Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-27-2004, 07:29 AM
marcoustic marcoustic is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Mainz, Germany
Posts: 482
Default New PlugIn Manager strange ?!

Hi there!

I find the new PlugIn manager to act strange in some way:
i.e. Why is the t-racks EQ shown in the "other" category instead of the "eq" category???

Is there any way of putting the PlugIns manually in the right category?

Cheers

Markus
__________________
www.marcousticaudio.de
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-28-2004, 03:11 AM
marcoustic marcoustic is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Mainz, Germany
Posts: 482
Default Re: New PlugIn Manager strange ?!

Anybody?
Perhaps Digi?
__________________
www.marcousticaudio.de
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-28-2004, 08:28 AM
jlcnyc jlcnyc is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: hell's kitchen
Posts: 687
Default Re: New PlugIn Manager strange ?!

I haven't tried moving the plugs around yet....however I do remember a thread on this topic. I think the answer was that you cannot move them between folders, but you can make a plug a "favorite " and move it outside of a folder.try searching the duc.
__________________
www.jeffreyleecampbell.com
Mac Pro 2.8 GHz Quad
16GB RAM
Apogee Rosetta 200/ UA LA-610
Genelec 8030A/7050b
McDSP, Waves, Sony, URS, Spectrasonics, BFD, Altiverb
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-28-2004, 08:31 AM
Super Seven Super Seven is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Cabin in the Woods
Posts: 233
Default Re: New PlugIn Manager strange ?!

I find this so sad.....I like the idea of a plug-in manager...but this is PROOF DIGI spent NO time beta testing this feature as this would have been noticed on the first use of 6.4.
__________________
| AMD 64 3800+ | 2.5GB RAM | 200GB SATA | 80GB FW | 256MB Video | Dual 19" LCDs | XP SP2 | PTLE 7.0cs4 |
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-28-2004, 09:07 AM
losttimestudios losttimestudios is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Chicago
Posts: 262
Default Re: New PlugIn Manager strange ?!

Have the same problem. My Altiverb is not in the Reverb folder. My SansAmp is in a Harmonic file while Amplitube is in an other file. I would be nice if you could organize the plugin menu yourself.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-28-2004, 09:33 AM
dkrz dkrz is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: NYC area (USA)
Posts: 1,046
Default Re: New PlugIn Manager strange ?!

According to the documentation, the plugins are categorized by the manufacturers description . So for example, an “Impulse response room emulation thermal sensing kitchen sink delouser” would not fall under a “reverb” category. Strange, but what can you do...?

You can of course set any plugin to appear “un-nested” at the top of the list by using the Favorites Function.

dk
__________________
www.dpksound.com
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 04-28-2004, 09:40 AM
Super Seven Super Seven is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Cabin in the Woods
Posts: 233
Default Re: New PlugIn Manager strange ?!

Quote:
You can of course set any plugin to appear “un-nested” at the top of the list by using the Favorites Function.

dk
But then you'd just be back to where you were b4 plugin management. The idea is great...but flawed.
__________________
| AMD 64 3800+ | 2.5GB RAM | 200GB SATA | 80GB FW | 256MB Video | Dual 19" LCDs | XP SP2 | PTLE 7.0cs4 |
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 04-28-2004, 09:42 AM
marcoustic marcoustic is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Mainz, Germany
Posts: 482
Default Re: New PlugIn Manager strange ?!

...very sad.

Digi, how about fixing that???
Just leave us the option to categorize the plugins by ourselves. That would be nice.

Greets

Markus
__________________
www.marcousticaudio.de
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 04-28-2004, 10:05 AM
sdemott sdemott is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 242
Default Re: New PlugIn Manager strange ?!

I see this as a plug-in issue. When the manufacturers take the time to properly register their plugs, then this will be great. It's a lot like plug-in delay/latency on PTLE. Most plugs don't bother registering anything because the manufacturers only added that to their TDM/HD versions.

I really don't blame Digi for this. They make available their SDKs and documentation for potential plug-in developers, but it's up to the individual developers to fully support them.
__________________
Steve

Always err on the side of perfection.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 04-28-2004, 10:12 AM
Chris Cavell Chris Cavell is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Louisiana, USA
Posts: 4,831
Default Re: New PlugIn Manager strange ?!

If it REALLY bugs you, you can always go back to a previous version of PT and use the free plugin organizer from Trillian Lane Labs...fauxlder I think.
__________________
Cavell Studios
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
A strange request plugin? xy44 AAX Plug-ins 17 02-16-2014 11:33 AM
PT Plugin Manager matmi Post - Surround - Video 2 02-13-2008 07:44 PM
Plugin Manager inkoma 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 3 02-10-2008 06:31 PM
Strange Plugin view problem ufostraker 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 9 01-23-2008 01:03 AM
Plugin Presets--strange occurances Ludicrous Speed 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 06-23-2004 06:35 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:15 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com