Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 11

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-27-2016, 10:14 AM
Pjsmallwood Pjsmallwood is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: England, North West
Posts: 5
Default Pro Tools 11 HD - Midi Timecode - MTC Sync - SOLVED

Hi Everyone,

Does anyone know how to connect a midi timepiece accepting external timecode to PT 11HD on a Macbook Pro to achieve Midi time code (MTC) sync?

I've seen this done before with the old MOTU Timepiece II but cannot figure out how it was done!

I'd like to avoid using the HD hardware e.g. Sync HD, HD native if possible.

Any help and advice is much appreciated!

Thanks,

Phil

Last edited by Pjsmallwood; 01-28-2016 at 05:27 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-27-2016, 04:43 PM
JuanPC JuanPC is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Miami FL
Posts: 600
Default Re: Pro Tools 11 HD - Midi Timecode - MTC Sync

What devices you want to sync?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-28-2016, 05:26 AM
Pjsmallwood Pjsmallwood is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: England, North West
Posts: 5
Default Re: Pro Tools 11 HD - Midi Timecode - MTC Sync

Quote:
Originally Posted by JuanPC View Post
What devices you want to sync?
Hey JuanPC

Thanks for the reply!

Looking to just sync Pro-Tools to MTC.

LTC > Midi Time Pice > MTC into PRo-Tools. Looks like I've found the answer this morning.

Answer: Connect the midi time piece to your macbook via USB, create a IAC bus and manage the Midi device via Mac's midi device manager. Then in pro-tools under synconisation select the MTC reader to be the relevant midi port.

Cheers,
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
OT: Sync workaround if no timecode ? popcornmama Post - Surround - Video 3 05-10-2007 04:55 PM
ADC and timecode sync Tim R. Post - Surround - Video 1 04-11-2007 03:09 PM
SYNC i/o timecode Tomio Broman Pro Tools TDM Systems (Win) 4 06-27-2006 06:34 PM
Can Mbox sync to midi timecode or smpte sync? greeneye 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 05-05-2004 09:47 AM
Timecode-sync GS-DK 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 09-30-2002 05:04 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:42 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com