Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Post Production > Post - Surround - Video

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #21  
Old 10-07-2015, 09:46 AM
Rich Breen Rich Breen is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Burbank, CA USA
Posts: 1,659
Default Re: 12.2.1 Automation Improvements

Quote:
Originally Posted by Frank Kruse View Post
...

In my case I'd say I use that as a feature in 0.000000000001% of all clicks on the write to button.
For my workflow, it's exactly the opposite: Trim mode, find new balance, hit "write to all" on the control surface. If you guys are suggesting that write-to-all behavior require more clicks (selecting entire timeline), or be removed, I'd scream loudly against.

I realize that the "write to select" behavior needs work, and indeed it should be improved, but not at the expense of a more difficult write to all process.
__________________
http://www.richbreen.com

----------------------------------------
MacPro 5,1 Dual Hex, OS 10.12.6, PT 2018 HDX, Avid HD I/Os and Metric Halo ULN8, Avid C24.
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 10-07-2015, 12:13 PM
made made is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Berlin
Posts: 229
Default Re: 12.2.1 Automation Improvements

Frank:
Quote:
I think the way they made it (can't check. Don't have 12) is that you only get warned when you made a selection while playing and then hitting write to selection while still playing. They did this to keep the write to all feature when no selection is made in stop.
That's what I tried to check. Here on 12.2.1 there is no difference to previous versions...
__________________
i7 3,39GHz, 32GB, PTHD2018.12, OS 10.12.6, S3, Transport, (EuCon 19.5.1.44)
LIO
AJA XT-Express
Reaper 5.97, Fireface UCX
MacbookPro i7 PTHD2018.12 10.12.6
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 10-09-2015, 01:27 AM
Danny Caccavo Danny Caccavo is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 1998
Location: San Francisco
Posts: 1,279
Default Re: 12.2.1 Automation Improvements

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rich Breen View Post
For my workflow, it's exactly the opposite: Trim mode, find new balance, hit "write to all" on the control surface. If you guys are suggesting that write-to-all behavior require more clicks (selecting entire timeline), or be removed, I'd scream loudly against.

I realize that the "write to select" behavior needs work, and indeed it should be improved, but not at the expense of a more difficult write to all process.
That's exactly why it was written that way.

When Pro Tools is running and you make a selection, it is only an Edit selection, not a Timeline selection. Automation works on Timeline Selections only.

So the "gotcha" this was fixing was only when you had "Suppress 'Write To' Warnings" checked, if you made a selection while the transport was running, and hit "write to all/selection," expecting it to write only to the selection.

There are a lot of people who don't want to be warned every time they do an intentional "write to all" (with no selection).

Actually pressing the "Write To All" button accidentally if there's no selection of any kind? That is not what this feature was designed to do. If you're afraid of that happening, you should not be checking "Suppress Automation 'Write To" warnings at all.
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 10-09-2015, 01:32 AM
Frank Kruse Frank Kruse is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: old europe
Posts: 5,443
Default Re: 12.2.1 Automation Improvements

Quote:
Originally Posted by Danny Caccavo View Post

Actually pressing the "Write To All" button accidentally if there's no selection of any kind? That is not what this feature was designed to do. If you're afraid of that happening, you should not be checking "Suppress Automation 'Write To" warnings at all.
Thing is: They call that button "write to selection" not "write to all" (see screen shot above).
__________________
PTHDn 2019.10 (OSX10.14.6), 8x8x8, MacPro 5,1 3.33Ghz 12-Core, BM DeckLink SDI, SYNC HD, all genlocked via AJA GEN10, 48GB RAM
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 10-09-2015, 01:41 AM
MIKEROPHONICS's Avatar
MIKEROPHONICS MIKEROPHONICS is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: TWICKENHAM (South West London) UK
Posts: 2,081
Default Re: 12.2.1 Automation Improvements

I am totally with Frank. It is clumsy implementation. Oh you don't want that? Have a nag screen. .....er no thanks. This is lethal in post. Make it an optionr or a pref or two buttons. It's like the N key, does two things that I can't separate The argument that many people want different things is just lame as it ultimately shows Avid find it easier to sit in committees and shrug at its users variance. Get Agile Avid and do something useful. It's just programming, not wheel re-invention!,
__________________
cheers

Mike Aiton BSc (hons)
Dubbing Mixer/Sound Designer

BAFTA member
IPS member

former Post Production Expert at www.pro-tools-expert.com
-------------------------------------------------------------------
www.mikerophonics.com
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old 10-09-2015, 02:29 AM
made made is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Berlin
Posts: 229
Default Re: 12.2.1 Automation Improvements

... so anyone using 12.2.1?
anyone experiencing new behaviour in terms of "Write to Selection" (or "write to all" as some call it)

I'm just wondering if there is something wrong with my system or Avid forgot to add "coming soon..."

thanks!
__________________
i7 3,39GHz, 32GB, PTHD2018.12, OS 10.12.6, S3, Transport, (EuCon 19.5.1.44)
LIO
AJA XT-Express
Reaper 5.97, Fireface UCX
MacbookPro i7 PTHD2018.12 10.12.6
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old 10-09-2015, 04:19 AM
MIKEROPHONICS's Avatar
MIKEROPHONICS MIKEROPHONICS is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: TWICKENHAM (South West London) UK
Posts: 2,081
Default Re: 12.2.1 Automation Improvements

I have shot a quick video demo - how do I host it?

it works as advertised - which is far from ideal. A small improvement...but not good enough, more homework required Avid
__________________
cheers

Mike Aiton BSc (hons)
Dubbing Mixer/Sound Designer

BAFTA member
IPS member

former Post Production Expert at www.pro-tools-expert.com
-------------------------------------------------------------------
www.mikerophonics.com
Reply With Quote
  #28  
Old 10-09-2015, 05:54 AM
made made is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Berlin
Posts: 229
Default Re: 12.2.1 Automation Improvements

so there should be a message or something that should tell you "hey, you've just messed up your session!"

I guess I have to delete my preferences etc...


thanks for checking!
__________________
i7 3,39GHz, 32GB, PTHD2018.12, OS 10.12.6, S3, Transport, (EuCon 19.5.1.44)
LIO
AJA XT-Express
Reaper 5.97, Fireface UCX
MacbookPro i7 PTHD2018.12 10.12.6
Reply With Quote
  #29  
Old 10-09-2015, 07:54 AM
MIKEROPHONICS's Avatar
MIKEROPHONICS MIKEROPHONICS is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: TWICKENHAM (South West London) UK
Posts: 2,081
Default Re: 12.2.1 Automation Improvements

here's the video - sorry about the resolution - was in a hurry
PT 12.2.1 HDX

Automation warnings in PT 12_2_1 by mike.aiton, on Flickr
__________________
cheers

Mike Aiton BSc (hons)
Dubbing Mixer/Sound Designer

BAFTA member
IPS member

former Post Production Expert at www.pro-tools-expert.com
-------------------------------------------------------------------
www.mikerophonics.com
Reply With Quote
  #30  
Old 10-09-2015, 07:57 AM
Postman Postman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: Metropolis
Posts: 2,370
Default Re: 12.2.1 Automation Improvements

Quote:
Originally Posted by Danny Caccavo View Post
When Pro Tools is running and you make a selection, it is only an Edit selection, not a Timeline selection. Automation works on Timeline Selections only.
I don't understand Avid's logic here. Automation commands including Write To Current and Write To All Enabled work "on the fly" with Edit selections, whether during playback or otherwise. That fact that they do is one of my favorite features. Why are some restricted and others not?

You've labeled the command in question as "Write Automation to Selection" in Pro Tools and S6 shortcut key is labeled "Write to All Sel". Insisting that NO selection is the same as ALL selected is contrary to the naming, contrary to the automation behaviors elsewhere in PT, and counter intuitive. If you want to put in a preference that allows different users such as Rich and Frank to make their personal choice, that would help a lot. Otherwise, please CHANGE the current behavior to make it less dangerous to hours/days/weeks of work.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Improvements fsb1 Artist Series 0 09-25-2010 09:15 AM
Rtas improvements in PT 8? grandcoolee 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 3 11-17-2008 11:15 AM
Pro tools needs some Improvements Xbuk 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 11 03-19-2005 05:52 PM
Possible improvements to the DUC? AVGuru1 General Discussion 0 01-21-2005 01:20 PM
Digi001 NEEDS IMPROVEMENTS! mixermon 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 42 10-25-2001 01:51 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:40 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com