Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support

Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)
Register FAQ Today's Posts Search

Old 01-05-2010, 05:51 PM

Default Hiss when using m box pro 2 with shure sm7b

Hey all,

I'm a brand new pro tools user and a all around noob when it comes to recording in general. I just picked up a brand new sm7b for recording hip hop vocals with my M Box 2 Pro. I know the sm7b requires lots of gain to get a decent level. I can achieve the desired level but have to crank up the input on the m box nearly all the way. I'm getting an unwanted hiss/hum sound that is extremely loud. Loud enough to the point its not even worth using the mic.

Has anybody had this issue before using the same set up?
What do you guys recommend I do?

Thanks a ton.
Old 01-05-2010, 07:00 PM

Default Re: Hiss when using m box pro 2 with shure sm7b

Are you using a straight XLR-XLR cable? Is it good on all 3 pins?(a bad connection on pin 2 or 3 will still make sound, but at a much lower level). Does the mic have a pad switch on the back end? If so, turn it off(I can't remember what the switches do and mine is not in front of me).

The better I drink, the more I mix

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Old 01-06-2010, 09:01 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by albee1952 View Post
Are you using a straight XLR-XLR cable? Is it good on all 3 pins?(a bad connection on pin 2 or 3 will still make sound, but at a much lower level). Does the mic have a pad switch on the back end? If so, turn it off(I can't remember what the switches do and mine is not in front of me).
Yes, I'm using a working XLR-XLR cable. No pad switch on the back. It has a bass and presence boost.
Old 01-06-2010, 09:27 PM