Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support

Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)
Register FAQ Today's Posts Search

Old 07-10-2002, 09:39 AM

Default PT with external mixer - What do you think of this setup?

Even though I have had my DIGI for about 8 months, I still have not used it. But, that is going to change!!! I posted here months ago about using a mixer with my DIGI and received some good suggestions. I am going to describe how I want to connect it and see what you guys think. I have zero experience with this stuff really.

Here is my list of equipment:

DigiDesign DIGI 001
Yamaha MD8 Mini Disc Recorder
Alesis D4 Drum Module
E-mu Proteus3 World Synth Module
Korg M3r Synth Module
Behringer V-Amp2 (for electric guitar)
Acoustic Electric with preamp built-in
Couple of mics for vocals or mic'ing my guitar rig

My goal is to record with the DIGI while using the mixer section of the MD8 to allow permenant connection of my equipment and no latency recording. Here is some mixer info from the MD8 manual.

The mixer section features eight mono input channels, two stereo inputs, and four groups.

Input channels 1 through 8 feature phone jack MIC/LINE inputs and continuously variable GAIN controls, which can handle both microphone and line-level signals with ease.

Input channels 1 and 2 also have XLR-type inputs, switchable +48 V phantom powering (for use with condenser microphones), and inserts for patching external processors.

2TR IN connection for confidence monitoring and playback with a master recorder.

Flexible monitoring of group, CUE, stereo bus, or 2TR IN.