Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools 2020

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #11  
Old 05-09-2020, 05:11 AM
WaterRat WaterRat is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2020
Location: London
Posts: 14
Default Re: Pro Tools 2020 on an upgraded 4,1 Mac Pro worth the upgrade?

Hi
Although my main rig is HDX running on a PC (HP Z800) , I do have several cMPs running logic and ProTools and in my experience the 4.1/5.1 cMP s are more than capable of keeping up with the latest machines.
Unfortunately they are slightly limited by only having SATA II so even if you put a SATA SSD in you do not get the full benefit
One way round this is to use a M2 SSD as the boot disk (mounted in a PCIe adapter).
These are at least three times as fast as the fastest SATA III SSD.
This was introduced from Hi- Sierra but had to be an AHCI one (NOT NVMe) plus it was a bit fussy about the type. The Samsung SM951 was a good choice as an Apple branded one was based on this model and is the one I’ve used.
As far as I know Mojave introduced support for booting from NVMe which can be twice as fast again but I haven’t tried this.
Worth Noting that if you install a Non-Apple SSD weather it be SATA or M2 you must go into the settings and force “Trim Enable” (Google it there are lots of instructions out there) otherwise you will shorten the life of the SSD.
USB3 is another thing that you probably want to add if you haven’t already and again MACs are very fussy about what cards work but the SONNET one seems good.

Graphic cards are also an issue when upgrading past Hi Sierra, as they need to be Metal capable, but as you say it looks like the RX 580 is the one to go for but unless you buy a modified one from someone like Mac video cards then you won’t get the boot screen.

I have actually got one of my cMPs running Catalina although Apple have tried to block the cMP from running even though it’s quite capable
This was all thanks to dosdude1 (www.dosdude1.com) There can also be issues with losing support for the Wi-Fi Card when upgrading as Apple remove drivers for the older versions each time they upgrade the OS and dosdude can help with that as well

Bottom Line: I can see me using my cMPs for many years and I think they are well worth investing in.
All the best and stay well
Kim
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 05-09-2020, 05:59 AM
K Roche's Avatar
K Roche K Roche is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Wilds of Wyoming
Posts: 1,055
Default Re: Pro Tools 2020 on an upgraded 4,1 Mac Pro worth the upgrade?

My system below an upgraded 5.1, so far works great with 2020.3 on the last Mojave 10.14.6 version. I am going to stay where I am at and see it I can get another 2-4 years
__________________
System :
Avid HD Omni I/O Interface ...Mid 2010 Mac Pro/ processor- 3.33 6-core Intel Xeon "Westmere" w/ Memory- 24 GB, Radeon Pulse RX 580 8GB GDDR5 Dual HDMI Graphics Card..... OS- Mojave 10.14.6, and PTHDN 2020.5 on on primary boot drive (SSD PCIe 512 GB Samsung SM951) FCPX files storage on Samsung 970 EVO 1TB and PT sessions storage on 2nd Samsung 970 EVO 1 TB -- both in dual drive Crest I/O PCIE controller adaptor card


"Peace cannot be kept by force. It can only be achieved by understanding" Albert Einstein

Enjoy the Journey
.... Kev...
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 05-10-2020, 10:59 AM
tbone63 tbone63 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Columbus, Ohio
Posts: 10
Default Re: Pro Tools 2020 on an upgraded 4,1 Mac Pro worth the upgrade?

Well I must say, much thanks to all the kind and detailed responses and truly helpful information. I'm quite encouraged to now muster the downtime (isn't that always the real challenge?) to follow the paths and advice you've laid before me. Gratitude and wellness and creativity to all you folks in these strange times.

Cheers

Tom Boyer GBSRecords.com

==========

Beyond those blustery lands of "I am right" and "you are wrong," there is a field. I will meet you there. -Rumi
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 05-10-2020, 12:40 PM
off the wall's Avatar
off the wall off the wall is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: NYC-NJ
Posts: 259
Default Re: Pro Tools 2020 on an upgraded 4,1 Mac Pro worth the upgrade?

I run PT 2020.3 on Mojave 10.14.6 on the Upgraded 5,1 System in my sig. No issues even with large 5.1 surround mixes.
__________________
offthewallproductions
Mac Pro 5,1 3.46 Ghz 12 core, AMD 7970 GPU, SSD boot drive on 6Gb/sec PCIe card, 64GB RAM, MacOS 10.14.6.
Pro Tools Ultimate 2020.5. HDX, UA Octo PCIe cards, HD I/O, C|24 control surface.
Mostly Avid, Waves, Sonnex and UAD Plug-ins
Genelec 1031AP/7070A 5.1 monitoring.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Cheapest way to upgrade PT HD 11 to pro tools ultimate 2020? protoolsuserman Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 25 04-20-2020 03:12 PM
Pro Tools (2020.3) on MacBook Air 2020 compatibility pellekuipers Pro Tools 2020 1 04-04-2020 08:01 AM
Pro tools 7.1 upgrade to 8, worth it? delgado 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 16 06-08-2009 09:27 PM
is it worth it to upgrade right now to pro tools??? sonny7 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 11-16-2007 04:26 PM
XP, is it worth the upgrade with Pro Tools? pierbranchstudio 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 19 01-24-2003 10:57 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:52 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com