Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Mixing > Avid S1, S3, Dock and Control

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #41  
Old 07-28-2020, 01:54 PM
JingleDjango JingleDjango is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Canada
Posts: 189
Default Re: S1 knob always writing

My replacement S1 is exhibiting the same fault on encoder #4 after a few days of use. How can I get a replacement that won't have this problem? I've had to disable channel strip #4 because the L Pan of my tracks keeps getting zero'd on me as I bank around my session. What a headache.
Reply With Quote
  #42  
Old 07-28-2020, 02:17 PM
XJENSEN XJENSEN is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Gent, Belgium, Europe
Posts: 363
Default Re: S1 knob always writing

My God..
Reply With Quote
  #43  
Old 07-28-2020, 02:21 PM
JingleDjango JingleDjango is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Canada
Posts: 189
Default Re: S1 knob always writing

Don't buy an S1. How come no recall?
Reply With Quote
  #44  
Old 07-31-2020, 08:55 AM
JingleDjango JingleDjango is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Canada
Posts: 189
Default Re: S1 knob always writing

A few days ago when I wrote to say my replacement had the same issue, the shop where I bought my S1 told me,
"Avid assured me in a recent conversation that *any* units that shipped after about May or so were all resolved."

They reached out to Avid who told them they would like to take care of this directly for me. The shop passed on my info and said Avid would be in touch that same day. I've not heard anything.

EDIT:
The shop had to nudge them again but I've been contacted by support.

Last edited by JingleDjango; 08-01-2020 at 11:54 AM. Reason: Followup
Reply With Quote
  #45  
Old 10-02-2020, 03:50 AM
lucas f. lucas f. is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: paris
Posts: 27
Default Re: S1 knob always writing

One month old S1 ..Same issue : knob 4 goes into write by itself..have to disable the track to keep working...very frustating!
I m based in france , Tried all morning t call the support number for avid, i only get to voice mail..
My reseller isn't helping , and says they can only send the unit for service..
Can somebody here can help please,
How can avid can continue to sell faulty and expensive devices like this..
Reply With Quote
  #46  
Old 10-02-2020, 04:35 AM
marsian marsian is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Germany
Posts: 163
Default Re: S1 knob always writing

Open a case in AVID support center.
They changed every S1 that showed the problem immediately.


Cheers
Maik
__________________
PT HDN 2020.9, OMNI, SYNC HD, Dock, 2xS1, PT Control, MacPro 5,1 12core 48GB, OSX 10.14.6, BM Decklink Extreme 3D
------------
mars13.de
Reply With Quote
  #47  
Old 10-02-2020, 11:37 AM
lucas f. lucas f. is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: paris
Posts: 27
Default Re: S1 knob always writing

i opened a case , Avid did reach to me and offer to change my unit right away..great..until they told i have to send my unit to irland ( i'm in france ) before they send me a new one from Irland..at least 10 days of down time if i 'mlucky...that's not fine with me...
I asked them to send the new unit first...still waiting to hear back from them
Reply With Quote
  #48  
Old 10-02-2020, 01:22 PM
EddieJones's Avatar
EddieJones EddieJones is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Santa Cruz
Posts: 2,879
Default Re: S1 knob always writing

Quote:
Originally Posted by lucas f. View Post
i opened a case , Avid did reach to me and offer to change my unit right away..great..until they told i have to send my unit to irland ( i'm in france ) before they send me a new one from Irland..at least 10 days of down time if i 'mlucky...that's not fine with me...
I asked them to send the new unit first...still waiting to hear back from them
This should not be the case...push for a new unit first.
Reply With Quote
  #49  
Old 10-08-2020, 01:33 PM
lucas f. lucas f. is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: paris
Posts: 27
Default Re: S1 knob always writing

Avid is support is in this case acting absolutly stupid...my dealer offered to make the exchange in the store but they refuse to send the new unit before they have the faulty one .. putting me down for work in the meantime..one month old unit with a known conception faillure.. totally unacceptable in my world..

Envoyé de mon SM-G960F en utilisant Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #50  
Old 10-09-2020, 09:31 AM
EddieJones's Avatar
EddieJones EddieJones is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Santa Cruz
Posts: 2,879
Default Re: S1 knob always writing

Quote:
Originally Posted by lucas f. View Post
Avid is support is in this case acting absolutly stupid...my dealer offered to make the exchange in the store but they refuse to send the new unit before they have the faulty one .. putting me down for work in the meantime..one month old unit with a known conception faillure.. totally unacceptable in my world..

Envoyé de mon SM-G960F en utilisant Tapatalk
I'm still trying to get you sorted.....
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Looking to trade my skinny knob 408 for a skinny knob 402 audiobee System 5 0 04-06-2016 12:02 PM
002R Volume knob=Control24 Volume knob?? Gothboy 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 05-07-2010 05:04 PM
writing to CD manyrains 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 3 04-30-2008 02:15 PM
Writing to cd? sethbrand Pro Tools M-Powered (Win) 1 03-18-2006 01:34 PM
Problem writing to CDR Jonah 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 11 03-24-2002 03:34 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:26 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com