Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  ē  Community Terms of Use  ē  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  ē  Community Search  ē  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools 2020

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-22-2020, 04:16 PM
reflexson reflexson is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Houston Tx
Posts: 53
Default Big Sur

So I was bored and decided to grab another ssd and give Big Sur a shot(havenít upgraded since Sierra). To my amazement, everything frickin works. Pro tools 2020.11, fab filter, acoustica, sound toys, trigger, arturia, and everything else Iíve tried just works, and well. My hd native card works. Even my old blue dcommand. What am I missing here? The internet has told me over and over what a bad idea this is. Actually seeing a slight decrease of cpu usage from the same sessions in Sierra.
__________________
Paul Cox
www.226recordings.com
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-22-2020, 11:14 PM
falcowe's Avatar
falcowe falcowe is online now
Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: United States Nashville, TN
Posts: 81
Default Re: Big Sur

That sounds like a freakin' miracle. How stable is it? I would be hesitant to do any serious work on that. But sounds like fun... assuming you like your desktop os to have silly sliders meant for touch devices :0.
__________________
MacPro 7,1 (sigh) 16-core, 128GB ram, W5700X GPU, RME UFX+, PT 2020.11U.
Artist Mix, S1, and PT|Dock.
And too many VIs and VEPro machines.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-23-2020, 12:32 AM
thoughtrecorder thoughtrecorder is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2020
Location: SoCal
Posts: 2
Default Re: Big Sur

I took it a step further and installed Pro tools and all of my normal plugins on a new MacBook Pro M1 and to my amazement I was able to mix an entire 19 track session with 8 aux buses without any issues at all. Iíve got Waves plugins, Antares AutoTune, Melodyne and Ozone 9 running as good as Iíve ever seen it. To top it off on my other Mac when exporting audio it went at about 2x with an offline bounce and now Iím seeing 3x...also when bouncing from my 15Ē MBP it would get so hot I couldnít even touch the bottom...this new M1 hardly gets warm.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-23-2020, 03:00 AM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 14,732
Default Re: Big Sur

I'm curious on the M1 Mac when you create a new track is the track name text in the new track dialog properly visible?

On Big Sur on a 2019 MBP 15" with 2020.11 only the upper part of the name text renders properly in the new track dialog. That's the only issued I've found running 2020.11 on Big Sur.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-23-2020, 09:04 AM
reflexson reflexson is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Houston Tx
Posts: 53
Default Re: Big Sur

Quote:
Originally Posted by falcowe View Post
That sounds like a freakin' miracle. How stable is it? I would be hesitant to do any serious work on that. But sounds like fun... assuming you like your desktop os to have silly sliders meant for touch devices :0.
Itís been stable so far. No crashes. Iíve been mixing like normal. Havenít gone back to my Sierra drive yet. Dark mode for pro tools is barf, but everything has been surprisingly stable.
__________________
Paul Cox
www.226recordings.com
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11-23-2020, 10:39 AM
itsjustmeee123 itsjustmeee123 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: california
Posts: 83
Default Re: Big Sur

This is interesting. I may try it on a backup drive myself and see what happens.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 11-23-2020, 11:26 AM
lancemcv lancemcv is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Rockland County, NY
Posts: 510
Default Re: Big Sur

I installed on my Mac Pro 5,1 on a separate SSD, installed without issue but can’t install Eucon. Seems to run fine so far.
Get a warning about QuickTime import and bouncing though have not tried it yet.
__________________
Pro Tools Ultimate 20.11
opencore 0.6.3
Mac OS Catalina 10.15.6
Mac Pro 2009 upgraded to 5,1 12 core 3.33ghz
GPU RX5700XT, Samsung SM951 M.2 PCIe SSD (AHCI model) pcie boot drive, Sonnet usb 3.1 card
Midas M32r console. iPad Pro with Avid Control

Last edited by lancemcv; 11-23-2020 at 12:18 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 11-23-2020, 12:41 PM
thoughtrecorder thoughtrecorder is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2020
Location: SoCal
Posts: 2
Default Re: Big Sur

Quote:
Originally Posted by Darryl Ramm View Post
I'm curious on the M1 Mac when you create a new track is the track name text in the new track dialog properly visible?

On Big Sur on a 2019 MBP 15" with 2020.11 only the upper part of the name text renders properly in the new track dialog. That's the only issued I've found running 2020.11 on Big Sur.
No it appears fine
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Screen Shot 2020-11-23 at 11.37.58 AM.jpg (39.5 KB, 0 views)
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 11-23-2020, 04:49 PM
itsjustmeee123 itsjustmeee123 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: california
Posts: 83
Default Re: Big Sur

Quote:
Originally Posted by lancemcv View Post
I installed on my Mac Pro 5,1 on a separate SSD, installed without issue but canít install Eucon. Seems to run fine so far.
Get a warning about QuickTime import and bouncing though have not tried it yet.
Did you update to EUCON 2020.11? From what I've read in another post here, it's compatible.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 11-24-2020, 11:03 AM
zoff zoff is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 187
Default Re: Big Sur

Quote:
Originally Posted by Darryl Ramm View Post
I'm curious on the M1 Mac when you create a new track is the track name text in the new track dialog properly visible?

On Big Sur on a 2019 MBP 15" with 2020.11 only the upper part of the name text renders properly in the new track dialog. That's the only issued I've found running 2020.11 on Big Sur.
I have a 2019 MBP 16"and I don't have the text render problem.
__________________
macOS Big Sur
Intel Core i9 MacBook Pro 16-inch, 2019
32 GB RAM
Pro Tools 2020.11
RME Babyface Pro
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:50 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com