Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support

Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > macOS
Register FAQ Today's Posts Search

Old 01-21-2017, 09:00 AM

Default upgrade help needed please

I hope this is in the right place here, if not apologies.

OK I run PT 8.02 with Mbox2 pro on an iMac 3.4 ghz Intelcore I7 8GB OSX 10.7.5

I need to do updates on this computer as its also my work computer but am told my PT with not work if i do. I dont want to upgrade my PT to 10 or 11 or anything like that

IM not an expert on this so all help will be appreciated.

1. Can i partition the hard drive and upgrade half of it for example and keep the other half for this?

IF not

2. my other option is to buy a mac mini and run PT solely on that will that work ? if so what year/model etc do i need ?

many thanks in advance for your help
Old 01-21-2017, 09:18 AM

Default Re: upgrade help needed please

Quote:
Originally Posted by rowdi View Post
I hope this is in the right place here, if not apologies.

OK I run PT 8.02 with Mbox2 pro on an iMac 3.4 ghz Intelcore I7 8GB OSX 10.7.5

I need to do updates on this computer as its also my work computer but am told my PT with not work if i do. I dont want to upgrade my PT to 10 or 11 or anything like that

IM not an expert on this so all help will be appreciated.

1. Can i partition the hard drive and upgrade half of it for example and keep the other half for this?

IF not

2. my other option is to buy a mac mini and run PT solely on that will that work ? if so what year/model etc do i need ?

many thanks in advance for your help