Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-15-2010, 10:58 AM
cornhead cornhead is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Ya Moms Bed
Posts: 13
Exclamation Choppy Windows XP Pro SP3 w/ Choppy Protools 8.0.0???-Sandra Included

I have just recently downgraded from Windows 7 Ultimate 32bit, due to incompatibility issues and other DUCers advising this would be a better fit for my system.

I also upgraded some hardware in my PC to help make things run a little more smoothly. Firewire card, RAM (so it matches), purchased a graphics card as well.

I did a fresh install of the XP on my system, installed and was updating up to 8.0.3, same thing. Choppy playback, choppy loading. Severe freezing. I figured I had latency issues, so if it would allow me to load up that far without freezing I was adjusting latency settings according to threads on here about the same thing. No Luck. So upon next fresh PT install, I just left it at 8.0.0. Began working. (PT is the ONLY program being ran on this system.)
Also noticed that XP was running extremely choppy, and even the windows startup sounds were chopping up as they play upon a reboot.

So, for about 3 hours I got PT8 working to where it was playing back smoothly. Opening smoothly, and windows wasnt being choppy or slow and in rsponsive either. But it didnt last long. I dont get any errors, but my MB2Pro/PT doesnt even play sounds anymore after a "SHUTDOWN". After a quick restart it works fine. But if I shut my computer all the way down and then turn it back on. No Audio comes from PT, I have to unplug my firewire cord and restart, and then I only get audio from windows, not PT.

I usually have to do a system restore to get the audio to play out of PT again, or a whole new install. Why is that?

I've dont ALOT of troubleshooting from these threads and other ones on different sites. Restores, Trashing preferences, buying new hardware etc...

It works when it wants too. Like I said, I got it going, then it like quits on me after a SHUTDOWN, but NOT a RESTART.

Right now my main issues are:
1. Extreme choppiness/slow loading in Windows XP and Protools 8 (system inresponsive overall)

2. No longer get audio from PT upon a "SHUTDOWN"....(I basically cant turn my computer off, or I have to do a full restore or totally wipe my system clean and do a fresh install of windows, PT and plug-ins) VERY TIME CONSUMING!!!

P.S. Are there any other resolutions besides "an incompatible system?"

It's worked on this system before, excellently. Even as of last night, but something is a little quirky though. Cant figure out if its my system or MB2Pro or my computer.
__________________________________________________ _____________
SiSoftware Sandra

Computer
Model : System manufacturer System Product Name
Workgroup : HOME
Host Name : nexera
User : Administrator

Processor
Model : Genuine Intel(R) CPU 3.80GHz
Speed : 3.8GHz
Cores per Processor : 1 Unit(s)
Threads per Core : 2 Unit(s)
Integrated Data Cache : 16kB, Synchronous, Write-Thru, 8-way, 64 byte line size, 2 threads sharing
L2 On-board Cache : 1MB, ECC, Synchronous, ATC, 8-way, 64 byte line size, 2 lines per sector, 2 threads sharing

Computer
Mainboard : Asus P5GC-MX/1333
BIOS : AMI 0207 08/01/2007
Bus(es) : ISA X-Bus PCI PCIe IMB USB FireWire/1394 i2c/SMBus
Multi-Processor (MP) Support : No
Multi-Processor Advanced PIC (APIC) : Yes
Total Memory : 2.87GB DIMM DDR2

Chipset
Model : ASUS 82945G Processor to I/O Controller
Front Side Bus Speed : 4x 200MHz (800MHz)
Total Memory : 4GB DIMM DDR2
Shared Memory : 8MB
Memory Bus Speed : 2x 400MHz (800MHz)

Memory Module(s)
Memory Module : Patriot Memory PSD22G8002 2GB DIMM DDR2 PC2-6400U DDR2-800 (5-5-5-15 3-23-6-3)
Memory Module : Patriot Memory PSD22G8002 2GB DIMM DDR2 PC2-6400U DDR2-800 (5-5-5-15 3-23-6-3)

Video System
Video Adapter : NVIDIA GeForce 8400 GS (8 SP 1.4GHz, 512MB DDR2 2x332MHz, PCIe 1.00 x16)

Graphics Processor

Storage Devices
WDC WD2500JS-00NCB1 (250GB, SATA300, 3.5", 7200rpm, NCQ, 8MB Cache) : 233GB (C:) (D:)
ATAPI iHAS324 Y (SATA150, DVD+-RW, CD-RW, 2MB Cache) : N/A (E:)

Logical Storage Devices
Hard Disk (C:) : 98GB (NTFS) @ WDC WD2500JS-00NCB1 (250GB, SATA300, 3.5", 7200rpm, NCQ, 8MB Cache)
Hard Disk (D:) : 135GB (NTFS) @ WDC WD2500JS-00NCB1 (250GB, SATA300, 3.5", 7200rpm, NCQ, 8MB Cache)
Optical Drive (E:) : N/A @ ATAPI iHAS324 Y (SATA150, DVD+-RW, CD-RW, 2MB Cache)

Peripherals
LPC Hub Controller 1 : ASUS 82801GB/GR (ICH7) LPC Interface Controller
LPC Legacy Controller 1 : Winbond W83627DHG
Serial Port(s) : 1
Parallel Port(s) : 1
Disk Controller : ASUS 82801G (ICH7) Ultra ATA Storage Controller
Disk Controller : ASUS 82801GB/GR/GH (ICH7) Serial ATA Storage Controller
USB Controller 1 : ASUS 82801G (ICH7) USB Universal Host Controller
USB Controller 2 : ASUS 82801G (ICH7) USB Universal Host Controller
USB Controller 3 : ASUS 82801G (ICH7) USB Universal Host Controller
USB Controller 4 : ASUS 82801G (ICH7) USB Universal Host Controller
USB Controller 5 : ASUS 82801G (ICH7) USB 2.0 Enhanced Host Controller
USB Controller 6 : Avlab Technology VT82xxxxx UHCI USB 1.1 Controller (All VIA Chipsets)
USB Controller 7 : Avlab Technology VT82xxxxx UHCI USB 1.1 Controller (All VIA Chipsets)
USB Controller 8 : Avlab Technology VT6202/12 USB 2.0 Enhanced Host Controller
FireWire/1394 Controller 1 : Avlab Technology VT6306 VIA Fire II IEEE-1394 OHCI Link Layer Controller
SMBus/i2c Controller 1 : Intel 801xx/63xx SMBus

Printers and Faxes
Printer : Microsoft XPS Document Writer (600x600, Colour)

Network Services

Power Management
Mains (AC) Line Status : On-Line

Operating System
Windows System : Microsoft Windows XP Professional 5.01.2600 (Service Pack 3)
Platform Compliance : x86

Performance Tips
Warning 225 : CPU is not a production version but ES.
Tip 2 : Double-click tip or press Enter while a tip is selected for more information about the tip.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-15-2010, 11:14 AM
Linhardt Linhardt is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Athens, GA
Posts: 111
Default Re: Choppy Windows XP Pro SP3 w/ Choppy Protools 8.0.0???-Sandra Included

I would try 8.0.1 cs1 myself. And your graphics card, while awesome, may be a bit much. I'll let one of the other hobos correct me if I'm wrong, but I believe weird things start happening with cards above 256mb.
__________________
---------------------
Darth Hobo, Dark Lord of the Synth

=========
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-15-2010, 11:15 AM
JMS40 JMS40 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Gnashville
Posts: 6,347
Default Re: Choppy Windows XP Pro SP3 w/ Choppy Protools 8.0.0???-Sandra Included

It looks like you have only one harddrive... partitioned into C & D.
Where is your secondary audio drive?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-15-2010, 03:44 PM
cornhead cornhead is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Ya Moms Bed
Posts: 13
Angry Re: Choppy Windows XP Pro SP3 w/ Choppy Protools 8.0.0???-Sandra Included

Oddly enough JMS I have one, a SeaGate 160GB , that has crashed today during all the restoring and re-installing. Im recovering my sessions as we speak onto a new WD 640GB External Drive I just purchased.

So you think my graphics card maybe causing the choppiness?

FUNNY thing is I JUST restored my computer back to a day ago when I had it working and now its no longer choppy at all, but NOW I'm having the NO AUDIO FROM PT issue I mentioned above. I'm using the same components, same computer and its running smoothly as far as responsiveness. I have a feeling its not just about an incompatible computer, it seems as if it needs to be tweaked. I have followed instructions on how to tweak XP from these threads, but it seems like it may need a little more.

Any suggestions?

As of right this second, my system is no longer choppy, I get audio from windows, but when I start PT, I get nothing. After I open PT then close it I get nothing from windows either now, I have to unplug my firewire cable and restart to get anything out of the OS. Then the cycle continues as soon as I open back up PT.

Just installed up to cs2. Same issue.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-15-2010, 06:51 PM
cornhead cornhead is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Ya Moms Bed
Posts: 13
Default Re: Choppy Windows XP Pro SP3 w/ Choppy Protools 8.0.0???-Sandra Included

Ok so just installed up to CS2 and upon a restart, NOW audio is coming from PT. Im too scared to shut down to see if it works. I think I'll just leave it like this for a while so at least I can record.

Thank you guys for your help. Im sure I'll be posting some more complaints soon enough.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Choppy Audio in Pro Tools corwin323 Pro Tools 10 7 12-13-2012 08:55 AM
Pro tools 9 choppy playback sandra report included daniel101 Pro Tools 9 1 06-11-2011 11:58 PM
Mbox 2 Pro, choppy playback. Windows XP. Sandra included! DJ Hellfire 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 40 02-20-2010 06:04 PM
mix window is choppy!?!? viadeath 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 02-06-2007 04:18 PM
pro tools running choppy!!! gear head 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 01-11-2007 06:15 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:02 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com