Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support

Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)
Register FAQ Today's Posts Search

Old 10-19-2010, 02:08 AM

Default Bizarre Latency Problems in LE8

Hi.

I am a lecturer at a college which runs ProTools 8.0.3/MBox 2 systems.

Part of the module is to create a radio "advert". On most of the computers there is a bizarre latent effect going on. Mainly when a fade file is applied to a stereo audio track (they were asked to cut a pre-recorded song up and find the chorus for the radio advert).

One side of the stereo signal seems to drag behind the other.

In my many years working with ProTools I have never came across such a problem.

I have tried the usual buffer/cache/system usage etc...

The computers have a lot of programs installed on the machines as they are used for other classes which require them. Howeverm, the users have been made Local Administrators to allow them to save to the C: Drive (and therefore prevent running protools of their usual server address).

Has anyone came up against the problem before? The IT department are both useless and unhelpful.

Regards,

B

----

Their systems are:

Intel (R) Core (TM) 2DUO CPU
E8400@ 3.00GHz
2.99GHz, 3.46 GB RAM

Not fantastic computers but they should definately have enough capability to do what is needed for these projects.
----
Old 10-19-2010, 03:10 AM

Default Re: Bizarre Latency Problems in LE8

Quote:
Originally Posted by playground_strifer View Post
Has anyone came up against the problem before? The IT department are both useless and unhelpful
Those IT guys should move to America. There's work in the government for them.

But SERIOUSLY, someone will chime in soon to help you out.
Old 10-19-2010, 04:12 AM

Quote: