Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-05-2009, 08:03 AM
WildHoney WildHoney is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 979
Default Carbon Copy Cloner question

At the risk of embarrassment, sometimes I'm shocked by the basic computer stuff I DON'T understand, so I'm hoping somebody can enlighten me.
When using Carbon Copy Cloner, what's the advantages/disadvantages of having it back up my system drive as a "new disk image" as a opposed to the standard way CCC backs up (with the various files just duplicated to an external drive). Thanks for any help.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-05-2009, 08:41 AM
crizdee's Avatar
crizdee crizdee is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Brighton, UK
Posts: 10,655
Default Re: Carbon Copy Cloner question

Quote:
Originally Posted by WildHoney View Post
At the risk of embarrassment, sometimes I'm shocked by the basic computer stuff I DON'T understand, so I'm hoping somebody can enlighten me.
When using Carbon Copy Cloner, what's the advantages/disadvantages of having it back up my system drive as a "new disk image" as a opposed to the standard way CCC backs up (with the various files just duplicated to an external drive). Thanks for any help.
Hi,

A disk image can be store/moved/copied easily onto another disk or DVD etc! so you keep keep different disk images from different times and reference back to them etc, so you could keep 20 disk images all slightly different and re-install them if needed.

Chris
__________________
PT MAC Troubleshooting... http://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=54888

Producer, Engineer,
UKmastering Mixing & Mastering
Blinders_Columbia top 40 UK album charts
Slow Readers Club Joy Of The Return #9 UK album charts

www.ukmastering.com


PT10.3.10 Mountain Lion HD6 accel Magma PE6R4 D Command 32 MacPro 12 Core 3.46ghz UAD-2 Octo x2. Manley Vari-Mu, Manley Massive Passive, SSL VHD, ADL600, Grove Tubes ViPre, Tube-Tech CL-1B. Hafler TRM active monitoring.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-05-2009, 09:21 AM
WildHoney WildHoney is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 979
Default Re: Carbon Copy Cloner question

Quote:
Originally Posted by crizdee View Post
Hi,

A disk image can be store/moved/copied easily onto another disk or DVD etc! so you keep keep different disk images from different times and reference back to them etc, so you could keep 20 disk images all slightly different and re-install them if needed.

Chris
If you make a disk image, can you still dip into it for specific files/folders? e.g. in the past, I've been able to screw up a Waves update (for example) and then dip back into my CCC backup drive and just grab the Waves files/folders from my backup system, copy to my main system and be back up and running. Thanks for the help
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-05-2009, 09:49 AM
kptkarl kptkarl is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: LA, Karlofornia
Posts: 206
Default Re: Carbon Copy Cloner question

Yes you can mount the disk image by double clicking it.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Carbon Copy Cloner (or sim) copy Disk Authorisations? Jon_Atkinson Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 8 10-07-2009 09:11 PM
Question about Carbon Copy Cloner Shanegrla 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 13 08-27-2009 10:50 AM
Is Carbon Copy Cloner the answer? jlcnyc 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 5 12-15-2004 11:55 AM
New boot drive in OSX with Carbon Copy Cloner? Chris Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 3 11-15-2004 11:17 PM
Carbon Copy Cloner joepopp Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 17 12-08-2003 12:25 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:39 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com