Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support

Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Post Production > Post - Surround - Video
Register FAQ Today's Posts Search

Old 04-07-2003, 05:15 PM

Default Beta SP/Machine Control/AVXL/SYNC vs. DV and firewire

I need an opinion or two please if you have a chance.

I am a composer who is currently running a mixplus with a DV camera as my source for capturing video for composing to. I am considering getting a BETA SP player/machine control/usd or sync/ and an AVXL. All of this is on EBAY these days for around 6k.

The question is, should I just get a DV deck and keep working with firewire or is the machine control/Beta deck route really necessary. I really don't need to lay back to tape as I deliver audio CD's with two pops generally.

Beta SP is so universal right now, that it makes it easier on the producers to just send me that with no worries, e.g timecode embeded, no need for window burns on the DV.
Old 04-09-2003, 01:52 AM

Default Re: Beta SP/Machine Control/AVXL/SYNC vs. DV and firewire

depends how rich you are!

DV is fine. machine control is usually lumpy, haven't seen the protools 9 pin option.

I remember the AudioVision. wow was that was expensive, the machine control was adequate for batch capaturing video, so you could archive on tape.

jogging to find cue points. very frustrating. 5 secound pre-rolls. thats after it's spent 4 secounds cueing to exactly 4 secs earlier...

I would stick to dv/ what ever jpeg based card you like. especially since disk space is cheap now.

We generally give the composer VHS, it's going to be close enough over a couple of minutes, hey maybe even more.

When we're mastering to SR the only sync is the 2 pop ( we go for 3 pops in Hong Kong. and a reel of film is 20 minutes more or less.
Old 04-09-2003, 09:12 PM