Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Hardware > Eleven Rack

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-23-2011, 06:26 PM
Jermak Jermak is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Van Diemen's Land
Posts: 118
Default FCB1010 Pedals

I have a second hand fcb1010 with the 1.2 11Prom and noticed that the volume pedal didn't go all the way up on the animated page in the 11R in Protools. So I got out of PT and loaded up MIDI-OX and the volume pedal is sending CC7 from 7F (127) which is right for toe down, but 3F for heel down. Now this should be 0.
Is this something with the 11PROM or with the adjustment of the LED thingy in the FCB?
Yes I have done the calibration in the 11R.

Any Ideas?
__________________
==================================
Win7x64
PT 9.0.5 DIGI003 Digimax FS
ASUS P5E Q6600 6GB

Eleven Rack + EXRP
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-23-2011, 06:35 PM
Benoni's Avatar
Benoni Benoni is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Right Behind YOU!!
Posts: 9,609
Default Re: FCB1010 Pedals

this may help

http://duc.avid.com/showpost.php?p=1766510&postcount=25
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-23-2011, 07:41 PM
Jermak Jermak is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Van Diemen's Land
Posts: 118
Default Re: FCB1010 Pedals

Quote:
Originally Posted by Benoni View Post
Cheers mate. I knew I had seen that before but forgot where, I searched using Google and didn't get anything useful. I will now go and attck it with a hammer. Thanks again.
__________________
==================================
Win7x64
PT 9.0.5 DIGI003 Digimax FS
ASUS P5E Q6600 6GB

Eleven Rack + EXRP
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-24-2011, 05:38 AM
eurekasound_dave eurekasound_dave is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 15
Default Re: FCB1010 Pedals

At the end of this webpage they show the expression pedal mechanism:
http://www.el34world.com/Misc/Music/FCB_1.htm

Getting the LED & Photodetector aligned is paramount. If that doesn't get you all of the range, then bend the LED & photodetector closer to one another (without hitting the plastic strip) - that should do the trick.

Cheers,
Dave
http://www.eurekasound.com
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-24-2011, 03:37 PM
Jermak Jermak is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Van Diemen's Land
Posts: 118
Default Re: FCB1010 Pedals

Thanks Dave. I did open it up and fiddle a bit (not with the hammer though).
I did align the emitter and sensor and that did help me get a few more lower numbers but not low enough. So I put a washer on top of the brass pegs (under the pc board) This raised the assembly up more towards the clear end of the strip. Now I can get down to 05 as the lowest CC.
However when looking at the CC's in MIDI-OX it starts at 7F and continues for quite a lot of 7F's until it jumps to 3F. Then it seems to go down from there OK. Looking at the gradient strip, it doesn't even look like a linear gradient.
Can someone run their FCB1010 directly to MIDI-OX and see if they get a linear gradient from 7F to 00.
__________________
==================================
Win7x64
PT 9.0.5 DIGI003 Digimax FS
ASUS P5E Q6600 6GB

Eleven Rack + EXRP
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-24-2011, 08:14 PM
Jermak Jermak is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Van Diemen's Land
Posts: 118
Default Re: FCB1010 Pedals

Ok went back in and tried pushing the LED and sensor closer and on the volume pedal got a 00. On the wah pedal I lifted the pcb board up with washers like the volume and pushed the sensors closer and got 00 on that pedal too.

But I still get cc's on both pedals missing everything above 3F except 7F.

Dave is this the 11PROM or does this happen with the original PROM?
__________________
==================================
Win7x64
PT 9.0.5 DIGI003 Digimax FS
ASUS P5E Q6600 6GB

Eleven Rack + EXRP
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 04-24-2011, 09:25 PM
sunburst79 sunburst79 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Cleveland, Ohio USA
Posts: 12,763
Default Re: FCB1010 Pedals

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jermak View Post
Ok went back in and tried pushing the LED and sensor closer and on the volume pedal got a 00. On the wah pedal I lifted the pcb board up with washers like the volume and pushed the sensors closer and got 00 on that pedal too.

But I still get cc's on both pedals missing everything above 3F except 7F.

Dave is this the 11PROM or does this happen with the original PROM?
Do you have the original FCB1010 PROM to swap back in? It seems like that might be the quickest most surefire way to determine if its a hardware issue or the 11PROM.
__________________
Scott

Formerly Hobo Wan Kenobi

Core 2 Specs Page

ASUS P6T6 Revolution | i7 930 | 12GB OCZ DDR3 1600 7-7-7-20 | PTLE 10 | CPTK | 003 | Presonus D8 | 11Rack | Alesis AI3 | Presonus HP60 | Mercury + Studio Classics | Sound Toys | MasseyPack | Axiom61 | MAudio Keystation Pro 88
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 04-24-2011, 11:05 PM
Jermak Jermak is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Van Diemen's Land
Posts: 118
Default Re: FCB1010 Pedals

Quote:
Originally Posted by sunburst79 View Post
Do you have the original FCB1010 PROM to swap back in? It seems like that might be the quickest most surefire way to determine if its a hardware issue or the 11PROM.
Ah great master of the nearly 10,000 posts, I could do that. Now this is where it gets embarassing when I first noticed this I did swap back, but then I was only looking to get the 00 as the lowest. In getting the 11PROM out a corner leg of the prom broke off (pre-weakened?) - by pushing the 11PROM back in it made enough contact to work OK but I am not game to try it again. I'll wait for 1.4
__________________
==================================
Win7x64
PT 9.0.5 DIGI003 Digimax FS
ASUS P5E Q6600 6GB

Eleven Rack + EXRP
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 04-25-2011, 06:27 AM
sunburst79 sunburst79 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Cleveland, Ohio USA
Posts: 12,763
Default Re: FCB1010 Pedals

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jermak View Post
Ah great master of the nearly 10,000 posts, I could do that. Now this is where it gets embarassing when I first noticed this I did swap back, but then I was only looking to get the 00 as the lowest. In getting the 11PROM out a corner leg of the prom broke off (pre-weakened?) - by pushing the 11PROM back in it made enough contact to work OK but I am not game to try it again. I'll wait for 1.4
Ahhh. I understand.

I have 1.3 in a FCB1010 and the pedals are smooth here. EPROMS are tricky. You need a good pair of jewelers or miniature needle nose pliers to straighten the pins with out breaking them. They are (too) fragile by design. I started to bend mine putting it in and had to stop and carefully straighten them all out. And I've done enough electronics work that I'm pretty comfortable with doing these things. The location of the PROM in the FCB is shaded by the lip of the unit. Get some light in there so you can see enough to ensure that the legs are lined up. Its worth spending a minute making sure that the legs on each side are all lined up in the same plane and that the angle of the legs is the same as the socket.
__________________
Scott

Formerly Hobo Wan Kenobi

Core 2 Specs Page

ASUS P6T6 Revolution | i7 930 | 12GB OCZ DDR3 1600 7-7-7-20 | PTLE 10 | CPTK | 003 | Presonus D8 | 11Rack | Alesis AI3 | Presonus HP60 | Mercury + Studio Classics | Sound Toys | MasseyPack | Axiom61 | MAudio Keystation Pro 88
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 04-25-2011, 01:35 PM
eurekasound_dave eurekasound_dave is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 15
Default Re: FCB1010 Pedals

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jermak View Post
Ok went back in and tried pushing the LED and sensor closer and on the volume pedal got a 00. On the wah pedal I lifted the pcb board up with washers like the volume and pushed the sensors closer and got 00 on that pedal too.

But I still get cc's on both pedals missing everything above 3F except 7F.

Dave is this the 11PROM or does this happen with the original PROM?
I think moving the LED & Photodetector closer together should be enough - you shouldn't need the washers. In fact, that could be causing the problem on the high side.

When you run expression pedal calibration on startup (Keep switches 1 and 5 pressed while powering up the unit) you'll get to see the actual values that the 11PROM is reading from the expression pedal circuit. Hopefully you see lows < 0x10 & highs > 0x70. (The values are in hexadecimal, so 0x0 to 0x7F would be 0-127).

The 11PROM uses an algorithm to compensate for the pedals not spanning the entire range. But if the low > 0x40, or the high < 0x40 - the algorithm would act as you're saying.

In general, you'll want the expression pedals to natively cover as much of the range as possible. Behringer, UnO, and our algorithms scale over the remaining range, but that inherently ends up skipping numbers, which you can hear if the jumps become too large...

Cheers,
Dave
http://www.eurekasound.com
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
FCB1010, which PROM? ElectricEric Eleven Rack 10 09-17-2012 09:58 PM
Two Exp Pedals? Jermak Eleven Rack 0 10-24-2011 05:19 PM
FCB1010: How do you get all 10 pedals to stompbox mode? Jd0g33 Eleven Rack 7 06-09-2011 02:50 PM
WAH WAH pedals? Dezmond 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 8 05-05-2004 10:31 PM
RAT Pedals Emo King 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 8 02-01-2002 12:59 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:22 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com