Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > General Discussion & Off Topic > General Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-22-2010, 08:16 AM
mixmama's Avatar
mixmama mixmama is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Wilmington, NC
Posts: 153
Default change tempo question

Hello all,

A client of mine wants me to speed up the tempo of her song and while I understand how to do that with Elastic Audio, I do not know the original BPM. Not that I necessarily need it, I can certainly approximate the original speed and go from there but it would be nice to know what the actual original tempo was.

Is there any way to determine the original tempo without me just approximating it?

There are no drums in the song, it's an all acoustic song with a stringed harp, synth tracks and vocals....

Thanks,
Karen
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-22-2010, 10:49 AM
Keybeeetsss's Avatar
Keybeeetsss Keybeeetsss is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Memphis
Posts: 8,759
Default Re: change tempo question

Since there are no drums I'd personally do it the old school way with a watch or stopwatch... That to me is usually more accurate than identify beat... JMO
__________________
MYSPACE ON'EIM
LAUTEN MICS & ME
DA'TUBE ON'EIM

'IS TAMARA HOME'
NO, SHE'S WITH
HOBO KEY
'' (that dopey green thing)

('we' must start using pronouns)
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-23-2010, 09:22 AM
barismanco123 barismanco123 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Planet Gong
Posts: 474
Default Re: change tempo question

Does she know? Did the other musicians have any idea? Make an enquiry.

Otherwise I'd go with KB as Identify beat is particularly good with percussive sounds, aka drums.

And hi Keybeeetsss - hope your well!
__________________
PTLE8 with an Mbox 2, for now!
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-23-2010, 09:27 AM
Keybeeetsss's Avatar
Keybeeetsss Keybeeetsss is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Memphis
Posts: 8,759
Default Re: change tempo question

Hi Baris! All is well, & hope the same for u good bud-deee

& I'm glad u came here as now I don't have to post in that guys thread, but this Omnyx guy is playing every1 around here so don't reply to any of his threads
__________________
MYSPACE ON'EIM
LAUTEN MICS & ME
DA'TUBE ON'EIM

'IS TAMARA HOME'
NO, SHE'S WITH
HOBO KEY
'' (that dopey green thing)

('we' must start using pronouns)
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-23-2010, 09:34 AM
1ace1 1ace1 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Bristol, England, UK,
Posts: 582
Default Re: change tempo question

Quote:
Originally Posted by Keybeeetsss View Post
this Omnyx guy is playing every1 around here so don't reply to any of his threads

Cheers for that Keybeeetsss. Just checked them out.

A:)
__________________
I Love Audio!!!
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-23-2010, 10:27 AM
barismanco123 barismanco123 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Planet Gong
Posts: 474
Default Re: change tempo question

Ok cheers for the heads up.

Peace!
__________________
PTLE8 with an Mbox 2, for now!
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 03-23-2010, 01:52 PM
mixmama's Avatar
mixmama mixmama is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Wilmington, NC
Posts: 153
Default Re: change tempo question

Quote:
Originally Posted by barismanco123 View Post
Does she know? Did the other musicians have any idea? Make an enquiry.

Otherwise I'd go with KB as Identify beat is particularly good with percussive sounds, aka drums.

Just to clarify. I did not record these tracks. Client is in another country and puts the PT sessions on my FTP server. No other musicians involved. And naturally, I asked her what the original tempo was. She had no idea...
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 03-23-2010, 02:00 PM
Keybeeetsss's Avatar
Keybeeetsss Keybeeetsss is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Memphis
Posts: 8,759
Default Re: change tempo question

Quote:
Originally Posted by mixmama View Post
Just to clarify. I did not record these tracks. Client is in another country and puts the PT sessions on my FTP server. No other musicians involved. And naturally, I asked her what the original tempo was. She had no idea...
Which is why I suggested what I did...
__________________
MYSPACE ON'EIM
LAUTEN MICS & ME
DA'TUBE ON'EIM

'IS TAMARA HOME'
NO, SHE'S WITH
HOBO KEY
'' (that dopey green thing)

('we' must start using pronouns)
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tempo change question visionstudios Pro Tools 10 1 02-24-2013 06:56 PM
Tempo change question dking 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 6 04-14-2010 05:02 PM
Tempo change question maccattack 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 07-27-2008 05:42 AM
Tempo change question redchair 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 5 07-26-2006 11:58 AM
Tempo change question from a newbie davbou 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 3 01-27-2005 06:08 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:04 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com