Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Mixing > Artist Series

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-30-2020, 09:03 AM
skylinepro skylinepro is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 1999
Location: South Orange, NJ
Posts: 10
Default Artist Mix + New MacPro - Failure To Communicate

I have been using the Artist Mix with a 2013 trash can Mac (2013 - 10.14.6 OS X) with the latest software and firmware successfully (EuControl 20.6.1.3). I'm now upgrading to the 2019 MacPro with 10.15.5 Catalina. Using the same version of Eucontrol software, the same cabling plugged into Ethernet Port 1, and the same version of ProTools 2020.5, the Artist Mix is not recognized in the EuControl Setup window. In System Preferences, I set up a static IP address for Ethernet 1 that matched the static address I set for the Artist Mix - 192.168.77.77. The network tab in system preferences shows green as the Mac and Artist Mix are fully communicating, but the Eucontrol Setting fail to list it. FYI, I initially used DHCP for network protocol, but only got a yellow indicator, which is why I switched to manual address. I have the Eucon set at Ethernet 1 in the System Prefs tab. I'm doing everything correctly, yet there is something blocking the connection. This appears to be a bleeding edge bug. Murphy's second law is the more complex the system, the greater the chance of failure. I've always said you can tell the pioneers by the arrows in the backs. Any ideas folks?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-30-2020, 10:51 PM
Frank Kruse Frank Kruse is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: old europe
Posts: 5,521
Default Re: Artist Mix + New MacPro - Failure To Communicate

Quote:
Originally Posted by skylinepro View Post
I set up a static IP address for Ethernet 1 that matched the static address I set for the Artist Mix - 192.168.77.77.
The addresses can't match, they have to be unique but in the same range, so if your mac is 192.168.77.77 your artist should be 192.168.77.x with x=anything *BUT* 77. The subnet mask should however match (255.255.255.0 for example).

Just as an example:

Mac 10.0.0.1
ArtistMix: 10.0.0.2
ArtistControl: 10.0.0.3
__________________
PTHDn 2020.9 (OSX10.14.6), 8x8x8, MacPro 5,1 3.33Ghz 12-Core, BM DeckLink SDI, SYNC HD, all genlocked via AJA GEN10, 48GB RAM, Xilica Neutrino, Meyersound Acheron
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-31-2020, 09:52 AM
skylinepro skylinepro is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 1999
Location: South Orange, NJ
Posts: 10
Default Re: Artist Mix + New MacPro - Failure To Communicate

Thanks for the tip, Frank. I reset the IP address so they don't match and the subnet mask so they do match. I got a green indicator on the network pref page. I then uninstalled, reinstalled, and restarted the Mac and EuControl app. I even removed the Euphonics prefs from the Library, which is another recommended fix. The problem persists.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-01-2020, 01:52 AM
robertg robertg is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: earth
Posts: 555
Default Re: Artist Mix + New MacPro - Failure To Communicate

You're just creating unnecessary headaches for yourself, why not just put the device on the same local network with everything else? It will get an IP address automatically from your router/firewall.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-01-2020, 03:47 AM
Southsidemusic's Avatar
Southsidemusic Southsidemusic is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Stockholm - Sweden
Posts: 12,996
Default Re: Artist Mix + New MacPro - Failure To Communicate

Of course you did this already but we had the eucon checkbox go deactivated several times and it does also reset when trashing prefs.

Check the peripherals and that eucon is enabled there. Atleast we know that is not the issue then.
__________________
Best Regards
Christopher

—————————————
South Side Music Group
WEBHOME
—————————————
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 09-01-2020, 09:59 AM
EddieJones's Avatar
EddieJones EddieJones is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Santa Cruz
Posts: 2,784
Default Re: Artist Mix + New MacPro - Failure To Communicate

Set the Mac to DHCP and the Mix back to DHCP if you are using a single cable between them and nothing in between. Remember every time you change anything network wise you need to power cycle everything. Once you have done that do you get Avid logos or rectangles on the Mix displays.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 09-02-2020, 02:00 PM
skylinepro skylinepro is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 1999
Location: South Orange, NJ
Posts: 10
Default Re: Artist Mix + New MacPro - Failure To Communicate

Thanks for the suggestions. I've returned all the network settings to DHCP. It only brought me back to where I started - no luck. I then connected the Artist Mix back to my old MacPro with 10.14.6 OS X and it ran fine. But using the EXACT same network settings and connections on the New MacPro (2019) with 10.15.5 OS X, Eucontrol never sees the Artist Mix in the setup window.. I know both Ethernet ports work on the New Mac Pro. It is something in the new OS that is preventing the connection. IOW, there is a bug. Is anyone using Artist Mix with 10.15.5 currently?
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 09-02-2020, 02:03 PM
skylinepro skylinepro is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 1999
Location: South Orange, NJ
Posts: 10
Default Re: Artist Mix + New MacPro - Failure To Communicate

FYI, I have installed, uninstalled, and reinstalled the EuControl app several times, including emptying the prefs. Same results.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 09-02-2020, 04:38 PM
EddieJones's Avatar
EddieJones EddieJones is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Santa Cruz
Posts: 2,784
Default Re: Artist Mix + New MacPro - Failure To Communicate

Have you added EuControl to the Accessibilities security prefs? Have you tried turning off the firewall as a test?
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 09-04-2020, 08:54 AM
skylinepro skylinepro is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 1999
Location: South Orange, NJ
Posts: 10
Default Re: Artist Mix + New MacPro - Failure To Communicate

Thanks, Eddie. Yes to both - Accessibilities added and Firewall off. I also updated to OS X 10.15.6 and installed PT 2020.9. There is still no communication. I'm on the annual maintenance plan. Should I get an Avid tech expert to crawl around on my computer remotely at this point?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Eucon Artist Mix and ProTools 7 won't communicate markpart Artist Series 8 06-25-2014 06:09 PM
Artist Mix and MC Control failure Alvin Artist Series 2 11-07-2013 01:40 PM
Mbox 2 Mini and PT8.0.5 failure to communicate? eddievhfan1984 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 3 02-01-2013 06:24 PM
Digi 002 Failure to Communicate, but not power ha Loader 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 3 05-27-2006 10:48 PM
Digi 002 Rack Failure to Communicate! Help! PeteA 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 3 05-31-2005 09:13 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:39 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com