic users are still complaining about it, I have it in Logic many times on punching in or out. It did seem to disappear from PT some time ago for me, but I have not used PT as intensely this past year so very possible it still lingers...

TH
__________________
iMac 27
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
White Noise, distortion, pops, loud noise in Pro tools 9 and mbox mini Bigpit Windows 1 09-09-2013 10:26 AM
Burst of noise (not necessarily white noise) at the end of clips Swarf macOS 9 09-20-2012 09:55 AM
8.0.3cs2 noise burst fixed? rqstudio 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 30 04-01-2010 05:55 PM
Static noise (aka White noise ) During playback. =/ PoPimp3069 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 10 03-23-2010 05:06 PM
Pink noise vs. White noise kcarter Tips & Tricks 9 08-29-2001 11:42 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:18 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com