Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > ProControl, Control|24, Command|8

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #21  
Old 10-21-2000, 01:17 AM
DannyVanSpreuwel DannyVanSpreuwel is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 75
Default Re: Edit Pack

Does anyone know what the buttons in the top section of the edit pack do?

Danny

------------------
Sound with Vision.
www.metasound.nl
__________________
www.protoolsles.nl
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 10-21-2000, 04:45 PM
PTPerson PTPerson is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Down Under
Posts: 558
Default Re: Edit Pack

For 8 Grand I would like those buttons to be "Cuppucino", "Short Black", "Flat White" and "Clean, Vacuum and Polish Studio"

Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 10-22-2000, 01:20 PM
Ang1970 Ang1970 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 433
Default Re: Edit Pack

Don't forget "Pressed, folded, no starch".
__________________

Cheers,
Angelo Quaglia
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 10-27-2000, 06:05 PM
PTPerson PTPerson is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Down Under
Posts: 558
Default Re: Edit Pack

hmmmmmm now with the edit pack having all those glorious meters howabout writing into the firmware BEFORE it gets released that those meters can also work with Plugins..........I can't tell you how handy it would be to have a gain reduction meter for the compressors on the ProControl.



Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 10-28-2000, 01:28 PM
gk gk is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 1999
Location: CA USA
Posts: 54
Default Re: Edit Pack

Greetings all,

I apologize for being absent on the DUC for the last while. I’ve been very busy working on Edit Pack to get it done and shipping as soon as possible!

In response to some questions/issues. First, the msrp is $7,495 not $7,995 (every little bit counts…) This is an expensive box for us to build. The keyboard itself is highly customized. It starts as an off the shelf part, and in the end, the only pieces that get used as is are the keyswitches. We even modify the pcb so we can put the modifier keys in the best place and offer a duplicate set to the right of the space bar. Sounds trivial but is very significant engineering wise. I spec’d this to be the easiest to use keyboard we could make and it costs dearly to make it right. I’m a user too and I wanted to get it right, for all of us!

The joysticks are also quite unique. They use the same touch circuit as the DigiFaders on ProControl. They feel absolutely great! Making them has been a big engineering challenge.

The Edit switches are organized into 4 sections with 5 buttons, each with an over/under function. The Main functions are:

MISC: Bounce to Disk, Shift, Duplicate Track, New Track, Auto Input/Input Only toggle
REGION – SHOW/HIDE: Consolidate, Heal, Show Selected Tracks, Hide Selected, Show All
EDIT: Trim, Duplicate, Repeat, Insert Silence, Repeat Paste to Fill
AUTO/WRITE: Start, End, All, to Current Parameter, to All Enabled Parameters

The Alt functions are:
AUDIO: Import Audio, Import from other movie, Import Track, Timestamp, Beat Detective
MIDI–EDIT: Select Note, Split Note, Transpose, Merge Paste, Input Quantize
MIDI–CHANGE: Tempo, Meter, Velocity, Duration, Quantization
PLUG-IN SETTINGS: Copy, Paste, Compare, Save, Save As, Auto Suspend

There’s also Track Size Up/Down switches that operate on the tracks you have a selection on.

Lastly, the meters do not currently do gain reduction, but it’s something we have thought of and hope to do in the future. They are set up to display it, it’s just not in the software.

So, I hope that answers the questions so far. I’m really excited to get this product out there. It got a great reception at AES, folks loved it .

Jules, it was nice to meet you in person! I wish we could have had more time to talk.

-Gannon Kashiwa
Product Manager – Control Surfaces
Digidesign


Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old 10-28-2000, 06:10 PM
Chris Lambrechts's Avatar
Chris Lambrechts Chris Lambrechts is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Apr 1998
Location: Belgium
Posts: 2,025
Default Re: Edit Pack

I can`t wait to get my hands on it, thanks for the explanation Gannon, liked every little bit of it, except the ..... well you know, the every little bit section.

The guys over in holland said something about it coming over there by december ....... sigh ....... 33 days and counting ......

------------------
Chris Lambrechts
__________________
Chris Lambrechts
Applications Specialist- Live Sound
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old 10-28-2000, 08:43 PM
agus agus is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: New York, NY USA
Posts: 247
Default Re: Edit Pack

Since we're talking about a new piece of hardware... has anyone else ever wanted to have a visual indication as to what sample rate the session is at? In our post house, we always have different sessions at different rates and it would be nice to have that on the PC or Desktop.
Reply With Quote
  #28  
Old 10-31-2000, 11:12 AM
Chris Lambrechts's Avatar
Chris Lambrechts Chris Lambrechts is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Apr 1998
Location: Belgium
Posts: 2,025
Default Re: Edit Pack

I saw a Prototype today, on a 5.1 / edit Pack demo in Brussels. It was an almost working beta model.

Man, what can I say, other then I gotta run, gonna fill out some Lottery forms,......., I've got to have this thing.

No, seriously, it looked very very very nice. As I said, it was some kind of beta model, but except for the joysticks (the most important on the thing ) everything seemed to work OK. Everything Gannon describes in his reply is there, and some more fancy things.........

for example, the back has adb and usb ports, so basically, if I understood it right, you can throw out your keyboard. You can hook up the edit Pack to the Computer and it will serve as a keyboard, even offline. Two little minor things : 1. the trackball seemed a little bit on the small side. But then again, I'm used to the BIG Kensington. and 2. It is ok to throw out the keyboard, but how do you start the computer then ??????? well, by pushing the button on the computer. Ok, but mine is in a machine room in the basement.So it would be nice to see some powerbutton on there.

Basically, the whole edit pack concept is surround mixing (duh ....... ) and especially handy for people working with MMC, It has it's own dedicated section. So main clients will be the video folks I guess. BUT, there are some very very usefull functions and buttons, not only for surround ....... OK, you'll say, what's the use then for us music only folks ...... well, surround ........ of course and definately better looking then the Gallery version (mission control). I have to admit that it is a very expensive gadget, because all the shortcuts can be done on a normal keyboard in combination with stuff like quickeys etc etc .... but then again, you can mix with a mouse too . I just wish the dollar would crash a little bit, or that my upcoming release goes triple platinum, or that my lottery forms win or I have to rob a bank or whatever, there has to be some way ............ I have to have this thing.

------------------
Chris Lambrechts

[This message has been edited by Chris Lambrechts (edited October 31, 2000).]


Oh yes, 5.1 has fader plugin control ....... YESSS YESSSS YESSSSS YESSS YESSSS YESSSSS YESSS YESSSS YESSSSSYESSS YESSSS YESSSSS YESSS YESSSS YESSSSS YESSS YESSSS YESSSSS YESSS YESSSS YESSSSS YESSS YESSSS YESSSSS YESSS YESSSS YESSSSS

damn, I forgot to ask if (with the edit pack offline) you can play carmageddon with the joysticks, digi, if not, PUT IT IN RIGHT NOW OR I'll NEVER BUY IT,............ , NEVER, YOU HEAR

[This message has been edited by Chris Lambrechts (edited October 31, 2000).]
__________________
Chris Lambrechts
Applications Specialist- Live Sound
Reply With Quote
  #29  
Old 10-31-2000, 01:42 PM
PTPerson PTPerson is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Down Under
Posts: 558
Default Re: Edit Pack

Hi GK, as mentioned in past posts howabout a limited one time offer for us DUCers to have the opportunity to buy the edit pack for 4K?.

I would definately buy one straight away!

As i'm sure a few of us would!!


Reply With Quote
  #30  
Old 10-31-2000, 04:30 PM
Chris Lambrechts's Avatar
Chris Lambrechts Chris Lambrechts is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Apr 1998
Location: Belgium
Posts: 2,025
Default Re: Edit Pack

2 makes a few no ??????

count me in.

------------------
Chris Lambrechts
__________________
Chris Lambrechts
Applications Specialist- Live Sound
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
FS: Procontrol-Edit pack-Fader pack vudoo Buy & Sell 1 12-17-2013 01:48 PM
Procontrol with fader pack and edit pack The golfer Buy & Sell 2 11-05-2012 08:47 PM
HELP! Edit Pack thinks its a Fader Pack! digitaltoast ProControl, Control|24, Command|8 1 01-27-2012 03:48 AM
Is Procontrol/edit pack/ fader pack still supported vudoo Pro Tools 9 8 11-06-2010 08:19 PM
Edit Pack "Pan Win" Bug in 7.4 pablotec ProControl, Control|24, Command|8 0 11-27-2007 03:01 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:28 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com