Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Mixing > Pro Tools | Dock

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-18-2018, 06:09 PM
sjgam sjgam is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: NYC USA
Posts: 33
Default Control App with Dock Connection Question

I currently can connect Control App on iPad without wifi by plugging the apple lightning cable into the usb of my macbook pro running Logic Pro X. It also gets power from the usb port too.

I am about to receive the Dock in a few days and I see a lot posts and the manual speaking about the need for wifi or camera kit and usb ethernet dongle for ipad to connect/receive power.

But if Control works now with just lightning to usb connection do I need to use ethernet/camera kit or wifi or is there something I am missing.

I will of course plug the dock ethernet into a switch along with my artist mix.

But I dont see why I need wifi or camera kit and usb ethernet dongle if its working now on lighting to usb.

If I do like to order it now for when I receive dock in few days.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-19-2018, 08:12 AM
EddieJones's Avatar
EddieJones EddieJones is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Santa Cruz
Posts: 1,781
Default Re: Control App with Dock Connection Question

If its working then stick with it!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Dock monitor control LukeHoward Pro Tools | Dock 33 04-16-2019 06:59 PM
Recommended ethernet switch for Artist and Dock Connection sjgam Artist Series 5 10-19-2018 09:09 AM
Can you use the MC Control with S3 instead of the Dock? KeyplayerG Pro Tools | S3 4 01-11-2018 04:34 PM
Is The Dock really any better than the MC Control? KeyplayerG Artist Series 7 04-28-2017 03:51 PM
Is The Dock really any better than the MC Control? KeyplayerG Pro Tools | Dock 1 04-24-2017 05:42 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:06 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com