Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Hardware > Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-25-2016, 06:10 AM
jre3132 jre3132 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Nashville, TN
Posts: 1,236
Default Expansion Cards on I/O

I was curious.....

I have an 8x8x8, analog 16x16, and a digital 16x16 with each having at least one bay open. I've found a VERY cheap 192 digital expansion card. I know the 192's work with HDX, but the question is.....
Would the 192 expansion cards work in an extra slot of the HDX IO?
If they did, I could probably dump my digital 16x16 and run two interfaces (I could probably do that anyway, it would just make it even easier). Anybody have any experience with this? I can't find any info on the web.

Last edited by jre3132; 12-25-2016 at 07:02 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-25-2016, 07:25 AM
29CountsNY's Avatar
29CountsNY 29CountsNY is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Saratoga Springs, NY
Posts: 530
Default Re: Expansion Cards on I/O

Short answer is no. The HD I/O cards will not work with 192's and 192's cards will not work with an HD I/O.
Be nice if they were compatible but they are not.
__________________
www.montabonsound.com
www.29counts.com

Pro Tools HD 2019.5 | HD Native PCIe | Lynx Aurora 16 HD | HD I/O | Digi 192 | 2010 Mac Pro 12 Core 3.46ghz | macOS Mojave 10.14.4 | 48 gigs RAM | Tascam DM3200 | Crane Song Avocet II | Antelope Isochrone OCX | Universal Audio Quad & Duo | Waves Mercury + Studio Classics v10 & Abbey Road Collection
Pro Tools HD2 8.1.1 | 2 x PCIe Core Card | 2 x Digi 192 | 2009 Mac Pro Eight Core 2.26ghz
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-25-2016, 07:39 AM
jre3132 jre3132 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Nashville, TN
Posts: 1,236
Default Re: Expansion Cards on I/O

Quote:
Originally Posted by 29CountsNY View Post
Short answer is no. The HD I/O cards will not work with 192's and 192's cards will not work with an HD I/O.
Be nice if they were compatible but they are not.
I kind of figured that was the case. It's funny how the whole unit will work with the system, but not the individual cards.
__________________
Mac Pro 3.7 Quad Core Intel
Mac OS X 10.13.2
PT Ultimate HDX 2018.7
64GB RAM
HDX I/O 16x16 Analog
HDX I/O 8x8x8
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-25-2016, 08:17 AM
29CountsNY's Avatar
29CountsNY 29CountsNY is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Saratoga Springs, NY
Posts: 530
Default Re: Expansion Cards on I/O

I believe it is a power issue. I think the insides were changed with the new I/O and it has something to do with the cards power requirements. I'll see if I can dig up the official response.
__________________
www.montabonsound.com
www.29counts.com

Pro Tools HD 2019.5 | HD Native PCIe | Lynx Aurora 16 HD | HD I/O | Digi 192 | 2010 Mac Pro 12 Core 3.46ghz | macOS Mojave 10.14.4 | 48 gigs RAM | Tascam DM3200 | Crane Song Avocet II | Antelope Isochrone OCX | Universal Audio Quad & Duo | Waves Mercury + Studio Classics v10 & Abbey Road Collection
Pro Tools HD2 8.1.1 | 2 x PCIe Core Card | 2 x Digi 192 | 2009 Mac Pro Eight Core 2.26ghz
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HD i/o AD and DA expansion cards gsharp Buy & Sell 0 12-29-2013 11:24 AM
192 I/O Expansion Cards egghead Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 2 11-11-2011 12:21 PM
Using PCI cards in expansion chassis with a new PCI-e Mac? Mt.Everest Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 7 03-04-2010 11:50 AM
192 Expansion Cards Martin Adriaanse Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 6 02-07-2005 03:56 PM
192 Stock I/O cards used as expansion cards? barthalamu Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 2 02-03-2004 12:00 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:39 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com