Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Additional Resources


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Hardware > FireWire and USB Audio Interfaces (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-27-2018, 07:31 PM
truthmonger truthmonger is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Location: Southern California
Posts: 3
Default MBox (3rd Gen) incompatible with USB3 in Windows 7, 8 and 10 - Use USB 2 port only

Recently my Mbox (3rd Gen) stopped working on my Windows 10 PC. Instead of functioning for audio output, the Mbox would crash Windows 10 with a BSOD.

The failure seemed to begin when I moved my PC to a new room, which involved unplugging and replugging my cabling.

After doing all manner of deinstalling and reinstalling drivers, I finally came across a clue on the page http://avid.force.com/pkb/articles/e...d/Mbox-Drivers where it says, "USB 3.0 Ports not supported with Windows 7." I guessed that maybe this statement was not up-to-date and that the same USB3 incompatibility also exists in Windows 10. BINGO! This was the answer.

I moved my Mbox USB cable from my USB 3 port to a USB 2 port and VOILA, it started working again. Pity for those with newer PCs that have only USB 3 ports.

I found this solution perplexing, because the USB 3 spec is supposed to be backwards compatible with USB 2. So the Mbox should work on either type of port. It's disappointing that whatever is causing this USB 3 incompatibility has not yet been solved with an updated driver. Until then, just use a USB 2 port, and you're golden!

This problem was so troublesome, yet so simple to solve, I just had to share.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-28-2018, 07:51 AM
Southsidemusic's Avatar
Southsidemusic Southsidemusic is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Stockholm - Sweden
Posts: 10,831
Default Re: MBox (3rd Gen) incompatible with USB3 in Windows 7, 8 and 10 - Use USB 2 port onl

For those with new PC machines without USB2 ports, just use a USB2 hub from a USB3 port. Easy, cheap ( $15-$20 ) and you are set.
__________________
Best Regards
Christopher


South Side Music Group
WEBHOME
SOUTHSIDEPUB

#ninjakittenshatecrunchyleaves

Eagles may soar, but weasels don't get sucked into jet engines
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
For Windows users, review of Apollo Twin USB3 VRW Third Party Interfaces 0 09-18-2016 09:09 PM
Pro tools 12 incompatible with windows 8.1? Padraig Pro Tools 12 11 04-20-2015 05:53 PM
Mbox USB3 issues samtherobot 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 01-09-2013 01:55 AM
pro tools m powered 7.3.1 incompatible with windows 7?? braegen russell Pro Tools M-Powered (Win) 5 05-13-2010 09:40 PM
ProTools and Windows Vista: unsupported, or incompatible? Geoff Hague 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 04-09-2007 10:15 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:50 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com