Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #41  
Old 05-29-2006, 01:23 AM
Shan's Avatar
Shan Shan is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Vancouver, B.C.
Posts: 13,533
Default Re: Best Systems and Components for Win HD/TDM

Quote:
I am very serious considering a Tyan K8WE MB for my next "mac" for a PT HD 3 system. But I can see that the K8WE board comes in a least 4 different versions: The S2895 and the S2877. Those two again have "sisters"-versions.

I need some help on deciding wich board to get: With or wihtout onboard audio/video? and so fourth?

Anybody?


Peter
The Tyan Tiger K8WE(S2877ANRF) works for me and Bodie. It has a TON of PCI slots. It is a very new system board that was just released in January. HD 1 and HD 2 work just fine so I suspect HD 3 wont be a problem. It is pretty much a zero config system that is very very powerful. Some of the first users of this board were actually Mac guys and they had no problem setting it up.

I use just an HD core card and have tons of plug-in DSP power for days via the 4 cores of the Opterons. In fact, I'm just wrapping up a massive 85 track mix with this Quad and HD 1 only. Some of my edit sessions have over a thousand edits and cross fades and the system handles it no problem at all. Just amazing. For stereo music production this is way more than I'll ever use.

It is also the most stable system I have EVER used for PT LE and PT HD. I have been using it for months now, 12-14 hours a day and not one problem. This thing just amazes me.

If you want power, check out that board. It was made for PT.

Shane
__________________
Pro Tools Power User Editing

Give your plug-ins a facelift...and skin 'em!
__________________

"Music should be performed by the musician, not by the engineer."

Michael Wagener 25th July 2005, 02:59 PM

__________________

Pro Tools|HD Native 9.0.1 | Pro Tools|HDX 10.2 | Studio One | REAPER 4.22 | HD OMNI | HoboMac Pro 2.26Ghz Quad-Core | W7 Ultimate 64-bit
Reply With Quote
  #42  
Old 05-29-2006, 07:58 AM
dawkab dawkab is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 80
Default Re: Best Systems and Components for Win HD/TDM

>>> DIY System <<<
===================



Tyan k8WE s2895 (non raid version)

2 * Opteron 246

Antec TruePower V2.0 550EPS

2* WD 120 gig IDE

2 gig Corsair CM75SD2048RLP-2700/S

Gforce 6200 PCIE, fanless

Antec Titan 550

2* Artic Cooling Freezer.

Lite on CD burner

Magma 4slot PCI chassis with granite digital firewire bridgeboard.

Logitech cordless keboard and mouse,

19 Viewsonic LCD.



===================================



Some Notes:


1. The system ran fine in the chassis, but is not digi approved. I've recently moved onto the MB and am currently having problems (see here

2. The 3rd card interferes with the IDE connector on this MB. I removed the cable puller from the plug on the IDE cable to enable the card to sit flat and straight.

3. The stock fans are very noisy.

4. The case has good airflow and comes with a decent amount of extras, but it a little tight to work in. I'd recommend getting a bigger one with plenty of elbow room, as these MB are heavy and can be awkward to mount.

5. There are plenty of people with these board about, as they cross over into the high end "enthusiast" market. check out k8we.com for more general info.

6. The graphics board is a POS, but is very small, thin, noiseless, runs cool and has digital out.
Reply With Quote
  #43  
Old 05-30-2006, 05:50 AM
Bodie Bodie is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: PNW, USA
Posts: 212
Default Re: Best Systems and Components for Win HD/TDM

I agree with Shane. I'm totally blown away by the sound and performance. I finally updated/reinstalled all my software (the imaging program didn't work for me for whatever reason) and I have everything live as of last night.

WOW...I love my 192 and quite honestly, the sound quality of playback at 96khz is just plain amazing. I was diddling with Timewarp and direct in'd my Moog...amazing.

Shane,

Where's the actual specs on doing the d-verb test? Step by step? I'd like to bench mark mine and honestly, I'm not getting the same numbers so I'm sure I'm doing something different.

thanks!

Bodie
__________________
i7 950, 12Gb, 3 Tb, Win7-64 and 32bit
PTHD 12.7 HDCore 1 & w/002r
Macbook Pro 4Gb, 500G, OSX 10.6.2
iMac 3.06ghz, 16Gb, 2Tb, OSX 10.6.2
Minimoog Voyager, Liberation, Taurus, Phatty
Korgs, Nords and more
Arp 2600s & Ody
Reply With Quote
  #44  
Old 05-30-2006, 05:53 AM
Bodie Bodie is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: PNW, USA
Posts: 212
Default Re: Best Systems and Components for Win HD/TDM

Quote:

Some Notes:


1. The system ran fine in the chassis, but is not digi approved. I've recently moved onto the MB and am currently having problems (see here

2. The 3rd card interferes with the IDE connector on this MB. I removed the cable puller from the plug on the IDE cable to enable the card to sit flat and straight.

3. The stock fans are very noisy.

4. The case has good airflow and comes with a decent amount of extras, but it a little tight to work in. I'd recommend getting a bigger one with plenty of elbow room, as these MB are heavy and can be awkward to mount.

5. There are plenty of people with these board about, as they cross over into the high end "enthusiast" market. check out k8we.com for more general info.

6. The graphics board is a POS, but is very small, thin, noiseless, runs cool and has digital out.
Interesting...I'm curious why use the stock fans? The case I used was recommended by Shane...the Tsunami is tall, plenty of elbow room and I have to admit...I'm filling it fast ;-).
__________________
i7 950, 12Gb, 3 Tb, Win7-64 and 32bit
PTHD 12.7 HDCore 1 & w/002r
Macbook Pro 4Gb, 500G, OSX 10.6.2
iMac 3.06ghz, 16Gb, 2Tb, OSX 10.6.2
Minimoog Voyager, Liberation, Taurus, Phatty
Korgs, Nords and more
Arp 2600s & Ody
Reply With Quote
  #45  
Old 05-31-2006, 08:02 PM
Peterjk's Avatar
Peterjk Peterjk is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Copenhagen, Denmark
Posts: 331
Default Re: Best Systems and Components for Win HD/TDM

But does anyone know the difference between Tyan Tiger and Tyan Thunder?
Reply With Quote
  #46  
Old 06-01-2006, 12:56 AM
Peterjk's Avatar
Peterjk Peterjk is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Copenhagen, Denmark
Posts: 331
Default Re: Best Systems and Components for Win HD/TDM

Quote:
But does anyone know the difference between Tyan Tiger and Tyan Thunder?
TYAN email'd me:

Thunder K8WE has 64Bit PCI-X Slots, Tiger doesnt.
Thunder K8WE has SCSI option, Tiger doesn’t.
Thunder K8WE has 2 PCI-E Slots with 16 lanes each.
Tiger has 1 PCI-E with 16 lanes one 1 PCI-E with 4 lanes only.
Thunder has one PCI Slot 32Bit only, Tiger has more.


But I only know that my three HD cards are PCI, not if there 32bit? - or PCI-X?

Digi? - anyone..
Reply With Quote
  #47  
Old 06-01-2006, 01:19 AM
dawkab dawkab is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 80
Default Re: Best Systems and Components for Win HD/TDM

As far as I know, non PCI-E HD Cards work in PCI and PCI-X, 32 and 64bit slots.

Check the compatability documents to be sure.

I used the reccommend slot order for the xw9300 which has the tyan s2895 MB.
Reply With Quote
  #48  
Old 06-01-2006, 01:57 AM
Peterjk's Avatar
Peterjk Peterjk is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Copenhagen, Denmark
Posts: 331
Default Re: Best Systems and Components for Win HD/TDM

But will my 3 HD (non PCI-e) cards fit in both the Tiger and the Thunder board?

Thunder K8WE has 64Bit PCI-X Slots, Tiger doesnt.
Thunder K8WE has SCSI option, Tiger doesn’t.
Thunder K8WE has 2 PCI-E Slots with 16 lanes each.
Tiger has 1 PCI-E with 16 lanes one 1 PCI-E with 4 lanes only.
Thunder has one PCI Slot 32Bit only, Tiger has more.


Peter
Reply With Quote
  #49  
Old 06-01-2006, 06:21 PM
Shan's Avatar
Shan Shan is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Vancouver, B.C.
Posts: 13,533
Default Re: Best Systems and Components for Win HD/TDM

Quote:
But will my 3 HD (non PCI-e) cards fit in both the Tiger and the Thunder board?
They fit in the Tyan Tiger. It is the board me and Bodie use. You can download the manual from the website for full specs.

They layout of the PCI buss will be in there.

Shane
__________________
Pro Tools Power User Editing

Give your plug-ins a facelift...and skin 'em!
__________________

"Music should be performed by the musician, not by the engineer."

Michael Wagener 25th July 2005, 02:59 PM

__________________

Pro Tools|HD Native 9.0.1 | Pro Tools|HDX 10.2 | Studio One | REAPER 4.22 | HD OMNI | HoboMac Pro 2.26Ghz Quad-Core | W7 Ultimate 64-bit
Reply With Quote
  #50  
Old 06-01-2006, 09:34 PM
nikki-k nikki-k is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Hobette Alley
Posts: 2,357
Default Re: Best Systems and Components for Win HD/TDM

Quote:
But will my 3 HD (non PCI-e) cards fit in both the Tiger and the Thunder board?

I am VERY curious to know if HD/Accel cards will work with the Thinder K8WE (2895) as well...Those chipset heatsinks scare me in the aerial view. One seems a little close (possibly) to the first PCI-X slot, and the other...well, right where the cards would go over with an HD3 rig. If the cards will sit over the top of the heatsink with no issues, excellent....

Also, I am curious if it would be possible to use a PCI SATA card (for an external solution, if deisred) in the 32-bit slot, and then still retain full HD3 Accel performance, should it work and be desired.

Anyone have access to one of those boards at least?
__________________
nikki k
Eagles may soar, but weasels don't get sucked into jet engines.
On the other hand, you have different fingers.
Quote:
Originally Posted by nikki-k View Post
Sometimes ya just gotta put your tongue on the 9V battery just to see what all the fuss is about.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Are these pc components ok? chazc080488 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 16 08-13-2010 11:20 AM
need help with HD components FMR_Crisis Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 9 04-17-2010 05:07 PM
What components lie in the most POWERFUL native PTLE Systems? epu 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 0 07-28-2008 07:18 AM
Will these PC components do the job hws 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 08-06-2007 08:22 PM
components rems 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 11-19-2001 09:32 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:28 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com