Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 12

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-30-2018, 05:05 AM
boitason boitason is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: Saint-Maur-Des-Fosses
Posts: 10
Default Which CPU / computer for protools 2018

Hi,

How many cores / threads does Protools 2018 exploit ?
I read that protools only exploits 4 cores, and do not use the threads (!?)

I have to choose a new Mac.
An Imac 2017 21.5" i7 7700 (not the 27" i7 7700K as it is known as a noisy vacuum cleaner when pushed a little), or Mac pro 2013 6 cores, or... what else could run flawlessly my pluging filled sessions for Mixing/mastering ?

Thank you for your expertise ;-)
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-30-2018, 05:25 AM
musicman691 musicman691 is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Soprano State (NJ)
Posts: 16,155
Default Re: Which CPU / computer for protools 2018

What helps to spread out core usage is to not use one vi instance for a bunch of sounds. By that I mean if you're using a sampler like Kontakt rather than use one instance to host say 8 sounds use 8 instances of Kontakt each hosting a single sound.

That being said PT does tend to use cores in the middle of the listing. Example: 4 physical cpu cores and with hyperthreading you have 8 cores. If you look at the PT usage metering you will more likely than not see core #4 with the highest usage and falling of on either side of that core. I.E. cores 3 and 5 will have less than core 4, etc. Generally PT doesn't do that good of a job on balancing out core usage.

As to machines and from the ones you're looking at the 2013 MacPro trashcan might be the better one if you believe what you've read about the 2017 iMacs. Be careful you don't confuse the iMac Pro with the regular iMac. 'Noisy vacuum cleaner' is an overshoot as to fan noise. There's one fan in the 27 inch models and with an ssd for system drive there will be less heat load.
__________________
Jack
See profile for system details
iMac dead & retired as of 11/4/17

QAPLA!
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-30-2018, 06:11 AM
chrismeraz chrismeraz is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 320
Default Re: Which CPU / computer for protools 2018

Choose the best you can afford, you don't want to get caught short in a couple of years. Pro Tools will use as many cores as you throw at it, if your sessions really call for it.

That said, most home studio sessions can get by with a lot less than a Mac Pro.
__________________
Windows 10
Apollo 8
Pro Tools Native
i7 8700K, 32GB RAM
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-30-2018, 08:09 AM
boitason boitason is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: Saint-Maur-Des-Fosses
Posts: 10
Default Re: Which CPU / computer for protools 2018

Thank you all.

My sessions have typically 10 to 25 stereo tracks, few audio files, but a lot of hungry plugins (TDR, DMG, Slate, Waves, Softube, etc...) working at 96/24 max.

The Mac benchmark is rating the Mac Pro’s E5 Xeon 1650v2 3,5 GHz, next to the iMac 2017 i7 7700 3,6 GHz.

Marketing technique or reality ?
This is a general benchmark result and there is no Protools’s specific benchmark :-(

At this price level, the computer must be operational during 6 years or more, following OS and Protools updates.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-30-2018, 10:40 AM
Bob Olhsson's Avatar
Bob Olhsson Bob Olhsson is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Songwriter Gulch, Nashville, TN
Posts: 3,310
Default Re: Which CPU / computer for protools 2018

For real-time DSP which is relevant to DAWs, raw floating point calculation speed trumps core count. In practice, that means choosing the very latest generation Intel processor at the highest speed and then whatever core count you can afford. I understand 6 is the point of diminishing returns so I would start there. The new iMac Pros are the latest generation CPUs.
__________________
Bob's room 615 562-4346
Georgetown Masters 615 254-3233
Interview
Artists are the gatekeepers of truth! - Paul Robeson
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-30-2018, 10:55 AM
musicman691 musicman691 is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Soprano State (NJ)
Posts: 16,155
Default Re: Which CPU / computer for protools 2018

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bob Olhsson View Post
For real-time DSP which is relevant to DAWs, raw floating point calculation speed trumps core count. In practice, that means choosing the very latest generation Intel processor at the highest speed and then whatever core count you can afford. I understand 6 is the point of diminishing returns so I would start there. The new iMac Pros are the latest generation CPUs.
6 what is the point of diminishing returns? Cores? And if so are you including hyperthreading in that number? Or actual physical cores?
__________________
Jack
See profile for system details
iMac dead & retired as of 11/4/17

QAPLA!
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 03-30-2018, 10:57 AM
Bob Olhsson's Avatar
Bob Olhsson Bob Olhsson is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Songwriter Gulch, Nashville, TN
Posts: 3,310
Default Re: Which CPU / computer for protools 2018

Six physical cores. I was told that beyond 6 traffic management slows things down some.
__________________
Bob's room 615 562-4346
Georgetown Masters 615 254-3233
Interview
Artists are the gatekeepers of truth! - Paul Robeson
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 03-30-2018, 11:06 AM
boitason boitason is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: Saint-Maur-Des-Fosses
Posts: 10
Default Re: Which CPU / computer for protools 2018

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bob Olhsson View Post
For real-time DSP which is relevant to DAWs, raw floating point calculation speed trumps core count. In practice, that means choosing the very latest generation Intel processor at the highest speed and then whatever core count you can afford. I understand 6 is the point of diminishing returns so I would start there. The new iMac Pros are the latest generation CPUs.
Thank you Bob.

IMac Pro s are way too expensive, but are the most powerful Macs today.

Mac Pro’s cpu (E5 1650) is 6 cores and is from 2013
IMac i7 7700 is 4 cotes and is the last est generation.

Mac Pro is slightly higher than iMac in multi core benchmark
iMac is slightly higher than Mac Pro en single core benchmark

Is the argument of «*latest generation*» prevails, knowing that Protools exploits multi core and multi threading ?

Thank you.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 03-30-2018, 11:12 AM
musicman691 musicman691 is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Soprano State (NJ)
Posts: 16,155
Default Re: Which CPU / computer for protools 2018

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bob Olhsson View Post
Six physical cores. I was told that beyond 6 traffic management slows things down some.
I'm not questioning what you're saying but I would love to know who said that. Remember that it's only recent years we've had access to chips that have more than 6 physical cores. And if it really was an issue Apple would not have done cheesegraters with dual quad or hex core cpu's.
__________________
Jack
See profile for system details
iMac dead & retired as of 11/4/17

QAPLA!
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 03-30-2018, 11:26 AM
musicman691 musicman691 is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Soprano State (NJ)
Posts: 16,155
Default Re: Which CPU / computer for protools 2018

Quote:
Originally Posted by boitason View Post
Thank you Bob.

IMac Pro s are way too expensive, but are the most powerful Macs today.

Mac Pro’s cpu (E5 1650) is 6 cores and is from 2013
IMac i7 7700 is 4 cotes and is the last est generation.

Mac Pro is slightly higher than iMac in multi core benchmark
iMac is slightly higher than Mac Pro en single core benchmark

Is the argument of «*latest generation*» prevails, knowing that Protools exploits multi core and multi threading ?

Thank you.
You may want to revise your cpu core count on the iMac Pro - looking at the 'buy' page configuration they have: 8/10/14 and 18 core Xeon W processors. The fastest one is the 8 core at 3.2 GHz with turbo boost up to 4.2 GHz speed. Looking at the prices for some of the options and looking at what's called bang-for-the-buck right now these iMac Pro's just don't cut it. If you really need a new machine I'd go for the MacPro trashcan. If not Apple is rumoured to be coming out with a new desktop this year.

The question you have to ask yourself is:
Do you really want to be a tester for anything new Apple comes out with? I sure wouldn't especially if you want a stable system.
__________________
Jack
See profile for system details
iMac dead & retired as of 11/4/17

QAPLA!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
SSL Duende Channelstrip Crashing in ProTools 2018.3 thebeatinventor Pro Tools 2018 25 05-07-2018 05:56 PM
Protools 2018.3 Crashes at Launch David Feingold Pro Tools 2018 1 03-20-2018 02:27 PM
Upgrading from 2018.1 to 2018.3 with Application Manager lm183902 Pro Tools 2018 2 03-19-2018 04:41 PM
ProTools 2018.1 PTPerson ICON & C|24 4 02-19-2018 01:08 PM
apogee rosetta and protools 2018 joeydego Pro Tools 2018 12 02-12-2018 09:06 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:25 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com