Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 10

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-11-2012, 07:28 AM
joachim's Avatar
joachim joachim is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Germany, München
Posts: 1,663
Default Automation, Plugin, write-to-all-enabled, but only for the currently targeted Plugin

Hi,

Situation :
Automation Window : only Plugin activated
Audio-Track : with 2 Plugins
1. Plugin : Eq with Notch-Settings, variable in Bypass, Freq and Gain across the Selection, automated
(e.g. for bad Resonance Freqs, differing within the Selection)
2. Plugin : new Eq, that should do a LowCut fixed at e.g. 100 Hz all over the Selection

Aim :
make the necessary Adjustments on the 2.Plugin and write-to-all-enabled in the Selection
without Blowing the Automation of the 1.Plugin

Solution :
1.Plugin Automation-Safe
2.Plugin write-to-all-enabled (Cmd+Alt+/)

Okay. But what if there are 5 Plugins in this Audio-Track, each Plugin with varying Automation ?
Everytime I want to adjust a Plugin-Automation and like to use write-to-all-enabled, I need to recheck, that the other 4 Plugins are Automation-Safe, in Case I forgot.
This can only be done by clicking on each Plugin and rechecking the green "Safe",
there is no Change in Color of the Plugin in the Mix Window, only for Bypass(blue) / Active(white) , not for "Safe".

There is : write-to-current (what is shown in the Track View)
and
there is : write-to-all-enabled (to all enabled Plugins of that Track)
why isn´t there a write-to-all-enabled-but-only-to-the-current/targeted/open-Plugin ?

Or did I missed that (only 4 Years of Experience on Pro Tools, CPTK , currently 10.2, just on an iMac),
could not not find anything in the Documentation, in the Forums.

Are there other Techniques to use write-to-all-enabled , or an Alternative to it (without using write-to-current and Toggling through the Track View) ?
Is there a "Trick" to see at a Glance, if the Plugins are Automation-Safe without opening the Plugin ?

Hoping for Advice,
Joachim
(Post for Student/Indie/Short, very LowBudget)
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-11-2012, 08:33 AM
Sonopolis Sonopolis is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Berlin
Posts: 257
Default Re: Automation, Plugin, write-to-all-enabled, but only for the currently targeted Plu

Well you can use Preview, Punch Preview and Write to Selection. This will only affect the parameter you have changed. But it requires HD or CPTK and isn't available as keyboard shortcut.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-11-2012, 08:33 AM
Drew Mazurek's Avatar
Drew Mazurek Drew Mazurek is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Maryland, USA
Posts: 11,570
Default Re: Automation, Plugin, write-to-all-enabled, but only for the currently targeted Plu

Preview Mode.
__________________
www.drewmazurek.com

Mixing and Mastering click here to get started.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-11-2012, 10:48 AM
joachim's Avatar
joachim joachim is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Germany, München
Posts: 1,663
Smile Re: Automation, Plugin, write-to-all-enabled, but only for the currently targeted Plu

Thanks for the Hint to "Preview Mode".
I did RTFM, but didn´t get the Point (Nonnative Reader). Will do.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Write Automation to All Enabled Parameters in PT9 with mBox, kirka.sainio Pro Tools 9 6 01-11-2013 04:13 AM
Targeted tempo automation? eplust macOS 2 10-15-2012 11:33 AM
Plugin Popping with automation enabled? rob shelby General Discussion 1 09-22-2006 04:52 PM
EQIII automation bug using write to all enabled Matt Chan Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 3 12-23-2005 03:33 PM
Write automation to all enabled parameters? MoviePhile 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 11-25-2003 08:54 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:53 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com