Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 11

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-25-2015, 05:12 PM
JesseF JesseF is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Queens
Posts: 168
Default Can't use any standard Windows shortcuts, like Alt + Tab

Hi all,

I've searched high and low and can't find anyone questioning this exact scenario, though I'm sure someone has.

It seems like when I am in Pro Tools, PT takes complete control of my computer keyboard and does not let me do things like press the Windows key to bring up my Start menu, or more significantly, press Alt + Tab to jump to a different window.

Is there anyway around this?

I am running Windows 8.1 and PT 11.3.0

Thanks

Jesse
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-25-2015, 06:09 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: nashville
Posts: 35,023
Default Re: Can't use any standard Windows shortcuts, like Alt + Tab

Minimize Pro Tools
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, DIGI003 Rack
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-25-2015, 06:31 PM
JesseF JesseF is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Queens
Posts: 168
Default Re: Can't use any standard Windows shortcuts, like Alt + Tab

Quote:
Originally Posted by albee1952 View Post
Minimize Pro Tools
Clearly that would work but that's now what I am asking. What I'm asking is if there is anyway to allow me to use Windows shortcuts while Pro Tools is the current window. For example, Windows + D is a key combination I use all the time to bring me to my desktop. Press that while PT has focus and it does nothing.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-25-2015, 09:34 PM
BillytheB BillytheB is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Pasadena, CA, USA
Posts: 68
Default Re: Can't use any standard Windows shortcuts, like Alt + Tab

Quote:
Originally Posted by JesseF View Post
Clearly that would work but that's now what I am asking. What I'm asking is if there is anyway to allow me to use Windows shortcuts while Pro Tools is the current window. For example, Windows + D is a key combination I use all the time to bring me to my desktop. Press that while PT has focus and it does nothing.
PT takes over all keys from the OS when it's in the foreground. All the modifier keys on the keyboard are used for various key combinations and PT holds onto all of them even if there's not an associated function.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-25-2015, 10:08 PM
guitardom guitardom is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: New Mexico
Posts: 6,784
Default Re: Can't use any standard Windows shortcuts, like Alt + Tab

Alt+tab not working is a bug. I have done my best to report it. It was working previously and was recently broken.
__________________

pro-tools-pc.com


TRASHER Pro Tools Utility(updated 3-6-18)

HD Native, Avid 16x16, Eleven Rack, Focusrite Clarett 8preX, UA Quad Apollo TB.

Intel I7 6800k
Win 10
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-27-2015, 08:51 PM
JesseF JesseF is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Queens
Posts: 168
Default Re: Can't use any standard Windows shortcuts, like Alt + Tab

Quote:
Originally Posted by guitardom View Post
Alt+tab not working is a bug. I have done my best to report it. It was working previously and was recently broken.
Thanks. It drives me nuts and hurts efficiency. I will report this thru the proper channels.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 03-09-2015, 10:56 AM
atwhite atwhite is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Minneapolis
Posts: 1
Default Re: Can't use any standard Windows shortcuts, like Alt + Tab

Sorry if this has already been answered elsewhere, but I am having this same issue and can't find a fix.

Just upgraded my computer--new machine, now running Windows 8.1 and Pro Tool 11.3.1. I can't use any of my standard Windows shortcuts when PT is in focus (Alt+tab, or other keys to minimize, etc.). This was not a problem running 11.3.1 in Windows 7.

Definitely hurting efficiency. Anyone have ideas? Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 01-30-2016, 05:51 PM
onotate onotate is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: DE
Posts: 5
Default Re: Can't use any standard Windows shortcuts, like Alt + Tab

Quote:
Originally Posted by atwhite View Post
Sorry if this has already been answered elsewhere, but I am having this same issue and can't find a fix.

Anyone have ideas? Thanks.
Did you downgrade to Windows 7?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Switching windows using shortcuts Giannis Pro Tools 11 4 01-02-2015 08:49 AM
To Rail, or whoever knows. Windows XP Shortcuts. froyo Pro Tools TDM Systems (Win) 4 06-07-2005 01:06 PM
standard apple keyboard shortcuts labels? ewoklake 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 08-09-2003 11:34 AM
Keyboard Shortcuts for 5.3 Windows Carl Fuehrer 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 04-27-2003 03:53 PM
wave out's api windows standard francisco 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 06-14-2000 03:41 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:54 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com