Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 9

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-25-2011, 07:02 PM
omtim11 omtim11 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Hyperspace
Posts: 9
Default Compatibility Question

Hi,

I have an intel i7 cpu with win 7 ultimate 64bt sp1 and Fast Track Pro.

I am trying to figure out which version of pro tools I should be using.

Will pro tools 9 work good on this computer? Thank you
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-25-2011, 08:33 PM
zedhed's Avatar
zedhed zedhed is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Posts: 3,906
Default Re: Compatibility Question

The processor is only part of the equation, albeit an important part. Hard Drives, Ram, Motherboard Chipset, Video Card, etc are peripherals that all play a part in the overall performance of any Pro Tools system.

If you want a comprehensive therefore more accurate answer you'll need to provide more information on your whole computer system. To do that, post a Sandra Report;

- Please - Use SiSoftware's Sandra Lite application to generate a full system profile:

www.sisoftware.co.uk

Under SiSoftware Sandra, click on "Download & Buy" to download the free Sandra Lite version or purchase other versions. After installing Sandra, click on the 'Hardware' tab and run the 'Computer Overview', then copy and paste into your post here on the DUC.

Here is a good link that highlights i7 builds predominantly for Win7 PT9;
http://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=238426

All versions earlier than PT9 must have an Avid/Digidesign Interface for it to run. PT9 is the first version that doesn't need proprietary hardware, rather authorization on an USB iLok. I'm not sure if the FTP is an accepted interface to run earlier versions. If you don't know already I'm sure someone will clear that up for you.
__________________
Too much blood in my drugstream

Gigabyte X99 SOC Force Mobo Bios vF6d
Intel Core i7 5930k socket 2011 v3 @ 3.50GHz
32GB DDR4 Crucial RAM
System: Samsung M.2NVME SSD 960 Evo
Record: Samsung M.2NVME SSD 960 Evo
Samples: Samsung SATAlll SSD 840 Pro
Storage: 2x Samsung SATAlll SSD 840 Pro
EVGA GeForce GTX 750 Graphics
PT 11HD (v11.2.1) Omni s/pdif w Eleven Rack
HD 96I/O
Win 8.1 Pro
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-26-2011, 10:12 AM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: nashville
Posts: 35,006
Default Re: Compatibility Question

What he said^^^^^^^
In any case, if(big IF) the i7 is a socket 1366(920, 930, etc), then the odds are almost 100% good as those are almost all X58 chipsets(which are compatible). As for what version, you need at least 8.0.4(which has some issues, 8.0.5 or 9. I would definitely opt for 9 as it gives you plugin latency compensation(but avoid the 9.0.5 update for now). In any case, you NEED a separate hard drive to record to(WD Caviar Black are an excellent choice). Many of us run 3(or more drives so sample libraries can be on a separate drive as well). Don't neglect backups!!! Acronis True Image and spare external drives can save your ***** and your sanity
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, DIGI003 Rack
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-26-2011, 10:50 AM
omtim11 omtim11 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Hyperspace
Posts: 9
Smile Re: Compatibility Question

First off, Thank you both for the replies. Getting my system set up and working means a lot to me, I've been out of the loop for the past couple of years and really need to get back into this.

I will acquire a couple WD Caviar Black HD's in the near future, as well as Pro Tools 9 if everything checks out...

With that said, here is the report:









SiSoftware Sandra

Computer
Model : OEM System Product Name
Workgroup : WORKGROUP
Host Name : USER19-PC
User : USER19

Processor
Model : Intel(R) Core(TM) i7 CPU 920 @ 2.67GHz
Speed : 2.81GHz
Cores per Processor : 4 Unit(s)
Threads per Core : 2 Unit(s)
Type : Quad-Core
Integrated Data Cache : 4x 32kB, Synchronous, Write-Thru, 8-way, 64 byte line size, 2 threads sharing
L2 Cache : 4x 256kB, ECC, Synchronous, ATC, 8-way, 64 byte line size, 2 threads sharing
L3 Cache : 8MB, ECC, Synchronous, ATC, 16-way, Exclusive, 64 byte line size, 16 threads sharing

Computer
Mainboard : ASUS P6X58D-E
BIOS : AMI (OEM) 0405 10/04/2010
Bus(es) : ISA X-Bus PCI PCIe IMB USB FireWire/1394 i2c/SMBus
Multi-Processor (MP) Support : No
Multi-Processor Advanced PIC (APIC) : Yes
Total Memory : 4GB DIMM DDR3

Chipset
Model : ASUS X58 I/O Hub
Front Side Bus Speed : 2x 2.41GHz (4.82GHz)

Chipset
Model : Intel Core Desktop (Bloomfield) UnCore
Front Side Bus Speed : 2x 2.41GHz (4.82GHz)
Total Memory : 4GB DIMM DDR3
Channels : 3
Memory Bus Speed : 2x 536MHz (1.07GHz)

Memory Module(s)
Memory Module : SanMax ModulePartNumber02 2GB DIMM PC17100U
Memory Module : SanMax ModulePartNumber04 2GB DIMM PC17100U

Video System
Video Adapter : NVIDIA GeForce 9600 GSO 512 (Microsoft Corporation - WDDM v1.1) (48 SM4.0 1.5GHz, 1GB DDR2 800MHz 256-bit, PCIe 2.00 x16)

Graphics Processor

Storage Devices
WDC WD6400AAKS-00A7B2 (640.1GB, SATA300, 3.5", 7200rpm, 16MB Cache) : 596GB (C:)
Optiarc DVD RW AD-7240S (SATA150, DVD+-RW, CD-RW, 2MB Cache) : N/A (D:)

Logical Storage Devices
Hard Disk (C:) : 596GB (NTFS) @ WDC WD6400AAKS-00A7B2 (640.1GB, SATA300, 3.5", 7200rpm, 16MB Cache)
Optical Drive (D:) : N/A @ Optiarc DVD RW AD-7240S (SATA150, DVD+-RW, CD-RW, 2MB Cache)

Peripherals
LPC Hub Controller 1 : ASUS LPC Interface Controller
LPC Legacy Controller 1 : T0 A5-13
Audio Device : ASUS HD Audio Controller
Audio Codec : Realtek Semi High Definition Audio
Disk Controller : ASUS 4 port SATA IDE Controller
Disk Controller : ASUS 2 port SATA IDE Controller
Disk Controller : ASUS 88SE91A3 SATA-600 Controller
USB Controller 1 : ASUS USB UHCI Controller #4
USB Controller 2 : ASUS USB UHCI Controller #5
USB Controller 3 : ASUS USB UHCI Controller #6
USB Controller 4 : ASUS USB EHCI Controller #2
USB Controller 5 : ASUS USB UHCI Controller #1
USB Controller 6 : ASUS USB UHCI Controller #2
USB Controller 7 : ASUS USB UHCI Controller #3
USB Controller 8 : ASUS USB EHCI Controller #1
FireWire/1394 Controller 1 : ASUS VIA VT6308 1394 OHCI Controller
SMBus/i2c Controller 1 : Intel ICH SMBus

Printers and Faxes
Printer : Microsoft XPS Document Writer (600x600, Colour)
Fax : Microsoft Shared Fax Driver (200x200)

Network Services
Network Adapter : Marvell Yukon 88E8056 PCI-E Gigabit Ethernet Controller (Ethernet, 100Mbps)

Operating System
Windows System : Microsoft Windows 7 Ultimate 6.01.7601 (Service Pack 1)
Platform Compliance : x64

Windows Experience Index
Current System : 5.9
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-26-2011, 03:03 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: nashville
Posts: 35,006
Default Re: Compatibility Question

Looking over the Sandra, I would say add a second drive for recording and let 'er rip! Should be fine. Don't forget the system tweaks When funds permit, I would get a triple channel RAM kit(3 matching sticks) as this mobo is designed for triple channel, or add 1 stick if you can buy the exact same RAM you have now(all sticks need to match for proper triple-channel operation).
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, DIGI003 Rack
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 09-26-2011, 03:22 PM
omtim11 omtim11 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Hyperspace
Posts: 9
Thumbs up Re: Compatibility Question

Excellent. Thank you for your expertise.

By system tweaks, you are referring to this link correct?
http://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=238426

I will do my best. And if I fail, you may be seeing me again in the near future. <3
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 09-26-2011, 05:24 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: nashville
Posts: 35,006
Default Re: Compatibility Question

Quote:
Originally Posted by omtim11 View Post
Excellent. Thank you for your expertise.

By system tweaks, you are referring to this link correct?
http://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=238426

I will do my best. And if I fail, you may be seeing me again in the near future. <3
that's my "bible"
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, DIGI003 Rack
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 09-26-2011, 08:11 PM
zedhed's Avatar
zedhed zedhed is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Posts: 3,906
Default Re: Compatibility Question

I agree with Albee about the added RAM stick. Once you've got that and another HDD looks like you're going to be good to go.

IMHO definitely go with PT9 with that computer.
__________________
Too much blood in my drugstream

Gigabyte X99 SOC Force Mobo Bios vF6d
Intel Core i7 5930k socket 2011 v3 @ 3.50GHz
32GB DDR4 Crucial RAM
System: Samsung M.2NVME SSD 960 Evo
Record: Samsung M.2NVME SSD 960 Evo
Samples: Samsung SATAlll SSD 840 Pro
Storage: 2x Samsung SATAlll SSD 840 Pro
EVGA GeForce GTX 750 Graphics
PT 11HD (v11.2.1) Omni s/pdif w Eleven Rack
HD 96I/O
Win 8.1 Pro
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Compatibility Question me beginner 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 07-01-2010 12:08 PM
Compatibility question for 001 asch 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 15 11-24-2006 01:03 AM
PT 6.9 & OSX 10.3.9 Compatibility question mortalengines 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 09-10-2005 05:15 PM
002 compatibility question Steve Royea 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 11-08-2002 12:01 AM
a question about compatibility... justin borek 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 4 02-21-2002 08:14 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:43 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com