Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Additional Resources


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-12-2001, 07:29 AM
cazfair cazfair is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: perth,west.aust,australia
Posts: 11
Default protools freezes/hangs/crashes/etc after about 20-60mins

As the subject line says, pro-tools le hangs
after a period of time of normal operation
or even if ive left it there for a bit to go talk to the band etc

symtoms.

the mouse pointer locks up(but i can still ctrl/alt/del out of digi,even ask's if i want to save it???)

if im recording/playing back, the track counter keeps going but the recording /playback stops?

My system-
P3 733mhz..
asus CuSL2-C
256 meg pc133 ram
sound blaster live value
asus v6800 dlx
etc etc etc

i have recently taken everything of the start-up ..so only the bare min is running.
i havent had digi for long and havent had a problem until now,probely because i havent had it running long enough but now we are recording in a studio with it and its giving me gip.please help us!

p.s i do own a pair of steel caps!

cheers.....

steve bond
cazfair studios


Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-12-2001, 11:31 AM
crs117 crs117 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: deland, fl (outside of orlando)
Posts: 1,537
Default Re: protools freezes/hangs/crashes/etc after about 20-60mins

what kind of mouse do you have, and what kind of connection does the mouse use. I am questioning if pt is actually locking up or if your mouse is temporarily locking up. I know that some usb mices have had some problems in the past, but i have not heard anything since about last summer i think.

Christian
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-12-2001, 06:37 PM
jeziel jeziel is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: sp-sp-brazil
Posts: 52
Default Re: protools freezes/hangs/crashes/etc after about 20-60mins

try disable any video aceleration, here is working
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-14-2001, 12:53 AM
ReniuR ReniuR is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Phoenix, AZ USA
Posts: 762
Default Re: protools freezes/hangs/crashes/etc after about 20-60mins

Check to make sure your computer isn't over-heating.

it sounds to me like too much heat is building up in there. If it's in a safe enough place, go ahead and open up the case, spot a little fan at it, and you may have better luck...

just a suggestion...

(I run my box with one side open all the time, and a fan pointed at it when I'm really racking it. The fan helps out a lot, even just on low, anything to keep airflow is never a bad idea.

[This message has been edited by ReniuR (edited March 13, 2001).]
__________________
-ReniuR

www.disposableproductions.com
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-16-2001, 01:47 AM
cazfair cazfair is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: perth,west.aust,australia
Posts: 11
Default Re: protools freezes/hangs/crashes/etc after about 20-60mins

Cheers thanks to crs117,jezeil and ReniuR for
repling to my problem and it was overheating
that was the problem,its still summer in australia and this was a big problem in an unairconditioned studio.....I took the side panels off and placed a fan pointed at the cpu and only had one crash(as opposed to 10)
in a 10 hour session....next im gonna have to look at a better cooling system for the cpu.........

again thank-you ppl

cazfair studio's
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-16-2001, 09:04 AM
Locke Locke is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Posts: 52
Default Re: protools freezes/hangs/crashes/etc after about 20-60mins

User conference is awesome!
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 03-18-2001, 04:27 AM
cmink cmink is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 102
Default Re: protools freezes/hangs/crashes/etc after about 20-60mins

You might want to make sure your 001 isn't sharing IRQ settings especially with your video card. Mouse kept locking up until I fixed this.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 03-18-2001, 06:57 AM
techos techos is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: chicago
Posts: 21
Default Re: protools freezes/hangs/crashes/etc after about 20-60mins

hello. put a golden orb or a chrome orb (easier to install) on that pentium. buy one at ebay for $9.95!! works well. alsoan exhaust fan could help. these are inexpensive as well. they usually install in a open port or bay.

tony
__________________
http://www.weragazzi.com
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
PT10.2 Hangs & Freezes uponSave, Mt.Lion 10.8.1 imdrecordings Pro Tools Software (Mac) 1 08-28-2012 09:44 AM
Protools 8.0.1 intermittant freezes and hangs Phill Barrett Post - Surround - Video 18 10-30-2009 10:04 AM
Recording Midi freezes hangs Pro Tools jallen 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 09-26-2007 07:17 AM
Opening Session Hangs/Freezes System ptal 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 6 03-29-2006 02:34 PM
hangs/crashes soundhealer 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 4 05-20-2003 01:48 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:55 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com