Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools | First Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-07-2019, 08:30 AM
Barnie1 Barnie1 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Location: Untere Kneuwis 10
Posts: 4
Default Pro Tools First disappears after launch

Hi there

I just installed ProTools First on my new HP-Windows-Notebook and it crashes every time 10 seconds after it has successfully launched. It just disappears without any error message.

It was a cheap PC with Intel Celeron processor and only 4GB RAM. I don't have an external Interface, just the internal Realtek I/O's. I know that is by far not what Avid recommends for ProTools but I have an old PC with even less power and I had never any issues with ProTools First on it.

I already tried Asio4all and starting with "N" presed down but it didn't help. I also red the FAQ but didn't found anything usefull. It doesn't seem to be a big issue, everything works just fine til the end - the session opens and i can see the edit Window for about 10 seconds. What is the last thing PT checks when starting a new session, does anybody know this? Maybe the ILok Authorisation?? There I can see one License and two active Computers, the old and the new one.

Anybody an Idea what the problem could be??

Thanks for your time and your help!
Barnie
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-07-2019, 11:49 AM
junkgear's Avatar
junkgear junkgear is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 1,184
Default Re: Pro Tools First disappears after launch

You say that the session opens fine until the last couple of seconds. So are you trying to open an existing session or are you creating a new session?

With no errors thrown by PT, it's kind of hard to tell what's going on. Your best bet would be to open Windows Event Viewer and see if you see any errors in the Application or System areas.

Post back a little more info and maybe we can help you out.
__________________
Will K

System Details
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-07-2019, 01:20 PM
Barnie1 Barnie1 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Location: Untere Kneuwis 10
Posts: 4
Default Re: Pro Tools First disappears after launch

Hi

It happens when I create a new Session. I deleted all my old sessions...

I found something in the Windows Event Viewer but it's in german:

Fehler.jpg
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-08-2019, 09:17 AM
junkgear's Avatar
junkgear junkgear is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 1,184
Default Re: Pro Tools First disappears after launch

Is your account an administrator on that system?
Can you try right clicking on PTF and choosing Run As Administrator.
__________________
Will K

System Details
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-08-2019, 02:23 PM
Barnie1 Barnie1 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Location: Untere Kneuwis 10
Posts: 4
Default Re: Pro Tools First disappears after launch

Didn‘t help
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-08-2019, 04:00 PM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 13,412
Default Re: Pro Tools First disappears after launch

4GB of RAM you are likely wasting your time.

You can try removing the (video codec) plugins in that AVX2 plugin directory.

Try reinstall of Pro Tools First.

Try a full clean reinstall of Windows 10, ideally on a spare SSD, and install Pro Tools First and nothing else and test.

Very few folks here use Pro Tools First so you may not get much help from other users.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 10-09-2019, 01:46 PM
Barnie1 Barnie1 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Location: Untere Kneuwis 10
Posts: 4
Default Re: Pro Tools First disappears after launch

I removed that AVX2 PlugIn an now everything works just fine!!!

Thaaaaaaank youuuuuuu!!!!!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
PRO TOOLS 11.2.0 -- Sound disappears... Soleille Pro Tools 11 5 08-17-2014 02:42 PM
Pro Tools disappears when at desktop crizdee Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 2 07-29-2010 11:46 AM
pro tools 7.4.2 disappears when opening HELP! JohnRyan 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 06-26-2008 01:13 PM
pro tools just disappears chahende 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 4 03-13-2007 01:34 PM
pro tools just disappears chahende 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 03-13-2007 12:49 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:29 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com