Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support

Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Old 04-24-2009, 09:46 AM

Default HP Desktops?

I'm new to PC with protools. I've been using it for years on mac, but I'm going to buy a PC really soon. At this point, I don't know what PC configurations work best with Protools.

I just picked up the Fry's ad today and there are a few options; a quad core AMD Phenom x4, an intel Dual Core...ect..

I'm not into building my own PCs, so I'm hoping I can just buy a pre-assembled PC.

They all have Vista installed...but I hear XP is still the way to go.

Any help on a pre-assembled PC would be great!

Hopefully with at least 4gb ramm. I plan on doing Orchestrated and Drum Sampling VST stuff.

Looking to spend around $400-600...so nothing that's super high end, but enough to do some small things on my own time when I'm away from the main studio.

Thanks!!!!
Old 04-24-2009, 12:53 PM

Default Re: HP Desktops?