Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Post Production > Post - Surround - Video

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-01-2008, 08:47 AM
minister's Avatar
minister minister is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Posts: 4,820
Default Anyone else finding Speakerphone buggy?

PT HD|4 ACCELL, DIGI EXP CHASSIS HD, PT 7.3.1cs2, OS 10.4.9, PPC dual 2.5 Mac, Speakerphone 1.0.1

Sometimes when inserted on a tackm, the components won't allow for adjustment, even a simple bypass. crashing. Audiosuite not processing audio, giving a blank region. No auditioning....
__________________
Tom Hambleton CAS
Ministry of Fancy Noises
IMDb
Undertone on Facebook
Undertone Custom Sound Libraries

"Groupable markers would be epochal!"
-Starcrash
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-01-2008, 09:21 AM
Starcrash Starcrash is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Marin County, CA
Posts: 798
Default Re: Anyone else finding Speakerphone buggy?

No, I'm loving Speakerphone. I'm using it on my home LE 7.4 rig on a PPC Dual 1.8 OS X 10.4.10, though.

This is the coolest thing I've bought in a long time. For a futz, it can't be beat. I'm also using it as a guitar amp simulator for my music stuff. It sounds great and the amps they chose are mostly right up my alley (vintage Fender and Ampeg).

It was used extensively on a recent film that came through the Ranch and I didn't hear of any problems with bugginess.
__________________
Pascal Garneau | IMDb
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-01-2008, 09:26 AM
Frank Kruse Frank Kruse is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: old europe
Posts: 5,533
Default Re: Anyone else finding Speakerphone buggy?

I can´t really use it. Because of this:

http://www.audioease.com/cgi-bin/for...num=1196952230

It sounds great besides of this issue I´m having.

Frank.
__________________
PTHDn 2020.9 (OSX10.14.6), 8x8x8, MacPro 5,1 3.33Ghz 12-Core, BM DeckLink SDI, SYNC HD, all genlocked via AJA GEN10, 48GB RAM, Xilica Neutrino, Meyersound Acheron
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-01-2008, 01:38 PM
Branko's Avatar
Branko Branko is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 1999
Location: Lisbon, Portugal
Posts: 595
Default Re: Anyone else finding Speakerphone buggy?

I find SP very stable, although I'm not using it the way Frank described on Audio Ease forum. I rarely switch presets and only automate levels, EQ, room and compression. When I need different speaker, I open another instance on a different Aux. Most of my mixes do not need more than 3-4 different speaker emulators.
Branko
__________________
------------------------
Branko Neskov c.a.s.
www.loudness-films.pt
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-01-2008, 06:51 PM
RecRoom RecRoom is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: NC
Posts: 318
Default Re: Anyone else finding Speakerphone buggy?

I have noticed that it's automation seems a little slow and buggy, but otherwise, I love it.
__________________
Jeff Hinton
Editor/Mixer
http://www.jeffhinton.tv
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-01-2008, 07:06 PM
zseivers zseivers is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 11
Default Re: Anyone else finding Speakerphone buggy?

We're having major problems with it as well. At first I thought it might be an issue specific to our G5 based system but when I loaded it onto an almost identical system using intel processors it gave me the same problems. It literally randomly crashes and gives "main thread" and "assertion" errors. Sometimes it just crashes without a warning. I'm thinking it might be something to do with the sample bay? I don't remember having issues until I started using that specific part. Perhaps the next version update will eliminate these problems.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 02-01-2008, 10:04 PM
minister's Avatar
minister minister is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Posts: 4,820
Default Re: Anyone else finding Speakerphone buggy?

Quote:
We're having major problems with it as well. At first I thought it might be an issue specific to our G5 based system but when I loaded it onto an almost identical system using intel processors it gave me the same problems. It literally randomly crashes and gives "main thread" and "assertion" errors. Sometimes it just crashes without a warning. I'm thinking it might be something to do with the sample bay? I don't remember having issues until I started using that specific part. Perhaps the next version update will eliminate these problems.
I guess Pascal and Branko are smarter than we are... European names, perhaps? or something....

Not saying it isn't good, or usedful. just buggy. on MY system. And what he said above.

Hmm......
__________________
Tom Hambleton CAS
Ministry of Fancy Noises
IMDb
Undertone on Facebook
Undertone Custom Sound Libraries

"Groupable markers would be epochal!"
-Starcrash
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 02-01-2008, 10:31 PM
dr sound's Avatar
dr sound dr sound is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Burbank, CA
Posts: 2,151
Default Re: Anyone else finding Speakerphone buggy?

Minister,
I am having the same problems you are. I have gotten some great sounds out of it, but I have to print the track because the automation will not replay what was automated. I met with Audioease at the NAMM show a couple of weeks ago and they were very interested in the problems and are willing to look into them. Unfortunetly I am SLAMMED at the moment so I haven't been able to send them a session to research. Give me a call Minister and i'll give you my contact info for them.
__________________
Marti D. Humphrey CAS
aka dr.sound
www.thedubstage.com
IMDB http://www.imdb.com/name/nm0401937/
Like everything in life, there are no guarantees just opportunities.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 02-02-2008, 09:32 AM
Branko's Avatar
Branko Branko is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 1999
Location: Lisbon, Portugal
Posts: 595
Default Re: Anyone else finding Speakerphone buggy?

Quote:
I guess Pascal and Branko are smarter than we are... European names, perhaps? or something....
In my case, it is definitely the fact of being closer to the source, I guess. But then - I cannot explain why Frank is experiencing problems. Maybe he is too close...
__________________
------------------------
Branko Neskov c.a.s.
www.loudness-films.pt
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 02-13-2008, 12:19 PM
Stephen Webster Stephen Webster is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Cape Town, South Africa
Posts: 110
Default Re: Anyone else finding Speakerphone buggy?

The only issue i am having (intermittently) is when the SP plug window is open... PT cant playback video through my canopus ADVC... "cant find firewire DV device..."

Anyone??????

S
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Speakerphone V2 out ! Aquarius Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 13 04-23-2009 03:33 AM
PT8 & Speakerphone Studio Studio Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 3 01-16-2009 07:35 AM
speakerphone... usd Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 15 02-12-2008 11:44 AM
Speakerphone JSR Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 2 07-20-2006 02:38 PM
iTunes 4 and Mbox are still a bit buggy (or I'm I buggy) Pat Thrall 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 4 05-24-2003 12:01 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:48 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com