Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Additional Resources


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools SE and Essential (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-26-2017, 09:15 AM
teddydbme teddydbme is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Fairfax
Posts: 3
Default Convert a Session Created in Pro Tools SE to Pro Tools First

I have been using Pro Tools SE, which came with my Avid Fast Track C600, for about five years. Recently, I decided to download Pro Tools First and give it a try, with the idea that if I liked it, I would ultimately upgrade to Pro Tools 12. I wanted to take a project I started in Pro Tools SE and move it to Pro Tools First to continue editing it. I clicked on the "Convert Session" button in Pro Tools First and pointed it to the .ptf file, but I got the following error: "Could not complete your request because magic ID does not match."

How can I access a Pro Tools SE session in Pro Tools First and continue to work on it there?

Thank you!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-03-2018, 03:48 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: nashville
Posts: 33,283
Default Re: Convert a Session Created in Pro Tools SE to Pro Tools First

Do you still have SE available? If yes, I would open in SE, consolidate all the audio back to zero and export(then import the audio into a PT First session). If not, you could try creating a blank session in PTF and try to Import Session Data and bring all the tracks into a new session. wish I had more to suggest but I've been on the full version and am not clear on the limitations of SE or FIRST. They are both "teaser" programs designed to get you to buy the full version
__________________
Asus x99, Intel i7 6800K, 32 gig DDR4, GeForce 750 Ti, HD/Native, HD IOx2, PT11HD, UAD Quad, preamps from Vintech, Five Fish Audio, Miktek, Focusrite, Chameleon Labs and Midas..............................
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works
www.capricornsoundworks.com

The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-03-2018, 04:17 PM
64GTOBOY's Avatar
64GTOBOY 64GTOBOY is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Houston
Posts: 207
Default Re: Convert a Session Created in Pro Tools SE to Pro Tools First

Easiest if you still have access to SE. The manual for the full version of protools is available on the avid web site and has all the conversion info needed. PT first does not use Sessions it uses "Projects" so you will have to most likely create an empty Project and import .wav files of each track and rebuild it that way. If your old stuff was not saved as wav or aiff files then they may have to be opened in LE then exported as wav's. I don't remember for sure but I didn't think PT first had the conversion function available
__________________
Dell XPS 8900 i7-6700K CPU @ 4.00GHz 32 Gig Memory:Seagate 2 TB,1TB,4TB OS Windows 7 Ultimate
PT 18.1 Native through A&H Qu-32
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Can I open a session created with Pro Tools Express in PT11 | HD? ArKay99 Pro Tools 11 5 01-07-2015 08:37 AM
Pro Tools 10 won't open session file (Created on a newer version) sjafarzadeh Pro Tools 10 5 07-16-2014 12:03 PM
This session file was created by a newer version of Pro Tools [7.4.2f109] olivergodfrey Pro Tools M-Powered (Mac) 3 02-12-2013 05:53 AM
PC doesn't read Mac (created) Pro Tools session digieric Storage Subsystems 4 12-23-2009 01:26 PM
"session created with invalid configuration of Pro Tools" aconk 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 02-26-2008 01:32 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:33 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com