Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools 2018

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #21  
Old 12-11-2018, 02:42 PM
ehaber ehaber is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: New York
Posts: 32
Default Re: Real time SR conversion via spdif - Avid HD IO

By the way, regarding the post that recommended the MTRX (which is a great unit), for sample rate conversion, the MTRX is similar to the HD I/O; that is the chassis digital I/O that come with the MTRX (16 channel of AES, coax MADI, Dante if you have a Dante card) do not have SRC; while if you separately purchase and install a slot digital I/O AES, MAdi, or (the new) Dante card, those slot I/O cards do sample rate convert.

Last edited by ehaber; 12-11-2018 at 04:20 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 12-11-2018, 09:37 PM
Eric Lambert's Avatar
Eric Lambert Eric Lambert is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 2,961
Default Re: Real time SR conversion via spdif - Avid HD IO

My HD IO does in fact have a digital card installed into one of the expansion slots. It looks like this:

https://www.google.com/url?sa=i&sour...44675690398949

Shouldn't I then be able to get realtime SRC with that card? I'd try it now, I'm just not currently equipped with the proper DB25 cable nor the spdif-to-AES adapter.
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 12-11-2018, 10:32 PM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 14,871
Default Re: Real time SR conversion via spdif - Avid HD IO

Yes. Edit: Ah but... the photo you link to is a 192 IO digital card, that won't work in a HD I/O. I hope you have the actual HD I/O version of a digital card.

So hoping you have the HD I/O digital card all you need is one of these...

https://www.bhphotovideo.com/c/produ...Data_Link.html I'd much rather do that than try to just use an analog cable with balun in it.

You should be able to wire up a XLR to a DB-25. Much cheaper then buying a cable if you just need one connection.

But here is the cable if you want to buy one... https://www.sweetwater.com/store/det...gisnake-4-foot

If you buy another brand DB-25 cable set make sure it's wired for the TASCAM/Avid standard.

https://www.sweetwater.com/sweetcare...-pinout-guide/

Last edited by Darryl Ramm; 12-11-2018 at 10:43 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 12-11-2018, 10:41 PM
Top Jimmy's Avatar
Top Jimmy Top Jimmy is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Spokane, WA
Posts: 5,428
Default Re: Real time SR conversion via spdif - Avid HD IO

Quote:
Originally Posted by Darryl Ramm View Post
If you buy another brand DB-25 cable set make sure it's wired for the Yamaha/Avid standard.

Doesn't Avid use the Tascam pinout?



Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
__________________
James Cadwallader

Hackintosh - Gigabyte Z77X-UP5TH, Intel Core i7-3770K, 32GB 1600Mhz DDR3, 2x SATA 6Gb/s 240GB SSD, 3x SATA 6Gb/s 1TB HDD, 1x Glyph 2TB USB3 HDD, Mojave 10.14.4.

Pro Tools Ultimate 2020.12, HD Native, Focusrite Red 8Pre (Mac)
Pro Tools 2020.12, Mbox3 (Win)

Presonus Faderport, Pro Tools | Control
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 12-11-2018, 10:43 PM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 14,871
Default Re: Real time SR conversion via spdif - Avid HD IO

Quote:
Originally Posted by Top Jimmy View Post
Doesn't Avid use the Tascam pinout?
Doh I transposed it in my head. Edited my post to fix.
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old 12-12-2018, 12:07 AM
Eric Lambert's Avatar
Eric Lambert Eric Lambert is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 2,961
Default Re: Real time SR conversion via spdif - Avid HD IO

Yes, I have the HD IO card.
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old 12-12-2018, 09:13 AM
Rich Breen Rich Breen is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Burbank, CA USA
Posts: 1,886
Default Re: Real time SR conversion via spdif - Avid HD IO

Quote:
Originally Posted by Eric Lambert View Post
So... anyone know of a small, external, high-quality sample rate convertor?

(but seriously, I do need one)

Hi Eric - not particularly small (1 rack unit), but I've got a Behringer SRC2496 box that's been gathering dust here for as long as I can recall - I bought it for some particular task years ago and haven't used it since - honestly, I'd give it to you free if you picked it up.


best,
rich
__________________
http://www.richbreen.com

----------------------------------------
MacPro 5,1 Dual Hex, OS 10.14, PT 2020 HDX, Avid HD I/Os and Metric Halo ULN8, Avid C24, 3xS1/Dock.
Reply With Quote
  #28  
Old 12-12-2018, 12:38 PM
Eric Lambert's Avatar
Eric Lambert Eric Lambert is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 2,961
Default Re: Real time SR conversion via spdif - Avid HD IO

Wow, Rich, that's quite generous! I'll email you. Thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #29  
Old 09-01-2020, 05:04 PM
dsumich dsumich is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: Huntington Beach
Posts: 4
Default Re: Real time SR conversion via spdif - Avid HD IO

Hey guys, found this old thread. I have the exact same issue. I have the Digital I/O card installed in my 96 HD I/O, but not sure how to utilize it. Would I just use a cable to run from the s/pdif output of the OX to the optical s/pdif input on the expansion card of the I/O? Something like this?

https://www.banggood.com/CE-LINK-5M-...r_warehouse=CN

If that happens to work, do you have to do anything to kick in the SRC, or does it happen automatically?
Reply With Quote
  #30  
Old 09-01-2020, 05:38 PM
dsumich dsumich is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: Huntington Beach
Posts: 4
Default Re: Real time SR conversion via spdif - Avid HD IO

Quote:
Originally Posted by dsumich View Post
Hey guys, found this old thread. I have the exact same issue. I have the Digital I/O card installed in my 96 HD I/O, but not sure how to utilize it. Would I just use a cable to run from the s/pdif output of the OX to the optical s/pdif input on the expansion card of the I/O? Something like this?

https://www.banggood.com/CE-LINK-5M-...r_warehouse=CN

If that happens to work, do you have to do anything to kick in the SRC, or does it happen automatically?
Never mind this question. I think I understand from Darryl's post above you need the converter from s/pdif to AES/EBU, and then run that into the DB25 digi snake cable that connects to your digital i/o card. I will get the two products linked to above (seems to be about $200 for both these days) and report back how it goes. I am guessing though you still need to turn on SRC in the Hardware Setup Dialog on the Digital tab for which ever channel pair you are i/o'ing on.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Spdif RCA to Spdif Optical conversion - degradation?? Hollow Body 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 0 02-17-2011 09:21 AM
Real-Time Bounce to Disk...REAL PAIN Brian in Charlotte 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 201 07-26-2010 09:12 AM
File Conversion-W/O real time play down STUDIO 44 Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 4 08-26-2005 02:54 PM
real time Sample Rate Conversion nukmusic 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 3 11-15-2004 07:46 PM
Capture range for real time SR conversion KK Proffitt Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 0 10-19-2004 02:44 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:30 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com