Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Post Production > Post - Surround - Video

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #11  
Old 03-29-2019, 05:42 AM
Frank Kruse Frank Kruse is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: old europe
Posts: 5,426
Default Re: Video Cut Detection

Quote:
Originally Posted by laki View Post
So, from what I understand, Nuendo and Resolve will Analyze the video file and determine scene cuts Automatically.

Ediload and Conformalizer need an EDL to do this. Which is cool but not as cool as the Resolve/Nuendo thingy.

Is this right?
Using EDLs is always the most accurate way to do it. (100% accurate). If you don't want to use EDLs you can use Conformalizer's video compare. Load the same QT into old and new players, set healing to "careful" and then do the video compare. That said, this won't be 100% accurate and depend on the type of film etc. and it will take MUCH longer than using EDLs (or is this an instant process in Nuendo or Resolve? I'd be surprised if this is faster than using EDLs or importing the video track from the AAF). This demo suggests a pretty long wait for a whole film and semi-manual threshold setting and error fixing.

But why use EDLs in the first place? You can simply ask for an offline AAF with the relevant video track from editorial and import that into PT. If you want to turn this into an audio guide with cut clips just use the separate clips on clips/markers-grid feature.

F.
__________________
PTHDn 2019.10 (OSX10.14.4), 8x8x8, MacPro 5,1 3.33Ghz 12-Core, BM DeckLink SDI, SYNC HD, all genlocked via AJA GEN10, 48GB RAM

Last edited by Frank Kruse; 03-29-2019 at 05:52 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 03-29-2019, 09:08 AM
Reckless Erik Reckless Erik is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Reykjavik,Iceland
Posts: 668
Default Re: Video Cut Detection

Quote:
just use the separate clips on clips/markers-grid feature.
Is this feature in PT Frank?
__________________
nickcath@internet.is
Newcomer Audio Post
MacBookPro 2.3GHz i7 16GB RAM OSX 10.14.6, PT 2019.10 HDn, Avid Artist Control, Avid Artist Mix...,
MacPro 3.5GHz 6 core 64GB RAM OSX 10.14.6, PT 2019.10 HDn, Avid Artist Control, Avid Artist Mix, PT Dock...
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 03-29-2019, 09:54 AM
Frank Kruse Frank Kruse is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: old europe
Posts: 5,426
Default Re: Video Cut Detection

Quote:
Originally Posted by Reckless Erik View Post
Is this feature in PT Frank?
Yes. Set grid to Clips/Markers. Hide all other tracks apart from your cut video and your dummy audio track also hide the marker track. Select your dummy clip group and chose Edit/Separate Clip/On Grid.

I actually do it the other way around. I crate a screen change track with EC and then copy the cuts over to my QT. That way I can use the video universe window (command-7) to quickly visually navigate in the film (you get one thumbnail for every clip on the active video track). Unfortunately the Video Universe is a bit buggy (I guess no one uses it besides myself) but if you know the bugs it's very helpful. Poor man's NLE overview. PT has a lot to learn MC or any NLE with regards to project management and workflow.

F.
__________________
PTHDn 2019.10 (OSX10.14.4), 8x8x8, MacPro 5,1 3.33Ghz 12-Core, BM DeckLink SDI, SYNC HD, all genlocked via AJA GEN10, 48GB RAM
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
tempo detection Darryn Farrugia 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 3 06-26-2009 10:36 AM
Beat Detection March314 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 07-16-2005 08:42 AM
M BOX plug and play detection mbrewster 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 8 04-09-2003 01:18 AM
Wacky detection of IDE devices ??? genebadd 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 8 03-11-2003 10:57 AM
WAV length detection airon Digidesign Hardware & Software 2 01-15-2001 08:05 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:22 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com