Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 12

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-04-2016, 08:01 AM
shea shea is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 512
Default Metre Panning Anomily

Hi Guys
How do I explain this. pro tools 12 win 8.1 digi 003
On a sterio track when I pan left or right it works fine but the metres remain the same as if it was centred . Is this normal or am I missing something

Thanks again
shea
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-04-2016, 08:03 AM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 14,931
Default Re: Metre Panning Anomily

What meter on what track... Sounds like a track is in pre-fader metering...
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-04-2016, 11:54 AM
shea shea is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 512
Default Re: Metre Panning Anomily

Quote:
Originally Posted by Darryl Ramm View Post
What meter on what track... Sounds like a track is in pre-fader metering...
Thanks Darryl
No the track is not in pre-fader metering the track is a sterio track in the edit window and mix window. when I solo the track the trk meters go up the same on both sides panned fully left, but on the master channel the meters behave correctly only showing the left meter. I'm using digital vu meters but I tried the rest
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-04-2016, 02:47 PM
dwaynedelario dwaynedelario is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 364
Default Re: Metre Panning Anomily

I have always wondered this as well. Seems as though the track meters are pre-panner on audio tracks. Try it, pan one side of a stereo track all the way to the opposite side, and the meters on that track will not reflect the move regardless of pre or post fader metering.
__________________
----------------------------------------------------
HDX2 / OS X 10.12.6 / Mac Pro 2012 40GB RAM
ProTools Ultimate 2019.6
Avid OMNI+Artist Mix
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-05-2016, 06:02 AM
shea shea is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 512
Default Re: Metre Panning Anomily

Quote:
Originally Posted by dwaynedelario View Post
I have always wondered this as well. Seems as though the track meters are pre-panner on audio tracks. Try it, pan one side of a stereo track all the way to the opposite side, and the meters on that track will not reflect the move regardless of pre or post fader metering.
Thank you Dway
Is that normal behaviour or a bug?

Shea
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Track Compression metre is in vanilla mix window boabyd23 Pro Tools 11 3 06-21-2013 02:27 PM
panning genoveva 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 11-29-2006 05:55 AM
panning bug? dkroger Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 1 05-23-2005 08:45 AM
Panning Bezo 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 6 07-24-2003 07:10 AM
panning Ronnisi Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 1 10-29-2001 02:00 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:59 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com