Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Mixing > Artist Series

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-12-2020, 06:28 PM
reflekshun reflekshun is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 36
Default Is this normal performance for Artist Mix?

I have made a video of the performance I'm getting using the Avid Mix.

I have just updated to the latest eucontrol and firmware.

As you can see in PT and LPX, moving a physical fader is VERY jittery (this translates to very jittery automation too when recorded). I have to use mouse to fix every single automation recording I do, which seems counter productive to the whole point of this thing.

As you can also see at the end - moving faders on PT and LPX will move faders on the hardware perfectly, very smooth and zero jitter.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=K5p5...ature=youtu.be

Is this normal?

If not any ideas on what might be the cause of this jitter?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-13-2020, 06:47 AM
EddieJones's Avatar
EddieJones EddieJones is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Santa Cruz
Posts: 2,788
Default Re: Is this normal performance for Artist Mix?

Obviously, this is not normal and usually caused by the network. How are you connecting the Mix to PT... direct cable or through a router or switch ?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-13-2020, 03:00 PM
corym corym is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: New York
Posts: 37
Default Re: Is this normal performance for Artist Mix?

Did you figure out the problem you were having?
__________________
-Cory
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-14-2020, 07:16 AM
EddieJones's Avatar
EddieJones EddieJones is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Santa Cruz
Posts: 2,788
Default Re: Is this normal performance for Artist Mix?

See this thread http://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t...2&goto=newpost
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-16-2020, 02:55 PM
reflekshun reflekshun is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 36
Default Re: Is this normal performance for Artist Mix?

Quote:
Originally Posted by EddieJones View Post
Obviously, this is not normal and usually caused by the network. How are you connecting the Mix to PT... direct cable or through a router or switch ?
Thanks for the reply! I am connecting with a direct cable from the avid mix to the cat5 network plug on the back of an iMac Pro.
I also tried swapping out the cable for another newer one today, but same performance issues remain there too.

Considering it's so direct I am a bit out of ideas on what could be causing connection issues, I'm not very well educated on the software side of networking either. Any ideas to try would be greatly appreciated.

I'll be checking this thread more often, sorry I took a while to get back on this one!

Last edited by reflekshun; 09-16-2020 at 03:17 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 09-16-2020, 03:18 PM
EddieJones's Avatar
EddieJones EddieJones is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Santa Cruz
Posts: 2,788
Default Re: Is this normal performance for Artist Mix?

Check this out and make sure the touch and faders are OK https://www.sweetwater.com/sweetcare...lt-there-test/
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 09-16-2020, 03:31 PM
reflekshun reflekshun is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 36
Default Re: Is this normal performance for Artist Mix?

Quote:
Originally Posted by EddieJones View Post
Check this out and make sure the touch and faders are OK https://www.sweetwater.com/sweetcare...lt-there-test/
Just went through all of those tests and they work 100%
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 09-16-2020, 03:34 PM
EddieJones's Avatar
EddieJones EddieJones is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Santa Cruz
Posts: 2,788
Default Re: Is this normal performance for Artist Mix?

and the CPU is not overloaded on the Mac? Sorry thinking of everything.....
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 09-16-2020, 03:44 PM
reflekshun reflekshun is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 36
Default Re: Is this normal performance for Artist Mix?

Quote:
Originally Posted by EddieJones View Post
and the CPU is not overloaded on the Mac? Sorry thinking of everything.....
No worries at all, appreciate the efforts - it's happening on a blank project with one empty audio track on an iMac Pro so the CPU is not struggling here.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 09-16-2020, 08:24 PM
EddieJones's Avatar
EddieJones EddieJones is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Santa Cruz
Posts: 2,788
Default Re: Is this normal performance for Artist Mix?

Do you have any other controller enabled in Logic ?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Can I change Eucon Layouts with an Artist Mix or Artist Transport? amathie Artist Series 10 09-21-2017 07:29 PM
Artist Chat window in Avid Artist Community taylor4814 Pro Tools 2018 0 01-25-2017 06:30 AM
2 avid artist mixes and one artist control V2 for sale Brandonx1 Buy & Sell 2 03-21-2016 09:55 PM
Touching Artist Transport Freezes Up Artist Control in Logic sonofmack Artist Series 1 03-13-2013 08:22 PM
>>poor MBox performance! is this normal? megahurt 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 7 12-17-2003 11:48 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:29 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com