Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Live Sound > VENUE Live Sound Systems

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-20-2010, 12:33 AM
Happytomato Happytomato is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Honolulu
Posts: 3
Default Installing PT LE 8.0 for Venue SC48

I apologize if I've posted in the inappropriate forum.

I'm trying to install PT LE 8.0 on my laptop, HP TX-2000 (3GB ram, 500GB HD) to use with a SC48.

I have the laptop connected to the SC48 via the FW port, and the link LED lights up. When I start the software, it always hangs on "DAE Loaded". I haven't even gotten to the point where I need to enter the PT LE license code.

Is there any sort of indicator on the SC48 that tells me that the console and my laptop are talking to each other?

Thanks for your time!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-20-2010, 07:23 AM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 35,611
Default Re: Installing PT LE 8.0 for Venue SC48

Review the install instructions. I believe you do NOT want to connect the SC48 until the software installer asks for it. Leave the cable connected and power OFF the console. Run the installer again and when it asks, power ON the console. You may find that your incorrect installation attempt thwarts your new install attempt and you may need to find the Uninstall utility on the LE disc and run that, then repeat. Hope this helps
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, DIGI003 Rack
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-20-2010, 09:00 AM
Mike Z's Avatar
Mike Z Mike Z is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Mountain View
Posts: 109
Default Re: Installing PT LE 8.0 for Venue SC48

please try updating to 8.0.4. There is a fix for this issue.

-Mike

Quote:
Originally Posted by Happytomato View Post
I apologize if I've posted in the inappropriate forum.

I'm trying to install PT LE 8.0 on my laptop, HP TX-2000 (3GB ram, 500GB HD) to use with a SC48.

I have the laptop connected to the SC48 via the FW port, and the link LED lights up. When I start the software, it always hangs on "DAE Loaded". I haven't even gotten to the point where I need to enter the PT LE license code.

Is there any sort of indicator on the SC48 that tells me that the console and my laptop are talking to each other?

Thanks for your time!
__________________
Avid Live Sound Support
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-21-2010, 04:17 AM
Happytomato Happytomato is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Honolulu
Posts: 3
Default Re: Installing PT LE 8.0 for Venue SC48

Thanks for your help! Finally got to type in the serial #...

Now I have to figure out why I can't use my external HD... it's a FW extrenal enclosure, with the correct FW chipset. Of course, I did a stupid thing and had the drive connected to my laptop while installing PT LE. When I hook up the HD to the console and turn it on, PT LE reports that it no longer can communicate with the console.

I may try to re-format the drive, and see what happens then...

Thanks again for your time!
__________________
Venue SC48, PTLE 8.0
HP TX-2000, AMD Turion TL-64, 3GB ram, 500GB HD
Vista 32 SP2
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07-21-2010, 08:57 AM
Mike Z's Avatar
Mike Z Mike Z is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Mountain View
Posts: 109
Default Re: Installing PT LE 8.0 for Venue SC48

if you are daisy-chaining the FW drive, it must be connected in-between the SC48 and the Pro Tools computer. Don't hang the drive off the 2nd SC48 FW port.

FWIW, I don't think we officially support the Turion chipset for Pro Tools. If you have further issues with the setup you may want to try posting in the Pro Tools LE for Windows forum.

http://duc.digidesign.com/forumdisplay.php?f=17

-Mike
__________________
Avid Live Sound Support
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 07-22-2010, 01:38 AM
Happytomato Happytomato is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Honolulu
Posts: 3
Default Re: Installing PT LE 8.0 for Venue SC48

Okay.. good news all around!

Putting the drive between the computer and the SC48 did the trick! Why don't these things come with install guides? All I got was a CD pocket full of CDs & DVDs... and a "hurry up, dammit!" from the boss.

Now I just need to keep on playing with the console... and makes them scenes that I'd need for my usage.

Thanks again for your help!
__________________
Venue SC48, PTLE 8.0
HP TX-2000, AMD Turion TL-64, 3GB ram, 500GB HD
Vista 32 SP2
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
SC48, Venue 3.0 & Clicks Tigerspill VENUE Live Sound Systems 7 04-30-2012 02:23 PM
New webinar: Meet the VENUE SC48 Remote System, Stage 48, and VENUE 3 bobcats VENUE Live Sound Systems 2 03-24-2012 07:35 AM
SC48 / Venue 3 question Tigerspill VENUE Live Sound Systems 1 03-11-2012 09:54 AM
Just got our Venue SC48 ionStorm VENUE Live Sound Systems 0 03-10-2010 02:52 AM
VENUE D-Show 2.8 Standalone Software for VENUE SC48 Avid VENUE Live Sound Systems 0 05-13-2009 12:30 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:26 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com