Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 12

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-26-2020, 04:17 AM
kevo.colmanbertoni kevo.colmanbertoni is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2020
Location: Argentina
Posts: 4
Default Pro Tools 12 - Slow response

Hello how are you? I'm new to the forum so I send you a big hug.

I recently went from Mac to PC (Windows 10 Pro). I always worked with Pro tools 10.3.10 and now I move to 12.5.

I am having problems with peaks of 100% use of my cpu and also with slow responses when using clip gain or moving groups of tracks.

I work in sound editing for cinema so my sessions usually have at least 50 audio tracks and 10 aux added to a running video.

I am wondering if the problem may be my new i5 10400 2.9 Ghz processor.

My computer:
I5 10400
Avid Mbox Pro 3 for Pro Tools and Zoom F4 for Windows
Saphire Radeon Rx 570
32 Gb Corsair 3000 Mhz
Kingston SSD 480 for Os and two kingston SSD 120 for audio and video.


SiSoftware Sandra

Identifier
Host name: DESKTOP-4GA8COD
Workgroup: WORKGROUP

System
Model: MSI MS-7C82 Default string
Serial number: Default *******
System Chassis: MSI Desktop
Main board: MSI MAG B460M MORTAR WIFI (MS-7C82)
Serial number: K6162 *****
System BIOS - AMI (OEM) 1.10 05/18/2020
Intel vPro: 14.5.12.1111
Total memory: 32GB DIMM DDR4

Processors
Processor: Intel (R) Core (TM) i5-10400 CPU @ 2.90GHz (6C 2.9GHz / 4.3GHz, 2.6GHz / 4.3GHz IMC, 6x 256kB L2, 12MB L3)
Socket / Slot: FC LGA1200

Chip set
Memory Controller: MSI Core10S (Cometlake-S 6C) Host Bridge / DRAM Registers 100MHz, 2x 16GB DIMM DDR4 2.67GHz 128-bit

Memory module (s)
Memory module: AMI CMK16GX4M1B3000C15 16GB DIMM DDR4 PC4-21300U DDR4-2666
Memory module: AMI CMK16GX4M1B3000C15 16GB DIMM DDR4 PC4-21300U DDR4-2666

Video system
Monitor: Samsung S24F350
(1920x1080, 23.5 ")
Monitor: Hewlett Packard HP L1740
(1600x1200, 16.8 ")
Monitor: PHILIPS FTV
(1600x1200, 31.5 ")
Video adapter: Radeon RX 570 Series (2304S 32C SM6.5 1.14GHz / 2GHz, 4GB DDR5 7GHz / 9GHz 192-bit, PCIe 3.0 x16)
Video adapter: Radeon RX 570 Series (2304S 32C SM6.5 1.13GHz / 2GHz, 4GB DDR5 7GHz / 9GHz 192-bit, PCIe 3.0 x16)
Video adapter: Radeon RX 570 Series (2304S 32C SM6.5 1.13GHz / 2GHz, 4GB DDR5 7GHz / 9GHz 192-bit, PCIe 3.0 x16)

Graphics processor
OpenCL: Radeon RX 570 Series (2048S 32C SM2.0 927MHz / 1.27GHz, 4GB DDR5 7GHz / 9GHz 256-bit)
D3D 11: Radeon RX 570 Series (2304S 32C SM12.0 640MHz / 1.27GHz, 4GB DDR5 7GHz / 9GHz 192-bit)
OpenGL: Radeon RX 570 Series (2304S 32C SM4.60 966MHz / 1.27GHz, 4GB DDR5 7GHz / 9GHz 192-bit)
OpenGL: Radeon RX 570 Series (2304S 32C SM4.60 966MHz / 1.27GHz, 4GB DDR5 7GHz / 9GHz 192-bit)
OpenGL: Radeon RX 570 Series (2304S 32C SM4.60 966MHz / 1.27GHz, 4GB DDR5 7GHz / 9GHz 192-bit)

Physical storage devices
Disk: KINGSTON SA400S37120G (120GB, SATA600, SSD)
Disk: KINGSTON SA400S37480G (480.1GB, SATA600, SSD)
Disk: WDC WD10EZEX-75M2NA0 (1TB, SATA600, 3.5 ", 7200rpm)
Disk: KINGSTON SV300S37A120G (120GB, SATA600, SSD)
Disk: WDC WD1003FZEX-00MK2A0 (1TB, SATA600, 3.5 ", 7200rpm)
Drive: Seagate ST4000LM024-2AN17V (4TB, USB3 / SATA600, 2.5 ", 5526rpm, SED)

Logical storage devices
Hard Drive (E :): N / A
Hard Drive (C :): 447GB (NTFS, 4kB) @ KINGSTON SA400S37480G (480.1GB, SATA600, SSD)
BLUE (F :): 932GB (NTFS, 4kB) @ WDC WD10EZEX-75M2NA0 (1TB, SATA600, 3.5 ", 7200rpm)
VIDEO (G :): 111GB ​​(NTFS, 4kB) @ KINGSTON SV300S37A120G (120GB, SATA600, SSD)
Hard Drive: 505MB (NTFS, 4kB) @ KINGSTON SV300S37A120G (120GB, SATA600, SSD)
BLACK (D :): 932GB (NTFS, 4kB) @ WDC WD1003FZEX-00MK2A0 (1TB, SATA600, 3.5 ", 7200rpm)
LIBRARIES (I :): 4TB (NTFS, 4kB) @ Seagate ST4000LM024-2AN17V (4TB, USB3 / SATA600, 2.5 ", 5526rpm, SED)
Hard Drive: 96MB (FAT32, 1kB) @ KINGSTON SA400S37480G (480.1GB, SATA600, SSD)
Hard Drive: 96MB (FAT32, 1kB) @ KINGSTON SV300S37A120G (120GB, SATA600, SSD)
EFI: 197MB (FAT32, 512bytes) @ Seagate ST4000LM024-2AN17V (4TB, USB3 / SATA600, 2.5 ", 5526rpm, SED)

Peripherals
LPC 1 Hub Controller: MSI Intel (R) LPC Controller (B460) - A3C8
Audio device: ASRock Ellesmere [Radeon RX 580]
Disk Controller: MSI 400 Series Chipset Family SATA AHCI Controller
Disk Controller: MSI Intel (R) PMC - A3A1
USB Controller 1: MSI Intel (R) USB 3.0 eXtensible Host Controller - 1.0 (Microsoft)

Biometrics
Voice: Analog NUI Voice Virtual Sensor (Voice)

Peripherals
Media player: Seagate Expansion (3.64TB)

Network services
Network adapter: Bluetooth Device (Personal Area Network) (Ethernet)
Wireless WiFi Adapter: Intel (R) Wi-Fi 6 AX200 160MHz (802.11n (HT), AES-CCMP, 115.6Mbps / 130Mbps)

Operating systems)
Windows system: Microsoft Windows 10 Professional 10.0.19042
Platform compliance: x64

Performance improvement suggestions
Warning 2513: TPM not detected. Some security capabilities are not available.
Tip 2: Double-click the tip or press Enter while a tip is selected to get more information about the tip.

THANKS!

Last edited by kevo.colmanbertoni; 11-26-2020 at 03:55 PM. Reason: More information
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-26-2020, 10:21 AM
The Weed's Avatar
The Weed The Weed is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 6,508
Default Re: Pro Tools 12 - Slow response

What optimizations have you done? Have a look here.

Also search the Forum for "Processor Affinity".

An i5 could be considered "light", but if it's the "F" iteration, it has 6 cores.
__________________
Take your projects to the next level with a
non-union national read at a reasonable rate
Demos: brucehayward dot com
Source-Connect: brucehayward
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-26-2020, 01:13 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 36,171
Default Re: Pro Tools 12 - Slow response

A few more things to consider:
1-post a Sandra report(see the Help Us Help You link above)
2-Windows 10?
3-if you have a CD/DVD drive, make sure there is no disk in the drive.
4-with intel CPU's, is it possible that an nVidia graphics card would be a better choice(I'm not sure)?
5-a pair of 120GB drives for audio and video seems way small(to me). How much free space on each of those drives? Over 80% full might cause some slowdown.
6-It sounds like you need a pretty potent machine, so I tend to agree with The Weed on the i5 maybe being over-taxed(assume you already pushed the playback buffer as high as it goes?)
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, Presonus Studio 1810C
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


I started in this business with nothing..........and I have most of it left

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-26-2020, 03:57 PM
kevo.colmanbertoni kevo.colmanbertoni is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2020
Location: Argentina
Posts: 4
Default Re: Pro Tools 12 - Slow response

Quote:
Originally Posted by The Weed View Post
What optimizations have you done? Have a look here.

Also search the Forum for "Processor Affinity".

An i5 could be considered "light", but if it's the "F" iteration, it has 6 cores.
Hello! Thank you very much for the reply.

I already made all the recommendations you indicated and not much has changed.

Other information that is important is that you deactivate the Turbo Boost and the hyperthreaded. And I usually work with three image monitors at the same time, although the video card is not the problem.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-26-2020, 04:01 PM
kevo.colmanbertoni kevo.colmanbertoni is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2020
Location: Argentina
Posts: 4
Default Re: Pro Tools 12 - Slow response

Quote:
Originally Posted by albee1952 View Post
A few more things to consider:
1-post a Sandra report(see the Help Us Help You link above)
2-Windows 10?
3-if you have a CD/DVD drive, make sure there is no disk in the drive.
4-with intel CPU's, is it possible that an nVidia graphics card would be a better choice(I'm not sure)?
5-a pair of 120GB drives for audio and video seems way small(to me). How much free space on each of those drives? Over 80% full might cause some slowdown.
6-It sounds like you need a pretty potent machine, so I tend to agree with The Weed on the i5 maybe being over-taxed(assume you already pushed the playback buffer as high as it goes?)
1 - Thank you very much I just posted a report from Sandra.
2 - Windows 10 Pro.
3 - I don't have Cd drive.
4 - Radeon Graphics runs good!
5 - I only use it for the session I am using, it is usually free more than half of its space. I have other discs for data.
6 - Do you think that the change from an i5 10400 to an i7 10700k would solve the fluidity of work within heavy sessions?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Slow response after scrub GS-DK Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 1 02-29-2012 03:28 AM
slow response tonwurm Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 12 12-18-2008 06:56 PM
Slow response. Help please! rodrigo21 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 6 11-04-2005 12:04 PM
slow menu response euphjazz 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 4 08-22-2004 10:28 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:39 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com