Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 12

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-28-2019, 10:40 AM
Steve@ZooWest Steve@ZooWest is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: North Indianapolis
Posts: 384
Default Remove Overlaps Not Working?

Windows 10 Pro/PT 12.4


After selecting a MIDI region where there are overlapping notes (Trilian bass in this case), I go to:

Event Operations
Duration
Select "Remove Overlaps and Leave Gap"
I input a small gap size: .010
No other boxes are checked.

I expect the overlapping midi notes to shorten appropriately so there are no overlaps, but there is no change to the midi notes in question. Am I missing something?
__________________
"Modern manufactured music is like art they sell at a furniture store."

http://www.weddingmusicproject.com/
http://www.weddingmusicproject.com/w...music-samples/
http://stevemillikan.com/

Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-01-2019, 11:44 AM
Tweakhead Tweakhead is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 1,549
Default Re: Remove Overlaps Not Working?

Are you fully paid up on your MIDI Overlap™ Subscription ?

... but seriously . . .

What about if you double-click on the region and enter the MIDI Edit Window, and select all the actual notes there. Does it behave the same ?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-01-2019, 01:22 PM
Steve@ZooWest Steve@ZooWest is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: North Indianapolis
Posts: 384
Default Re: Remove Overlaps Not Working?

That doesn't work either. I can, however, select Legato/Gap, and accomplish the same thing, which leads to the obvious question, why do both "Legato" and "Remove Overlaps and Leave Gap" have what appears to be the exact same function regarding midi notes? (Legato has an additional add overlap function that is not redundant). Not curious enough to look it up in the manual, since there is a way to do what I need to do.
__________________
"Modern manufactured music is like art they sell at a furniture store."

http://www.weddingmusicproject.com/
http://www.weddingmusicproject.com/w...music-samples/
http://stevemillikan.com/

Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Remove overlaps and leave gap... Stig Eliassen Pro Tools 10 18 08-30-2016 03:33 AM
midi event operations 'remove overlaps' doesn't work Dan Gralick Pro Tools 9 1 11-01-2011 06:36 PM
Midi export creating note overlaps + gaps tombliss 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 9 12-18-2010 11:13 AM
Bouncing Quicktime video - intro plays slow, overlaps middle vision, then no credits. accession 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 09-19-2009 07:06 AM
Add/ Remove Programs will not Remove Pro Tools powerjoe 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 3 09-07-2005 03:48 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:53 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com