Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools 2020

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #21  
Old 11-25-2020, 11:44 AM
Tziolas Tziolas is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Indianapolis
Posts: 11
Default Re: Big Sur

Email from Waves this AM


"We are happy to announce that all Waves V12 plugins and Waves V11 applications (eMotion LV1, SuperRack, SoundGrid Studio, StudioRack, SoundGrid Driver) are now officially supported on macOS Big Sur 11.0.1 on Intel-based Mac computers.

New Macs with Apple M1 (ARM-based) processors are not yet officially supported.

IMPORTANT: Please note that many DAWs do not yet support macOS Big Sur. Please refer to your DAW’s website to check if this is the right time for you to update your OS.

Haven't updated your plugins to V12 yet? Learn how to update to V12 here.

As always, we recommend referring to our System Requirements and Supported hosts pages before any system updates/upgrades.

All best,

The Waves Team"
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 11-25-2020, 05:22 PM
jwilkers jwilkers is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Louisville, KY.
Posts: 185
Default Re: Big Sur

Quote:
Originally Posted by Obsidian Dragon View Post
Hmm. That two people saying Waves works with Big Sur.
By the way, I'm on Waves 11 not 12.

Ran more tests today. Still no issues that I have found.
__________________
Vicki Barnes

2018 MAC Mini i7 64 gb
Profire 2626
Presonus Studio 192
Presonus DP88
Pro Tools 2020.11
Big Sur.
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 11-26-2020, 11:40 AM
itsjustmeee123 itsjustmeee123 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: california
Posts: 83
Default Re: Big Sur

I got an email from Waves tech support telling me that "Waves products are not supported to run with an OS installed NOT on the main drive. They suspect that might be issue".
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 11-27-2020, 11:03 AM
reflexson reflexson is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Houston Tx
Posts: 53
Default Re: Big Sur

Alright, this was odd. I was installing Komplete and found that I needed to remove reaktor 5 from my plugin folder before reaktor 6 would be recognized as a legit aax plugin. Just removed 5, reinstalled 6 and all is well. Oddly enough, 5 worked but wouldnt authorize. Everything else from ni seems to work well. Just about have all my plugins reinstalled. I now remember why I had been avoiding a clean install for this long.
__________________
Paul Cox
www.226recordings.com
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 11-27-2020, 01:17 PM
itsjustmeee123 itsjustmeee123 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: california
Posts: 83
Default Re: Big Sur

I was hoping to install Big Sur on a backup drive and keep Catalina on my main drive just so I could test drive it and switch back if needed but support at Waves is right, you can't run any of their plugins off of an external drive so I'll have to make that jump like some of you did and install it on my internal drive. Not 100% sure yet but I'm leaning towards it.
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old 11-27-2020, 04:14 PM
Obsidian Dragon Obsidian Dragon is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 3,887
Default Re: Big Sur

Quote:
Originally Posted by itsjustmeee123 View Post
I was hoping to install Big Sur on a backup drive and keep Catalina on my main drive just so I could test drive it and switch back if needed but support at Waves is right, you can't run any of their plugins off of an external drive so I'll have to make that jump like some of you did and install it on my internal drive. Not 100% sure yet but I'm leaning towards it.
If you make your backup drive your boot drive, does that make it your "main" drive?" I thought that as long as the boot drive has the operating system, it acts as the primary drive (main drive). Hence if you have waves installed on that boot drive, it "should" work properly. Again I don't have waves so I can't verify this.

It sounds like you still boot from your Catalina internal drive but load Big Sur from the backup drive. On a Mac, you can switch which drive it boots to and therefore enable it to boot to different operating system version based on which drive it boots from. I'm not sure if this is clear but you might try making your backup drive a bootable Big Sur drive and install Protools 2020.11 and Waves on there (never touching your Catalina drive if you don't want to)
__________________
Obsidian Dragon
Model Name: MacBook Pro
Model Identifier: MacBookPro14,3
Processor Name: Intel Core i7
Processor Speed: 3.1 GHz
Number of Processors: 1
Total Number of Cores: 4
L2 Cache (per Core): 256 KB
L3 Cache: 8 MB
Memory: 16 GB
MacOS 10.15.7 running Protools 2020.12
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old 11-27-2020, 07:13 PM
itsjustmeee123 itsjustmeee123 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: california
Posts: 83
Default Re: Big Sur

Quote:
Originally Posted by Obsidian Dragon View Post
If you make your backup drive your boot drive, does that make it your "main" drive?" I thought that as long as the boot drive has the operating system, it acts as the primary drive (main drive). Hence if you have waves installed on that boot drive, it "should" work properly. Again I don't have waves so I can't verify this.

It sounds like you still boot from your Catalina internal drive but load Big Sur from the backup drive. On a Mac, you can switch which drive it boots to and therefore enable it to boot to different operating system version based on which drive it boots from. I'm not sure if this is clear but you might try making your backup drive a bootable Big Sur drive and install Protools 2020.11 and Waves on there (never touching your Catalina drive if you don't want to)
About the only thing I haven’t tried is to go into the system preferences and make my external back up drive be my boot up drive, although I would think that holding down the option key and selecting my back up drive would basically do the same thing since it’s booting fresh off of that drive. My back up drive clones my main internal drive every night so they’re identical. Waves works fine when I booted off the internal drive but will not with an external. The tech-support guy at waves basically told me that waves wouldn’t work that way. I honestly don’t see how it would know which drive since they are identical but who knows.
Reply With Quote
  #28  
Old 01-10-2021, 01:08 PM
reflexson reflexson is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Houston Tx
Posts: 53
Default Re: Big Sur

Ok. So I’ve been running Big Sur for a while and came across 2 things.

1. I can’t make new folders from any pro tools dialog box like bounce to disk or new session.

2. Can’t save plug-in presets in the root plugins folder. Had to change this pref and move the root to another drive. Then everything was working.

I guess both of these have to do with the way Big Sur locks the boot volume and requires apps to obtain permission for accessing discs. The folder thing is annoying, but making the save folder in the finder before bouncing isn’t a huge deal. Everything else has been working well and I’ve been mixing away hassle free.
__________________
Paul Cox
www.226recordings.com

Last edited by reflexson; 01-10-2021 at 02:24 PM.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:02 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com