Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-06-2005, 03:25 AM
Tubz Tubz is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Copenhagen, Denmark
Posts: 323
Default USB Hub?

Hi!

I need a USB hub for all my USB-gear. I tried a sandberg powered usb hub, but it doesn't work very well. Any good recomendations, anyone?

BR Tubz
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-06-2005, 03:51 AM
aux aux is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Posts: 425
Default Re: USB Hub?

We use one by Macally, which works fine with keyboard, iLok and M-Audio radium:

http://www.macally.com/
__________________
Aux

MassiveMusic

SOS article
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-06-2005, 04:41 AM
koko koko is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: The Pole
Posts: 148
Default Re: USB Hub?


USB HUBZZZZZZZZZZZZZ GRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRR

Either I'm completely out of luck, all hub distributors in this country sell fakes, god is against me or I'm completely insane and hallucinating hard.

Recently, I had the pleasure of buying a chandful -6 - USB hubs for my studios. All but 2 failed to work properly.

Belkin 4 port (the crazy black round one USB1) broke down after 2 weeks of intermittent service on iMac 800 17"
D-LINK HUB-7 (USB2) 7port reported "Not enough power..." while having only my keyboard and optical mouse attached to G4 MDD 1.25 MacOS 9
Belkin 7 PORT (USB1/2 autoswitch on each port) cuts off my optical mouse from time to time (keyboard and mouse on extension USB cables)
NoName el cheapo 4 Port - not recognized by MacOS X AudioMIDI Setup while having a MT-4 attached

Some hubs don't even qualify for tests because of how their ports are physically spaced - no room for 2-3 iLoks side-by-side

Nearly all hubs have the dreaded wall-wart power supply (Belkin's newest 7port is an exception)

But I guess YMMV
__________________
Post Meridian Productions
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-06-2005, 05:49 AM
Tubz Tubz is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Copenhagen, Denmark
Posts: 323
Default Re: USB Hub?

Aux, wich one do you use?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-06-2005, 07:10 AM
Ray Lyon Ray Lyon is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Waynesville, NC
Posts: 737
Default Re: USB Hub?

I use the Griffin powered 4 port hub... hook up MIDI i/o, TC4000, keyboard/mouse, Command 8 with no problems... having the extra power of a powered hub takes strain off the USB on board bus power... plus, Griffin is tested to work with Pro Tools and recommended by dealers... check it out
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 05-06-2005, 08:02 AM
aux aux is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Posts: 425
Default Re: USB Hub?

I use the Macally iHub, but I think this is an older one:

http://www.electronicsoutfitter.com/store/IHUB.html

No problems whatsoever.
__________________
Aux

MassiveMusic

SOS article
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 05-06-2005, 10:51 AM
woodywho woodywho is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: qns,ny
Posts: 483
Default Re: USB Hub?

I use the Griffin powered hub also.................nooo problems here! I'ved used almost all the belkin ones it makes midi i/o go too sleep and the only to make computer recognize it again is a reboot (pita), also I've even had the belkin not show any keyboard at boot up on occassion
__________________
Have you seen my 2 inch reel??
HitBound Studios
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 05-06-2005, 11:08 AM
Loose Nutt Loose Nutt is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Posts: 32
Default Re: USB Hub?

D-Link 4 port USB 1 Hub, $30 canadian from london drugs, power supply included, 2 months old and no problems
__________________
Luke Martin
Senior Post Production Engineer
Western Post
Vancouver BC
Canada
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 05-06-2005, 03:46 PM
Tubz Tubz is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Copenhagen, Denmark
Posts: 323
Default Re: USB Hub?

Thanks all, I'll google them!

Tubz
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:20 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com