Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools 2018

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #81  
Old 01-21-2019, 03:29 AM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 16,249
Default Re: 2018 MacMini experiment on ProTools HDX

Quote:
Originally Posted by Loudnoize Ent. View Post
Aren't computers, whether the mini or any other, designed to shut down to prevent frying the cpu, when over 100°c which is boiling point?
Yes, if the momentary temp is too high ... what I was saying you will fry your cpu if you have 24/7 high temp
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #82  
Old 01-21-2019, 08:07 AM
zion's Avatar
zion zion is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Washington DC
Posts: 1,038
Default Re: 2018 MacMini experiment on ProTools HDX

Well all the information I can find including Apple support says this is all normal and it’s by design. They also said the CPU will throttle back In order to stay within specs but even though it throttles back it still maintains core speeds of 3.2-3.5. Again they say it’s nothing to worry about it’s all by design. I should be receiving my unit this week and I will be doing some of my own testing and will report back to this thread. Can’t wait!
__________________
Pro Tools 2019.6 | Studio One 4.5 Pro | Pro Tools 12.5.2 HD | Apollo X8 | UAD Octo Sat | UAD Quad Sat | Mac Mini 2018 i7 | 16GB Ram | 512GB SSD | Mojave 10.14.3 | OWC ThunderBay 4 | Drives’s Samsung EVO 860 + 840 + Crucial M4 SSD | Plugins | UAD, Softube, Waves, Nugen, Fabfilter, SSL, Lexicon, Eastwest, NI KOMP 9 ULT, PSP, IKMulti, Antares, Celemony, Slate Dig, etc | AKAI Pro Adv 61 | PreSonus Fader Port | Townsend Labs Sphere L22
Reply With Quote
  #83  
Old 01-21-2019, 12:49 PM
Loudnoize Ent. Loudnoize Ent. is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 482
Default Re: 2018 MacMini experiment on ProTools HDX

Quote:
Originally Posted by JFreak View Post
Yes, if the momentary temp is too high ... what I was saying you will fry your cpu if you have 24/7 high temp
Ah! Understood.

All in all, I've been extremely pleased with the mini. Plenty of power inside this little box.
Reply With Quote
  #84  
Old 01-21-2019, 08:41 PM
SevenRising SevenRising is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Kansas City
Posts: 60
Default Re: 2018 MacMini experiment on ProTools HDX

Quote:
Originally Posted by khoop2112 View Post
Sonnet echo express pro - TB1.

I've been doing many tests today trying to track down why I get the 9173/6101 error messages.

Last night I brought the session that had been stopping, and ran it headless on my MacMini with no eGPU, and no HDX/UAD cards. It looped for 45 minutes and never stopped.

Today I brought the mini back down to my studio, and tried the test without UAD or HDX, and it still stopped. Then tried with HDX/UAD but no eGPU, and it stopped.

Then I lowered my resolutions from 2560x1440 HiDPI on my 2 monitors to 1920x1080 HiDPI, and worked fine without stopping but no HDX or UAD. I'm a little perplexed to be honest.

Will keep testing but open to any thoughts on things to try...
I have a very similar setup to yours and I am plagued by 9173/6101 errors on this 2018 Mac mini. It is driving me NUTS!
Reply With Quote
  #85  
Old 01-21-2019, 08:50 PM
SevenRising SevenRising is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Kansas City
Posts: 60
Default Re: 2018 MacMini experiment on ProTools HDX

Quote:
Originally Posted by khoop2112 View Post
Did some GPU tests today. My main monitor is a 65" 4k TV running HDMI 2.0 @ 60hz, at 2560x1440 HiDPI. I noticed a little screen redraw improvement going from 2013 MacPro to 2018 Mini with BlackMagic RX580 eGPU.

I did 3 tests while ProTools was in playback with only the mix window showing:

- 2560x1440 HiDPI
- 1920x900 low res
- 2560x1440 standard

Nothing was present on my other two monitors.

You can see on the GPU window from Activity Monitor that the RX580 is at 100% usage at 2560x1440 HiDPI, and goes down from there. I tried a quick test on Logic Pro, and couldn't get it to 100%.

So - do I need a faster eGPU (Vega 56 or 64) or is ProTools just not ready for HiDPI yet?

- Kent
I have a Vega 56. It makes no difference to Pro Tools. Avid just hasn't optimized things I guess.
Reply With Quote
  #86  
Old 01-22-2019, 09:10 AM
the.engineer the.engineer is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Guildford, Surrey, UK
Posts: 208
Default Re: 2018 MacMini experiment on ProTools HDX

Quote from an Avid support rep I was talking to recently.

“Pro Tools is not supported for higher resolutions than Full HD 1920 × 1080. It does not mean of course that you will not be able to use higher resolutions with no issues...”

he then specifically talked about the Mac Pro 5,1.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
__________________
James Welch
Recording Engineer | Producer
Masterlink Productions

Mac Pro 5,1 (Mid 2010) | 3.46GHz Six-Core Intel Xeon | 32GB Ram | AMD Radeon RX 580 8GB | Apple 27" LED Cinema | 500GB Samsung 960 EVO M.2 SSD System Drive | 1TB WDC Sample Drive | 4TB RAID 0 Seagate Audio Drive | UAD-2 Quad PCIe
Mojave 10.14.5 | Pro Tools Ultimate 2019.5 | HDX | Avid Omni | Avid 16x16 HD I/O x2 | Digidesign 192 | Digidesign C24
Reply With Quote
  #87  
Old 01-22-2019, 12:35 PM
arche3's Avatar
arche3 arche3 is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 816
Default Re: 2018 MacMini experiment on ProTools HDX

Quote:
Originally Posted by the.engineer View Post
Quote from an Avid support rep I was talking to recently.

“Pro Tools is not supported for higher resolutions than Full HD 1920 × 1080. It does not mean of course that you will not be able to use higher resolutions with no issues...”

he then specifically talked about the Mac Pro 5,1.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Wow. 1920x1080 is like so old....
Reply With Quote
  #88  
Old 01-23-2019, 10:07 AM
Matt Hepworth's Avatar
Matt Hepworth Matt Hepworth is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Utah
Posts: 423
Default Re: 2018 MacMini experiment on ProTools HDX

Quote:
Originally Posted by arche3 View Post
Wow. 1920x1080 is like so old....
I'm now on 1920x1200 on my secondary, but the main display (40") is 1920x1080. Any tinier text or icons and it would be unusable.
Reply With Quote
  #89  
Old 01-26-2019, 02:30 PM
zion's Avatar
zion zion is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Washington DC
Posts: 1,038
Default Re: 2018 MacMini experiment on ProTools HDX

Hello all! Well, I received my Mac Mini 2018 and I must say I am very impressed! It is much faster and more powerful than my current Mac Pro late 2013. I started with a clean install and everything went smoothly. I have done all my Pro Tools and Apple optimizations and also a few experiments of my own. Seeing I have done this all a hundred times or more it all went flawlessly. Also as a force of habit I have also done my three system backups with CCC. I must say I am not experiencing any issues with bluetooth, USB, or WiF but the the unit does run a little warm as others have reported. I have found that elevating the unit with a horizontal stand does make a difference. I have also found that turning off Turbo Boost using (Turbo boost Pro) has a better perfomance benefits than turning off hyper threading at least that has been my experience. I find it to be more stable at heavy loads and at lower latency. I also find it runs a lot cooler with out the CPU throttling up and down all the time at different loads. Another thing I have done was to use (TG Pro) to manage the thermal conditions and it also helps with the over all performnace and stability at heavy loads. I have optimized the settings and have found it to provide a good balance and it also keeps the unit well below its specs with out dropping its performance. Another thing I like about (Turbo Boost Pro) is once I make my settings it remembers it all after rebooting so it is a set and forget. I will leave a picture of my thermal setting below. I find theses setting to provide a smooth thermal and quiet fan transition. At the 1% any sensor, the fan speed is about 1700 rpms at boot up and Idle. At 12% the fan speed is at about 2200 rpms and is activated at high cpu temps above 55C. Most of the time the temps never reach over 77C. The next two setting are 50% at 85C and 100% at 95C and I have yet to see it reach 85C at heavy loads. I had a lot of Apple gear around so I used the Apple Trade In deal and didn't pay anything out of pocket. I also was able to get an employee discount which was very helpful. The configuration I picked was the 6 core i7, 16GB ram and the 512GB SSD. The good news is since I didn't have to pay anything out of pocket I will be adding a eGPU. The prices have really come down so now is the time. I hope this info is helpful to some!
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Screen Shot 2019-01-26 at 5.20.07 PM.jpg (39.1 KB, 0 views)
File Type: jpg Screen Shot 2019-01-26 at 5.20.48 PM.jpg (39.8 KB, 0 views)
File Type: jpg Screen Shot 2019-01-26 at 5.22.36 PM.jpg (44.2 KB, 0 views)
File Type: jpg IMG_0144.jpg (18.7 KB, 0 views)
__________________
Pro Tools 2019.6 | Studio One 4.5 Pro | Pro Tools 12.5.2 HD | Apollo X8 | UAD Octo Sat | UAD Quad Sat | Mac Mini 2018 i7 | 16GB Ram | 512GB SSD | Mojave 10.14.3 | OWC ThunderBay 4 | Drives’s Samsung EVO 860 + 840 + Crucial M4 SSD | Plugins | UAD, Softube, Waves, Nugen, Fabfilter, SSL, Lexicon, Eastwest, NI KOMP 9 ULT, PSP, IKMulti, Antares, Celemony, Slate Dig, etc | AKAI Pro Adv 61 | PreSonus Fader Port | Townsend Labs Sphere L22

Last edited by zion; 01-31-2019 at 03:16 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #90  
Old 01-26-2019, 02:54 PM
Southsidemusic's Avatar
Southsidemusic Southsidemusic is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Stockholm - Sweden
Posts: 11,639
Default Re: 2018 MacMini experiment on ProTools HDX

@zion

Glad to hear yet another satisfied New Mac Mini user and it boads well for my home setup where I am looking at one for myself.

Please update this thread if you have time should anything weird occur.

Thanks and crossing fingers you end up as satisfied as I hope I will be aswell
__________________
Best Regards
Christopher

—————————————
South Side Music Group
WEBHOME
—————————————
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ProTools 2018.4 won't launch planck Pro Tools 2018 6 08-27-2018 04:54 AM
S5 Fusion with ProTools 2018 tricklabot System 5 6 08-27-2018 01:48 AM
Which CPU / computer for protools 2018 boitason Pro Tools 12 18 03-31-2018 02:27 PM
ProTools 2018.1 PTPerson ICON & C|24 4 02-19-2018 01:08 PM
I just tried a SRC experiment; dkrausz 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 02-11-2002 06:59 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:40 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com