Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Additional Resources


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 10

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-04-2013, 12:47 PM
gigantorbuzz gigantorbuzz is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: SoCal
Posts: 1
Default Exporting Clips as WAVs, clips dont highlight in list

Hi all, for the first time I need to export my regions (clips now? im still getting used to v10 lol) as WAV files so someone without PT can mix them.

Ive consolidated each track/file from 0:00:00 to my End marker point, and when I select the clip in the edit window, it is not finding/highlighting the clip in the Clips list on the right. And vice versa, if I manually find and select the file name in the Clips list, it does not highlight the clip in the edit window. I am used to PT working like this, and it would make this process much easier obviously, so im hoping its a simple option or preference (that I cannot find) that needs to be checked, etc.

Any thoughts? Much thanks in advance!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-04-2013, 02:35 PM
joachim's Avatar
joachim joachim is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Germany, München
Posts: 1,657
Default Re: Exporting Clips as WAVs, clips dont highlight in list

What happens, if you select the consolidated clip in the edit window and hit Cmd+Shift+K; does the export-menu pop up ?

(What PT version, what OS version ?)

In the clip list, do you have "show auto-created" selected ?

In the clip list, are you only selecting a mono part of a stereo clip ?
__________________
PT 11.3.1 HD , RME Fireface 800 , Genelec 5.1 ,
Win7 64bit Professional , i7 3930 Hexcore , 64GB Ram , SSD System + SSD PT Session/Audio + SSD Video (all Samsung 840 Evo) + Spinner 1TB Data , 2x Radeon HD 5450 \\ SD 633 Femto MKH8060 MKH8070 MKH30/MKH40 DPA4060
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-04-2013, 02:44 PM
krazylain's Avatar
krazylain krazylain is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: NYC
Posts: 64
Default Re: Exporting Clips as WAVs, clips dont highlight in list

Why don't you just open the session audio folder and copy the consolidated files from there.
(this assumes you're using separate folders for each session).
This way you don't have to worry about additional steps within Protools.

Sent from my DROID RAZR using Tapatalk 2
__________________
Studio: Win10x64 - i7 Octo - 32GB Ram | Pro Tools 12 HD
Mobile: MBP -- RME UFX, Audient 880
Studio One 3, Reason 10, NI Komplete 10, Sampletank 3
HEAT, Sonnox, McDSP, Waves API/SSL/Platinum, Tube-Tech, Maag, Brainworx, T-Racks CS
www.topnotchaudio.com
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-04-2013, 03:04 PM
joachim's Avatar
joachim joachim is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Germany, München
Posts: 1,657
Default Re: Exporting Clips as WAVs, clips dont highlight in list

Quote:
Originally Posted by krazylain View Post
Why don't you just open the session audio folder and copy the consolidated files from there.
If it is not an "interleaved" session, you can only copy the mono parts of multi-channel audio; might be an unhandy procedure for more-than-mono-clips.
__________________
PT 11.3.1 HD , RME Fireface 800 , Genelec 5.1 ,
Win7 64bit Professional , i7 3930 Hexcore , 64GB Ram , SSD System + SSD PT Session/Audio + SSD Video (all Samsung 840 Evo) + Spinner 1TB Data , 2x Radeon HD 5450 \\ SD 633 Femto MKH8060 MKH8070 MKH30/MKH40 DPA4060
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-04-2013, 04:50 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: nashville
Posts: 33,886
Default Re: Exporting Clips as WAVs, clips dont highlight in list

I'm at a loss because every time I select a clip(highlight it) it shows as selected in the Clips bin(what SHOULD be happening for you). If you are still having troubles, here's a little trick to help with finding the clips so you can grab them directly from the Audio Files folder; rename each consolidated clip and put a letter in front of the name, like C_bassdrum, C_leadvox, etc(using the letter C to refer to Consolidated). Doing this will group all the consolidated files in a row in the folder, making it easy to grab all and copy/export.
__________________
Asus x99, Intel i7 6800K, 32 gig DDR4, GeForce 750 Ti, HD/Native, HD IOx2, PT11HD, UAD Quad, preamps from Vintech, Five Fish Audio, Miktek, Focusrite, Chameleon Labs and Midas..............................
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works
www.capricornsoundworks.com

The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-05-2013, 10:12 AM
The Weed's Avatar
The Weed The Weed is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 5,861
Default Re: Exporting Clips as WAVs, clips dont highlight in list

There's a Preference or Option for this, something like Clip Selection Follows Timeline Selection and Timeline Selection Follows Clip Selection. Sorry, not in front of PT to tell you exactly where.

Cheers,
__________________
Take your projects to the next level with a
non-union national read at a reasonable rate
Demos: brucehayward dot com
Source-Connect: brucehayward
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 08-05-2013, 01:07 PM
joachim's Avatar
joachim joachim is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Germany, München
Posts: 1,657
Default Re: Exporting Clips as WAVs, clips dont highlight in list

Quote:
Originally Posted by The Weed View Post
There's a Preference or Option for this, something like Clip Selection Follows Timeline Selection and Timeline Selection Follows Clip Selection. Sorry, not in front of PT to tell you exactly where.
Cheers,
Damn right !

Clips Section (PT Reference Guide , Preferences , Editing) :

Clip List Selection Follows Edit Selection
When selected, selecting a clip in a track also selects it in the Clip List.

Edit Selection Follows Clip List Selection
When selected, selecting a clip in the Clip List causes Pro Tools to highlight that clip’s occurrence in a track.
__________________
PT 11.3.1 HD , RME Fireface 800 , Genelec 5.1 ,
Win7 64bit Professional , i7 3930 Hexcore , 64GB Ram , SSD System + SSD PT Session/Audio + SSD Video (all Samsung 840 Evo) + Spinner 1TB Data , 2x Radeon HD 5450 \\ SD 633 Femto MKH8060 MKH8070 MKH30/MKH40 DPA4060
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
sorting clips in clip list martthie_08 Pro Tools 10 0 07-01-2013 03:59 PM
Pro Tools 10 Freezing While Exporting Clips mugmugmug Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 1 01-23-2013 05:18 AM
Cross fades are not between clips but at the end or beginning of clips phatbeatstudio Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 2 09-10-2012 02:08 AM
Drag Clips = Delete Clips??? Connor Pro Tools Software (Mac) 2 07-09-2012 07:50 PM
Editing clips without creating new clips dimebagslash Pro Tools 10 2 07-04-2012 07:24 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:59 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com