Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-01-2000, 08:49 AM
shaggy shaggy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: United States of Amnesia
Posts: 1,983
Default New Product Request: Pro Tools UL (unlimited)

How about it. Frankly, I am sick of beating my head against the wall. Word clock this, MTC that. Thinking about that MOTU system, Cubase this, Tascam DAT...

I need more tracks. Pro Tools Tracks.

Did I say I need more tracks?

Why not add a host based alternative to the MIX system?

And let us know soon! Please.
__________________
"The original nipper" Throw me a bone (Telefunken DI is ok too)
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-01-2000, 02:20 PM
lwilliam lwilliam is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: Valencia, CA
Posts: 5,094
Default Re: New Product Request: Pro Tools UL (unlimited)

Althought this is a variation on another thread about the limitations of PTLE, approaching it from a "customer survey" perspective may give Digi some food for thought.

I would also be EXTREMELY interested in a ProTools package in between PTLE and the full TDM version [one with full time code support].

...say, around $3000-4000?

Is it impossible to make a product that would allow TDM and RTAS to be used at the same time? Can 5.0/TDM can do this now?

If I could buy a DSP card to add to my 001 where I could dump the DSP-intensive plugins such as reverb, or where the farm card DSP would get used up first, I'd buy it in a minute (well, next week anyways...).


------------------
LW

[This message has been edited by lwilliam (edited June 01, 2000).]
__________________
Larry

PTLE8/002r;OS 10.6.4 2 x 2.26Ghz quadcore,6GB RAM, Waves Platinum, many other plugins...
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-01-2000, 10:50 PM
GreyArea GreyArea is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: laguna Hills, CA, USA
Posts: 110
Default Re: New Product Request: Pro Tools UL (unlimited)

One simple request... I'll accept that the smpte ruler is out because the Digi was not desgined for post (although I still want to be able to spot to smpte tc)... But what about the timestretch function in PT5.0 where you can use the trim tool to make a file longer or shorter in the Edit window and it automatically time streches/compresses it... Now that is a uselfull tool for music production if I ever heard of one (especially for working with loops). My 2cents
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-01-2000, 10:54 PM
GreyArea GreyArea is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: laguna Hills, CA, USA
Posts: 110
Default Re: New Product Request: Pro Tools UL (unlimited)

By the way... lwilliam... Your idea is a wonderful, brilliant idea... and I'd love it if you had your way and I'd be standing behind you in line to get one. But a system with full timecode support, and say half a mix card worth of TDM with RTAS to supplement would obsolete the Mix system. Sure they'd still sell the huge TDM systems to the guys who can afford them, but any one who was just going to buy a std Mix system would just buy the Digi product. It would be too close to the performance of a TDM system for Digi to release (or maybe they'll surprise me)
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-01-2000, 11:07 PM
haze haze is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: san ramon, ca usa
Posts: 730
Default Re: New Product Request: Pro Tools UL (unlimited)

somewhere along the line, i'm sure there
is a digi 002. I'm sure we won't see it
until there is an upgrade to the TDM systems. Can't let us host-based guys
get too close, now can we??

What will happen first?? The digi 002/
001+ or the Apple G5. Either way, i'll
be in line waiting with cash, er.. plastic.

haze
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 06-02-2000, 07:39 AM
shaggy shaggy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: United States of Amnesia
Posts: 1,983
Default Re: New Product Request: Pro Tools UL (unlimited)

Haze. Just the point. We are waiting in line now. Not after we buy x) Tascam HR78s and x) 2408 Mark IIs w/ DP & MidiTimePiece.

Sure I'm gonna want SIMPTE, virtual tracks, & SuperClock too!

...but please. Let us know soon.

Bigger piece of the pie? Or bigger piece of the pie and more pies too? (Make that KeyLime)



[This message has been edited by shaggy (edited June 02, 2000).]
__________________
"The original nipper" Throw me a bone (Telefunken DI is ok too)
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Unlimited inserts?.. (or that of anything else) Typhoon859 macOS 61 10-11-2013 02:31 AM
Product Request - iOS Transport App mikevarela Post - Surround - Video 3 02-06-2012 12:50 AM
Where do I get my account with product info if registered a boxed product? lanstrad Pro Tools 9 3 08-30-2011 09:36 PM
NEW PRODUCT request--thoughts? BradLyons Artist Series 5 07-30-2010 09:32 AM
Unlimited Undo tilman 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 9 09-04-2009 01:44 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:33 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com