Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support

Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Old 05-24-2001, 07:48 AM

Default Newbie needs help...

I haven't bought 001 yet but I just watched the Digi video and am lusting after it. I am an absolute newbie to this home recording thing and I could really use the advice of the experts. I play mainly Irish folk music and I want to produce my own CDs to sell at my gigs. I want to record mainly myself, one track at a time. FX will be minimal, a little reverb on the vocals, a little compression on the bouzouki, a little chorus on the guitar. I am concerned about my system. I have a Gateway, Windows 98, Pentium (r)II, 350 MHz, 128 RAM, FAT 32. This looks like the bear minimum, according to the Digi web site. Can I get away with this system, given what I intend to do with it? Or should I be thinking about a computer upgrade before I get my 001?

Thanking everyone in advance for your advice and assistance. Mark in Minneapolis

------------------
"Make everything louder than everything else." - Iam Gillan, 1973
Old 05-24-2001, 08:28 AM

Default Re: Newbie needs help...

Mark:

I wouldn't recommend attempting to run PT on your current machine. Somewhere around a PIII-600 with 256MB is about the true minimum configuration for a Digi001 system.

I think you'll have a much more enjoyable experience using this wonderful platform if you go ahead and upgrade. Keep your current system for web surfing, email and letter writing, but get a new system JUST for PT and nothing else. As little as $1000 will get you a very fast system that will really make you smile when you use it.