Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-08-2005, 10:48 AM
Archmart Archmart is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: EARS Chicago
Posts: 155
Default Home Stereo Amp for Tannoy Monitors?

Hey Hey!

I have access to a pair of Tannoy System 8 nearfields.

But what to power them with?

I've heard of people using home-stereo-type receivers as amplifiers with good results.

I've got a fairly nice old JVC Receiver that I could use. Would that be an ok idea?

I'm not really used to mixing consumer products with professional gear, but hey, it would sure save me a heck of a lot of money compared to a new pair of Mackies or Genelecs.

Thanks,
Archmart
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-08-2005, 11:52 AM
C52382P C52382P is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Smithfield, VA
Posts: 336
Default Re: Home Stereo Amp for Tannoy Monitors?

I dunno ive always heard that consumer equipment tends to have built in EQ and that stuff like that isnt good for getting a true flat mix. But what I would say is just try it...if you get good results then it was okay. If not....open the wallet.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-08-2005, 12:50 PM
chrisk23 chrisk23 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 143
Default Re: Home Stereo Amp for Tannoy Monitors?

i would not suggest using consumer amps to power speakers--most of this stuff has added eq and bass boost--to make crappy speakers sound full and rich---it will not give you an accurate mix of any kind---if you're looking for something cheaper as far as amps go, look into the Alesis RA-150 to power those tannoys
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-08-2005, 01:44 PM
LogicStudio LogicStudio is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 13
Default Re: Home Stereo Amp for Tannoy Monitors?

Exactly...and I'm not sure if you noticed but those JVC combos tend to get right and harsh in a hurry. I've gone through 3 JVC recievers and stoped at a Yamaha NAD combination until I upgrade the Yamaha.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
FS Tannoy PBM 6.5 Monitors PAIR degs7 Buy & Sell 0 11-10-2013 04:34 PM
Factory Plugins and Tannoy 5A Monitors joe.cavers 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 11-07-2006 10:13 AM
How to hook up home stereo to my studio monitors asiabackpacker General Discussion 17 05-24-2006 02:49 PM
Monitors , tannoy reveal . seared music 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 3 05-11-2003 06:40 AM
connecting 001 to a home stereo to A/B between mixing monitors and stereo speakers... Siberian 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 3 04-09-2003 11:14 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:27 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com