Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-16-2003, 10:36 PM
Asymnation Asymnation is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 12
Default Intel 875 MoBo - Compatibillity?

I've been getting excessive errors in PT with my current rig so I'm upgrading my PC with:

CPU - Intel P4 3.0gHz
RAM - 1 Gig DDR
Motherboard - Intel 875p w/ 800mHz FSB
Hard Drive - Seagate Barracuda 80-Gig

Everything is at or above spec as far as compatibillity goes, HOWEVER...

There is no new compatibillity information regarding the Intel 875p Motherboard. So are there any owners on the board that can attest to the stabillity of this motherboard with Pro Tools?


Thanks
__________________
Asymnation Studios
------------------
Seattle, WA
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-17-2003, 05:04 AM
FatBelly FatBelly is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Detroit
Posts: 387
Default Re: Intel 875 MoBo - Compatibillity?

My question concerning the New 875 chipset mobo is if the intergrated sound will be an issue as far as PT or any recording software is concerned.

I've done noticed that all the top manufacturers of these boards have intergrated sound for surround out and mic and line in.

I hope someone has something good to say about this. It would be ashamed to have so much power available but not for recording.

FatBelly
__________________
FatBelly Slim

Oh no, not the sprinklers again.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-17-2003, 05:12 AM
FatBelly FatBelly is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Detroit
Posts: 387
Default Re: Intel 875 MoBo - Compatibillity?

My question concerning the New 875 chipset mobo is if the intergrated sound will be an issue as far as PT or any recording software is concerned.

I've done noticed that all the top manufacturers of these boards have intergrated sound for surround out and mic and line in.

I hope someone has something good to say about this. It would be ashamed to have so much power available but not for recording.

FatBelly
__________________
FatBelly Slim

Oh no, not the sprinklers again.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-17-2003, 08:41 AM
EasyMidas EasyMidas is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: NYC
Posts: 26
Default Re: Intel 875 MoBo - Compatibillity?

I recently bought my computer and asked the same question to a digidesign tech support man...He said that the 875 chipset probably will work fine, but that he wouldn't guarantee it...

I went with the 845 in the end, as digidesign stand by it..
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-17-2003, 08:53 AM
dodo dodo is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Nashville, TN
Posts: 658
Default Re: Intel 875 MoBo - Compatibillity?

What errors are you getting? What kind of ram are you using?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 06-17-2003, 09:46 AM
JPS JPS is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Ohio
Posts: 924
Default Re: Intel 875 MoBo - Compatibillity?

I have an Asus P4C800, which uses the 875 chipset. Onboard sound is an issue to be concerned about. I had to disable the onboard sound in the bios and remove the program "SoundMax" from the startup menu. After that, things are working very well and it is behaving nicely. [img]images/icons/grin.gif[/img]
__________________
John-Q6600,GA-EP35-DS3P, Zigmatec S1283: 235 D-Verbs @ 2.4 ghz
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 06-17-2003, 10:22 AM
The Weed's Avatar
The Weed The Weed is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 6,156
Default Re: Intel 875 MoBo - Compatibillity?

Onboard sound with the Intel 875P motherboard is an option for Direct customers only and if you do get a board with it, just disable it in the BIOS. What is very nice about the Intel board is that the GigBit LAN is on the Northbridge chip and not connected to the PCI bus in anyway, unlike the other manufacturers boards which basically use a form of PCI LAN if they offer that option. All reports from users of the Intel board I've read have been positive, all saying that it's stable although I don't remember anyone on the DUC using the board yet. Reviewers of the board also give it high marks, although they don't recommend it because you can't overclock it. The again, most reviews are for gamers - do you really want to overclock for a DAW?

I would also like to know about chipset compatibility as the Intel is the board I would like to put in to my next system, along with two WD 10,000 RPM Raptor SATA drives [img]images/icons/smile.gif[/img] Since I was going to network my new system with my old computer and use a KVM to share the monitor, keyboard and mouse, I can have a dedicated audio box and an internet, email and other application box, network them and not have to worry about PCI interrupts.

Cheers,
__________________
Take your projects to the next level with a
non-union national read at a reasonable rate
Demos: brucehayward dot com
Source-Connect: brucehayward
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 06-17-2003, 11:07 AM
EasyMidas EasyMidas is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: NYC
Posts: 26
Default Re: Intel 875 MoBo - Compatibillity?

I am having problems with my hard drives, but I think it's a configuration problem and not a hardware problem...

I have been getting DAE error 9131 on playback of previously saved sessions...

I have 1GB of RAM on two DIMMS...
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 06-17-2003, 03:38 PM
JPS JPS is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Ohio
Posts: 924
Default Re: Intel 875 MoBo - Compatibillity?

EasyMidas, do you have the 875 chipset? If so, which motherboard are you using? IF you think the drives are the issue, is DMA enabled? That is definately a "show stopper" in PTLE.
__________________
John-Q6600,GA-EP35-DS3P, Zigmatec S1283: 235 D-Verbs @ 2.4 ghz
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 06-17-2003, 08:19 PM
EasyMidas EasyMidas is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: NYC
Posts: 26
Default Re: Intel 875 MoBo - Compatibillity?

I'm using a 845 chipset...with an ATX motherboard...

I'm pretty sure my drives are DMA enabled...That's the cache writing thing right?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Skulltrail,Intel D5400XS mobo? Firechild Pro Tools TDM Systems (Win) 2 06-25-2010 09:58 AM
How to get the Intel G33 express mobo to work Benoni 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 12-08-2008 02:49 PM
Best mobo for AMD 4000, and Intel P4 3.4 rpatterson38 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 0 12-20-2004 09:43 AM
Someone has a MOBO with Intel 6300ESB southbridge? Fran d'Valle 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 0 12-19-2004 02:53 AM
Someone has a MOBO with Intel 6300ESB southridge?? Fran d'Valle Pro Tools TDM Systems (Win) 0 12-19-2004 02:51 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:03 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com