Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-22-2005, 02:44 PM
Armando Armando is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: Parrish, FL USA
Posts: 949
Default Question to those using external digital boxes

This may sound a bit "petty" but I'm getting pretty tired of having to reset some digital outboard gear(clocking errors) which is connected via AES/EBU to a 192 I/O, each time I open or close a PT session. My PCM81 is just one of the culprits. Anyway solutions to avoid this? Thanks in advance!
__________________
Armando
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-22-2005, 02:57 PM
Drew Mazurek's Avatar
Drew Mazurek Drew Mazurek is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Maryland, USA
Posts: 11,573
Default Re: Question to those using external digital boxes

my TC stuff is fine. i remember having to fight with a Lex MPX-1. it would spit out the nastiest noises while trying to relock.
__________________
www.drewmazurek.com

Mixing and Mastering click here to get started.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-22-2005, 07:44 PM
Sacred Spirit Sacred Spirit is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 169
Default Re: Question to those using external digital boxes

Sysex messages on a midi track
__________________
MusicXPC 2.8/512
PTLE 6.4 CS6&9
Waves: Platinum(5) & IR1 (5.1)
DigiOO2 Factory
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-22-2005, 08:23 PM
Drew Mazurek's Avatar
Drew Mazurek Drew Mazurek is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Maryland, USA
Posts: 11,573
Default Re: Question to those using external digital boxes

Quote:
Sysex messages on a midi track
huh? how does this help with devices losing their lock? we're not talking about saving patches.
__________________
www.drewmazurek.com

Mixing and Mastering click here to get started.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-22-2005, 10:53 PM
Sacred Spirit Sacred Spirit is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 169
Default Re: Question to those using external digital boxes

You're loosing your lock because PT is disconneting.
Lexicon's defaults back to analog when the clock is interupted.
Sysex can send global machine states as well as patches.
__________________
MusicXPC 2.8/512
PTLE 6.4 CS6&9
Waves: Platinum(5) & IR1 (5.1)
DigiOO2 Factory
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-23-2005, 12:08 AM
woodywho woodywho is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: qns,ny
Posts: 483
Default Re: Question to those using external digital boxes

True(about sysex), this the way I control my Kurzweil KSP8
__________________
Have you seen my 2 inch reel??
HitBound Studios
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Newbie Digital IO question - HD Digital i/o vs 192 Digital vs X-HD mrdosun Pro Tools 10 1 02-17-2012 12:20 AM
192 Digital I/O External Clock out question antonis Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 18 11-29-2011 04:57 AM
MBOX DI BOXES THE QUESTION REPEATED patrick63 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 05-11-2008 02:47 PM
How do I use external effect boxes? Omega17 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 4 08-15-2006 09:02 PM
Bringing In External Effects Boxes? Jarico Studios Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 1 10-11-2001 05:00 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:37 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com